Skip to content

An Early Spring: GBBD, May 2010

May 15, 2010

Rhododendron in bloom (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Spring has come to Maine early as a result of unusually warm weather in March and April. So despite frost and temperatures in the twenties during the past week, I have far more to show in mid-May than I have ever had before; almost every area of the garden has something in bloom.

The biggest show is happening on the back slope where flowers of self-sown sweet white violets (Viola blanda) nestle among the foliage of other plants, where the wild strawberries (Fragaria virginiana) are blooming, where the chives are starting to open, and where the rhododendron, which will soon be a mass of pink spilling down the slope, has begun to bloom.

Viola blanda (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Wild strawberry (Fragaria virginiana) flowers (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Chives (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Rhododendron bloom (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

In the back garden, the flowers on the viburnum at the edge of the woods are fading, one of my favorite spring flowers, Dicentra spectabilis, is blooming in the deck border, and the airy blue flowers of Linum perenne grace the blue and yellow border.

Fading flowers on viburnum (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Dicentra spectabilis (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Linum perenne (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

In the bedroom border at the front of the house, the moss phlox (Phlox subulata) is still putting on a show, and the earliest of the hardy geraniums, G. maculatum ‘Album’, has opened its first flowers. In the Iris border, which occupies a protected spot against a south-facing foundation, the first buds of Iris sibirica are about to open two weeks earlier than they ever have before.

Phlox subulata (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Geranium maculatum 'Album' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Early buds on Iris sibirica (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

To my delight, new buds are appearing every day on plants throughout the garden, promising a lush early summer display next month at this time.

Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Please visit her blog to see what is in bloom today in gardens around the world!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2010 12:09 pm

    I’m so glad you are able to enjoy continuous blooms in your garden this month, Jean;-) It all looks just lovely! My azaleas opened 2 weeks earlier than ever before and were gone in no time flat. Last GBBD in May I had them to show, but not this year. The weather certainly was different for us all this past year. Happy mid-May to you;-)

  2. May 15, 2010 6:11 pm

    Hi Jean your flowers look lovely. What a beautiful Iris with the red and purple buds. We still haven’t see open lilacs yet. Anyday now! Thanks so much for the follow – G

  3. A Garden of Threads permalink
    May 15, 2010 9:30 pm

    Love the iris just starting to bloom, lovely garden. Happy GBBD:)

  4. May 16, 2010 12:12 pm

    Jean – the update on blooms are beautiful! Every view is like a breath of fresh air! -Shyrlene

  5. sequoiagardens permalink
    May 16, 2010 12:13 pm

    Spring!! With blooms familiar and un-….. enjoy, Jean!

  6. May 16, 2010 2:03 pm

    The blue iris buds remind me of the American flag! Your spring blossoms are lovely. I am glad your winter is over. I didn’t realize I am a season ahead of you – summer has arrived with hot, humid air and all the bugs that come with it!

  7. patientgardener permalink
    May 16, 2010 2:26 pm

    My garden is about two weeks behind, maybe even three on last year due to the prolonged winter we had and the lack of any real heat so far. I love the lovely small flowers that are out now and you certainly seem to have a good selection

  8. May 16, 2010 3:12 pm

    Such beautiful spring blooms. Your chives ar lovely, and the irises look like they are getting ready to put on a fine show. Your colours are so very calm & soothing.

  9. May 16, 2010 4:10 pm

    Those irises are so beautiful before they even open, I can’t imagine how beautiful they will be when they show their faces.

  10. May 16, 2010 8:54 pm

    Everything is looking so fresh and pretty. That’s one of the best things about spring. Glad to hear that spring is early for you also.

    Jen
    Muddy Boot Dreams

  11. thevioletfern permalink
    May 17, 2010 11:22 am

    Beautiful! Just love those iris and rhododendron are a must on my wish list – I had some beautiful dark red ones in Maine. Do you have viburnum leaf beetle there? I would love to plant one – maybe not so much a threat being in the village here. Your garden is just lovely.

  12. May 17, 2010 5:36 pm

    It looks like your spring is in full swing Jean! I absolutely love the delicate pink of your Rhododendron blooms.

  13. May 17, 2010 7:53 pm

    You must really be enjoying all of your flowers. I know you are very happy about the Bleeding Heart 🙂 I love of all the of the fresh Spring colors your blooms have.

  14. May 18, 2010 5:48 am

    look at all your gorgeous color! isn’t it nutty how early it is this year. i keep rubbing my eyes out of disbelief.
    your irises look like they are going to be simply stunning.happy gardening 🙂

  15. May 18, 2010 6:32 am

    Sorry for my delayed response to May’s GBBD, Jean, but I was traveling. Don’t you just love those tiny, tiny white violets? What beauty in such a small package. I’m not sure your blossoms are a full 2-3 weeks behind mine in south-central CT. Your siberian iris look to be just a week behind mine, which are – today – in full glory. Same with the chives. Do you make chive vinegar? It’s easy and so good in salads.

  16. May 18, 2010 1:57 pm

    Loved all the photos, but somehow the geranium seemed especially good – hard to capture whites without their being blown out. Here we are getting lots of rain so my hydrangeas will be monstrous when they finally bloom. Enjoy spring!

  17. May 19, 2010 2:19 am

    Your May blooms look wonderful. I think I may have moss phlox too. I’ve been wondering what it was. I found it in an abandoned lot and brought it home. I love it.

  18. May 20, 2010 1:43 am

    I am amazed Jean at how early things are for you. I do not even have any iris blooming yet… soon on the south slope and that explains yours blooming next to the house I guess. Your house as you note warming that area more. It has been trying with the freezing temps on the flowers that came early with the warmer days. Lovely blooms! I would love to see your Rhododendrons spilling down the slope… sounds gorgeous!

  19. May 31, 2010 6:52 am

    Hi Jean, This is my first visit to your site. Nice!!! Will bookmark for later visit, See you.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.