Skip to content

Winter Blooms: GBBD, January 2018

January 15, 2018
Pink cyclamen1January in Maine is a cold, white season. But the potted cyclamen plants I bought in December are providing warmth, color, and a winter flower fix. Both plants have been blooming profusely for over a month now, and I never get tired of the way their petals are set alight by sun streaming through my living room window.
streaked cyclamen2 pink cyclamen 2018-2

hyacinth buds januarySince flowers in the garden are still at least two months away (the first crocuses bloomed last year on March 30), it is good that I have promises of more indoor blooms to come. The two hyacinth  bulbs that I bought last winter when I was desperate for color and fragrance and then never got around to doing anything with after they finished blooming have put up new growth and flower buds. They look like they will bloom in the next two weeks.

amaryllis bud 2018Each year, I wait with baited breath to see which of my dozen or so potted amaryllis (Hippeastrum) bulbs will make flowers. This week, I noticed a flower stalk coming up on this one. This is the first time it will bloom since I repotted all the bulbs three years ago, and I don’t know which variety it is. I thought it might be ‘Apple Blossom’ when I chose this celadon-colored pot for it. In a few weeks, I will know whether that guess was correct.

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see other winter blooms from the northern hemisphere and some summer blooms from the southern hemisphere.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2018 12:29 am

    I’ve loved seeing your Cyclamen each winter, always beautifully back-lit by the sun. In fact, these views inspired me to pick up a couple of the plants for my new lath (shade) house, constructed by my husband as my Christmas present. The Cyclamen were among the very first plants installed in the new space. Happy GBBD, Jean!

  2. Lisa at Greenbow permalink
    January 16, 2018 7:12 am

    Your indoor garden is splendid. All of my garden is covered with snow. Happy GBBD.

  3. January 16, 2018 2:19 pm

    What a nice sight on a cold day. I might have to swing by the grocery to see if there’s anything as colorful for sale here!
    My amaryllis look much less promising since I neglected them completely last summer. I guess there’s always hope though.

  4. January 19, 2018 5:05 am

    Hello Jean, we had Amaryllis “Apple Blossom” years ago but I lost patience with it producing bulb offsets and never reflowering. We have tried outdoor cyclamen for the first time this year, they’re just about still flowering but not as well as yours. It’s cheering to still have flowering plants during the winter months.

  5. January 23, 2018 11:15 am

    watching a Crinum bud come up here (it must have got just enough of the surplus greywater to make a difference)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.