Skip to content

Winter Flowers: GBBD, January 2017

January 18, 2017

cyclamen jan 2017Having missed bloom day in December, I was determined to post in January. So here I am, better late than never.

This is the season when my garden is tucked in under a blanket of snow (it is snowing even as I write) and I rely on houseplants for my flower fix. My best performer this month is an orchid I received as a gift from a friend more than four months ago. I’m thrilled that it is still blooming and that I haven’t killed it yet. (I don’t have a great track-record with orchids.)

orchid january blooms

Less satisfying than usual this year are my faithful potted cyclamen plants. Although they are full of flowers and buds, the flowers seem to fade almost as soon as they open and, as a result, are looking a bit bedraggled. Anyone know what would cause this? Perhaps the plants need to be fed. pink cyclamen January 2017

amaryllis buds 2017I am pleased that, so far, two of my amaryllis (Hippeastrum) bulbs have sent up flower buds. These have not yet begun to open, but they are providing a promise of flowers for February.

For the past ten years, Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day has been hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. (Thank you, Carol!) Visit her blog to see a much greater variety of January flowers, including some that are actually blooming outdoors in the garden.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2017 11:53 pm

    Your indoor plants are a beautiful antidote for the snow white conditions outside I expect. I’ve had no luck growing cyclamen outside so perhaps I need to follow your example and try growing them inside.

    • January 29, 2017 9:43 pm

      Kris, The secret to success in growing cyclamen indoors seems to be a cool house. At your latitude, they would probably also need indirect light. (At my latitude, they are perfectly happy in a southwest-facing window.)

  2. January 19, 2017 4:18 pm

    maybe the cyclamen need misting and a little more moisture?

    • January 29, 2017 9:44 pm

      Diana, I don’t know. They’ve never complained about the moisture levels in my house before (and one of these plants is almost 25 years old). I’m going to try fertilizing them and see if that helps.

  3. indygardener permalink
    January 31, 2017 7:26 pm

    You’re welcome, Jean. I love bloom day posts. Thanks for sharing the indoors plants with us. No matter what the climate, a gardener always figures out how to have a few plants in bloom…

  4. February 3, 2017 1:49 pm

    Hello Jean, I’ve all but given up on the monthly GBBD as I’m so disorganised. I have Sarcococca (Sweetbox) in flower at the moment and that’s pretty much it. We haven’t been treating our orchids very well (not watering them enough) so they haven’t flowered much but I like your Cyclamen and Amaryllis, they’re always so cheerful, just at the time of year it’s most needed.

Leave a Reply

