Skip to content

Just Because It’s June, June, June!!! GBBD, June 2015

June 16, 2015

In the coastal Maine town where the musical Carousel is set, the long winter drags on well into April, and by May people are beginning to doubt that summer will ever come. Then, all of a sudden, everything happens at once – a lush display of life, beauty and love that the song tells us happens “just because it’s June, June, June!”blue & yellow June 2015

Just as the song predicts, “June is bustin’ out all over” in my Maine garden, with new plants bursting into bloom every day.

amsonia fading bloomsThe blue and yellow border (above) has the greatest variety of blooms, with Tradescantia ‘Zwannenburg Blue’, Lady’s mantle (Alchemilla mollis), Linum perenne (flax), five different varieties of Siberian iris, Amsonia, two varieties of Baptisia, and two cultivars of hardy geranium. The Amsonia in this flower bed is a large, well-established plant that provides a major presence in the garden, even after its flowers fade. white swirl with baptisia

Siberian irises have been blooming especially well this year. I think the unusually hot days we experienced in May reduced damage from iris budfly by causing the flies to hatch out and lay their eggs before the iris buds were formed. I have been enjoying this profusion of I. sibirica ‘White Swirl’ blooms with the blue flowers of Baptisia australis and the yellow flowers of Baptisia x ‘Carolina Moonlight.’

Other irises that are providing a beautiful display right now include the self-sown plants that are probably the species, I. sibirica ‘Tiffany Lass,’ which has bloomed all at once, and the delicately colored flowers of I. sibirica ‘Lavender Bounty.’

Irises 2015

The self-sown species irises are looking especially lovely right now on the back slope. back slope irises 2015
circular bed2 june 2015 In the circular bed, an unidentified violet-colored pass-along iris is blooming with Lady’s mantle, Tradescantia  ‘Danielle’ and several varieties of hardy geranium.

Tradescantia virginiana is another plant that self-sows readily in my garden and begins to bloom in June in many parts of the garden. The self-sown plants mostly grow in shades of blue-violet. But I also enjoy vigorously growing cultivars like ‘Zwannenburg Blue,’ ‘Osprey,’ and ‘Pink Chablis.’

Tradescantia 2015

fence border june 2015In the fence border, big clumps of Tradescantia are the major floral display right now, combined here with lady’s mantle and two varieties of Geranium x cantabrigiense (‘Biokovo’ and ‘Karmina’).

June is also when the large band of Geranium ‘Biokovo’ along the front of the deck border blooms, providing delight for the eyes as well as for the bees, butterflies and hummingbirds that frequent its flowers.

june geraniums deck border june 2015

raised bed full bloomThese same flowers also grow in the raised bed that separates the serenity garden from the clothesline area. This planting, which is only in its second year, is at the height of its bloom right now, with flowers open on two different varieties of Amsonia (A. hubrichtii and A. x ‘Blue Ice’) and three varieties of hardy geraniums.

raised bed biokovo & hubrichtii blue ice opening
The blooms in the serenity garden are more subtle and include the first flowers of goatsbeard (Aruncus dioicus), Geranium ‘Patricia’, and bowman’s root (Poteranthus trifoliata). serenity garden june 2015

Serenity June

The amazing thing about June is that this is just the beginning and there is so much more to come.

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the fifteenth of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see June blooms in gardens from many climates.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2015 1:51 am

    Wonderful blues, Jean!

    • June 17, 2015 8:51 am

      Cathy, This is the blue period in my garden. Although I have some blues throughout the garden season, they’ll be dominated by yellows in July and August.

  2. June 16, 2015 8:50 am

    Beautiful stuff, Jean!

    • June 17, 2015 8:52 am

      Thanks, Diane; it’s so great to enjoy all these flowers after that long winter.

  3. June 16, 2015 5:26 pm

    Your garden is looking cherished and delightful!

    • June 17, 2015 8:53 am

      Diana, I am delighted by it. I’m hoping to get my new screen house set up on the back deck today so that I can sit out there and enjoy the beauties of the back garden.

  4. June 16, 2015 8:10 pm

    Happy GBBD, Jean! I love the mix of blue, purple and white in your borders – it’s very restful. Do your Geranium ‘Biokovo’ grow in full sun? I tried some in sun here but they’ve suffered so I’ve moved them to a partial sun setting, where they’re much happier. I look forward to peeks of what else is exploding in your garden as the month of June progresses.

    • June 17, 2015 8:55 am

      Kris, My garden has a very soft, pastel look at this time of year. In addition to the blues, violets and whites, there are also quite a few pinks. The feel will change in July when all the yellows come into their own.
      I grow ‘Biokovo’ in anything from full sun to part shade. I’m guessing that your sun is hotter than mine in Maine and it may be the heat that they’re objecting to.

  5. Nell Jean permalink
    June 17, 2015 7:19 am

    I spent the first two weeks of June wanting to burst out with the score of Oklahoma every times I went outside.

    • June 17, 2015 8:56 am

      Nell Jean, I just came in from my morning walk, and I think I know exactly which song you’ve been singing. Now you’ve got me singing it, too 🙂

  6. June 18, 2015 4:41 pm

    Hi Jean, there’s lots of cool blues to ease the June heat in your garden, which is looking tremendously lush. I’m hoping that the seed-sown iris I have of unknown variety will flower next year and I will finally be able to tell what if is – four years after sowing the seeds!

    • June 19, 2015 7:46 am

      Sunil, This is a lush time of year here. Trees are leafed out, perennials are all fully up out of the ground, temperatures are very pleasant (highs in the 70sF, 22-26C), and it is moist enough to keep everything very green.
      I tend not to really notice my self-sown irises until they begin to bloom, so I don’t have the wait to see what they will turn out to be. I’ve just been noticing variations in my self-sown plants; some that bloomed for the first time this year have very prominent white semi-sunbursts on their falls — very pretty.

  7. June 19, 2015 3:02 pm

    Lovely cool, refreshing colors and dappled shade–it’s hot today and your garden photos are nearly as good as air-conditioning.

    • June 21, 2015 8:31 pm

      Hoov, I’m happy that they cooled you off. Thanks for visiting.

  8. June 26, 2015 3:01 pm

    I think of that song every time I am in my June garden….and my it is busting in all its glory there Jean…just stunning.

    • June 26, 2015 7:16 pm

      Donna, It’s always so amazing to see all this bloom after such a long wait.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.