Skip to content

The Garden in May

May 31, 2023

May is a month of dramatic transitions in my Maine garden. As the month began, the garden was in its early spring phase. The primary display was provided by daffodils on the front slope, with backup from some hyacinths in the blue and yellow border and Forsythia shrubs outside my study window. The first of the spring wildflowers to bloom in my garden, bluets (Houstonia caerulea), were just beginning to open their flowers.

bluets carpet 2023

By the middle of May, native spring wildflowers were stealing the show both in and out of the garden. The ground was now covered with carpets of bluets, and moss phlox (Phlox subulata) was providing colorful carpets of bloom on the front slope.

moss phlox1 2023 moss phlox2 2023

wild strawberries 2023In most of my flower beds, flowers of wild strawberry (Fragaria virginiana) were also carpeting the ground. I have deliberately transplanted these local natives as groundcover in some flower beds and they have shown up as volunteers in others, but they are always welcome. In the woodland border, now in its second year, I was thrilled to see flowers blooming on wild geranium (Geranium maculatum), golden alexanders (Zizia aurea), and our native columbine (Aquilegia canadensis).

Geranium maculatum 2023 golden alexanders
The beach plums (Prunus maritima) that I have added to the garden in recent years were also in bloom. beach plum flowers 2023

beach plum dropping petalsOn the third weekend in May, I went away for a few days. While I was gone, some much-needed rain fell, and plants responded with a surge of growth. The beach plum at the turn into the driveway, which was just beginning to bloom a week earlier, was now dropping petals like snow on the ground below. The first flowers of spiderwort (Tradescantia virginiana) had opened, and the big rhododendron on my back slope had begun to bloom.

late spring rhododendron

By the holiday weekend at the end of May, that rhododendron, which is the hallmark of late spring in my garden, was in its full glory.  Other signs of late spring were the abundant flowers of Aquilegia canadensis and Geranium maculatum and flowers on lilacs (Syringa vulgaris).

Columbines and golden alexanders columbines and white geranium maculatum

As May ends, my garden is experiencing yet another transition – from late spring to early summer. The first flowers of Siberian iris have opened, as have the first spikes of Heuchera x ‘Raspberry Regal.’

1st siberian iris 2023 1st raspberry regal 2023

Blue star flower (Amsonia tabernaemontana) has also begun to bloom, and the flowers of Dianthus ‘Firewitch’ have popped open all at once in unseasonably warm temperatures.

1st amsonia 2023 firewitch 2023

Several summer-blooming varieties of hardy geranium are beginning to bloom, and the Allium x ‘Globemaster’ buds have begun to open. Many other flowers that are part of the early summer display are sporting fat buds. These include goatsbeard (Aruncus dioicus), peonies, roses, and Baptisia australis. There is so much to look forward to in the weeks to come.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen Bear permalink
    June 1, 2023 5:57 am

    Each day brings a new surprise in Maine gardens❤️

  2. June 1, 2023 1:22 pm

    Spring arrives a lot earlier in coastal Southern California but I can appreciate how it feels to walk outside and find something else in bloom more days than not. Enjoy it! I admire Rhododendrons but, other than some Azaleas, that’s another genus that doesn’t like my climate (and even Azaleas are now off my list due to their water requirements).

    • June 6, 2023 11:21 am

      Kris, The genus Rhododendron loves our acidic soils, but, like you, I often cannot meet their moisture needs. On the other hand, plants sometimes surprise us. I doubt I would have planted a rhododendron on that partly sunny, sandy slope if I’d known what I was doing when my mother gave me the seedling more than 30 years ago — but the plant has clearly thrived!

  3. Donna Donabella permalink
    June 5, 2023 6:23 pm

    Oh I love the flowers that are blooming in your garden. Your garden is ahead of mine. We are very dry here.

    • June 6, 2023 11:25 am

      Donna, Our weather has been a roller coaster this spring, with unseasonably hot weather alternating with unseasonable cold and wet. We had enough rain to cause some flooding at the beginning of May, followed by three weeks of dry heat. Now we are under the influence of a upper-level low, sitting over the Gulf of Maine, spinning around and around and bringing us rain and temperatures 10-20 degrees below normal. (But I refuse to turn heat back on in June!).

      • Donna Donabella permalink
        June 6, 2023 12:57 pm

        Similar to ours but we have been in heat and drought of late. Now covered in smoke and ash from the Quebec fires. I would like to get back to warm 70s.

        • June 30, 2023 7:06 pm

          I have been reading about the smoke from the Canadian fires – sorry you are ‘just there’

        • Donna Donabella permalink
          June 30, 2023 7:58 pm

          It is hard I think because I can’t breathe fresh air.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.