Skip to content

Evanescence

August 3, 2023

front slope2 8-1-20The dictionary defines evanescence as “the quality of being fleeting; impermanence,” but I especially associate the word with a  fleeting beauty. It seems to me that much of the beauty of a garden comes from its evanescent, ever-changing quality. When I told a visiting friend last year that the garden is never the same twice, he said “Well, not two days this year, but it will be like this again at the same time next year.” “No,” I said, “next year will be different. The weather won’t be the same; trees will have grown taller and changed the patterns of sun and shade.” One year, two plants create a luscious color combination when they bloom together; but the following year, their bloom times slightly diverge, or one is now overshadowed by a taller plant and barely blooms at all. A plant that struggled in last year’s drought conditions explodes into lush, exuberant blooms in this year’s rain.

Outrageous RamonaNothing makes me more aware of the evanescent quality of my garden’s beauty than the daylily season. Plants in the genus Hemerocallis (from Greek, meaning “beauty for a day”) exemplify the quality of evanescence; each big, gorgeous flower blooms for only one day. The quality of evanescence seems to dial up the intensity of an experience, and that is true in my experience of the daylily season. It begins with weeks of anticipation as I peer into daylily foliage hunting for flower buds on my morning walks through the garden and obsessively count flower scapes as they appear. I feel intense joy at seeing the first flower open in late June and intense excitement as more and more daylily flowers open each day until their bloom reaches a crescendo in mid-late July.

peak daylilies

But evanescence is also a bittersweet quality; even as I welcome each new bloom, I’m aware that it will be gone tomorrow. As the acceleration of daylily blooms peaked in mid-July, with a half-dozen or more varieties beginning to bloom each day, the early varieties were opening their last flowers. Now, in early August, there are only two (very late) varieties that have not yet begun to bloom and many that have finished flowering for this year. Where a month ago, I was counting the varieties opening their first flowers each day, I am now counting those finishing their bloom. My joy in the beauty of those daylily flowers is entwined with the melancholy of saying goodbye to them until next year.

Beau Chapeau 2023Sometimes I can get so wrapped up in the melancholy of saying goodbye to these favorite flowers that I forget to embrace the joy of the moment. So, this morning, I walked through the garden counting how many daylily varieties still had buds left to open – more than fifty, which is more than half of those I grow. It’s time to focus on the joy of those evanescent blooms.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2023 4:57 pm

    A lovely post, Jean. Enough to convince me to plant more daylilies.

    • August 8, 2023 4:05 pm

      Pat, They are a source of joy for me in summer.

  2. Janet Powers permalink
    August 3, 2023 10:51 pm

    Your daylilies are lovely, and I enjoyed your thoughts on evanescence. There is an incredible daylily farm here on Sachs Road which is open to the public for viewling. So many unusual varieties blooming when I went there in early July. I took several hundred photos! Haven’t decided what to do with them. Thought of putting together a PowerPoint with music, and may do that yet, but I will need to deal with my photos from France first. There are more than several hundred of those after two weeks in a French village and forays to historical points in the vicinity. My spirit is totally renewed after a devastating series of losses. I’ve no idea where my French vocabulary came from after all these years, but it was there just waiting to be used. not so hot with the verb tenses, however. 🙂

    • August 8, 2023 4:07 pm

      Jan, I, too, find daylilies very photogenic and can’t resist photographing them over and over again. I’m glad that you are feeling renewed after your sojourn in France.

  3. Jane Chouinard permalink
    August 4, 2023 7:05 am

    Lovely! Learned a new meaning to evanescence in the garden!

  4. jeanettemadden permalink
    August 4, 2023 7:13 am

    You have a beautiful collection of daylilies.

  5. August 4, 2023 2:51 pm

    So true, Jean! (And thank you for contributing another word to my vocabulary.) Your daylily collection is wonderful and, even though it’ll be different in future months and years, I’m sure you’ll always enjoy it. My own (much less exuberant) daylily season is over for all practical purposes (although ‘Spanish Harlem’ often pays a return visit in the fall). Unfortunately, my dahlia season is very late this year, which is currently frustrating me to no end even as I remind myself to be patient 😉

    • August 8, 2023 4:09 pm

      Kris, We are experiencing similar frustrations here waiting for unusually late harvests of sweet corn and tomatoes. At least, once the dahlias start to bloom, they stick around for a while.

  6. August 8, 2023 6:38 am

    Northern temperate gardens seem to go through the widest of annual swings. Almost completely “dead”, down to the ground or under snow in winter, then just a few months later, they’re a riot of flower, scent, leaf and colour. Our evanescent plant is the Queen of Night (Oxypetalum), which gives Daylilies a run for their money when it comes to short-lived flowers. They open on the evening and are wilted by morning. It’s such a huge effort for a plant – the flowers are very large, scented and with exquisite intricate detail – and it’s only for a few hours, a year!

    • August 8, 2023 4:11 pm

      Sunil, I guess those who grow Queen of Night have to plan their schedules around its bloom; you wouldn’t want to miss it!

  7. August 9, 2023 10:11 am

    A wonderful post to read and lovely photos!

  8. lilith permalink
    August 17, 2023 11:02 am

    thankyou Jean, for another lovely, thought provoking, post

  9. Donna Donabella permalink
    September 14, 2023 5:30 pm

    Oh Jean your daylilies are such a welcome sight as I have none here now. And I agree….each day is different every year in the garden but I love it that way.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.