Skip to content

A Garden New Year

January 1, 2017

Cover 2017This is my eighth year of welcoming in the new year with Jean’s Garden calendars as gifts for family and friends. I always enjoy the process of going through my photo archives to choose images for the calendar. I have some loose “rules” for image choices. First, all photos for the calendar must have been taken by me. Second, they should be of my own garden, not of gardens I’ve visited. (I usually apply this rule in a relaxed form, including images of trees and wildflowers growing at the edges of my garden. One year, I even included two images of wildflowers growing by the side of the road in my neighborhood.) Third, I aim for a combination of close-ups and landscape shots. Fourth, I try to select my images from photos taken in the past year. Typically, at some point during the year, I’ll begin to identify photos that have calendar potential and save them to a special folder on my computer. In late summer or fall, I may well go out and take some photos to fill specific gaps.

Here are this year’s selections (click on any image to enlarge it):

January 2017 February 2017
January February
March 2017 April 2017
March April
May 2017 June 2017
May June
July 2017 August 2017
July August
September 2017 October 2017
September October
November 2017 December 2017
November
December

Once again this year, I used the online service at Lulu.com to create and print my calendars. I continue to be impressed with the quality of their color reproductions.  As I’ve done in recent years, I used photo editing software to add a white border around the images and captions beneath them; and I solved the problem of the cover by creating a collage of some of the calendar images.

I’m particularly happy with this year’s calendar. This is a lucky thing, because I had intended to have a sample proof printed first and then make revisions, but I ran out of time when events in my personal life overtook my good intentions. So what I ended up with was essentially the first draft. The only thing I would have changed would have been to use a slightly smaller font for the captions, and that is a mistake I can live with.

If anyone would like their own copy of this year’s calendar, you can purchase them from Lulu by clicking here.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2017 1:15 pm

    All lovely images. Happy new year, Jean!

    • January 13, 2017 9:42 pm

      Kris, Of the many calendars I have created over the past decade, this is one of my favorites. I’m going to enjoy turning the page each month.

  2. debsgarden permalink
    January 2, 2017 11:08 pm

    What beautiful images! I love the daylily collage. Happy New Year and may your garden prosper in 2017!

    • January 13, 2017 9:44 pm

      Deb, The daylily collage is one of my favorite images, too. It is a revision of one I did for my July bloom day post.

  3. January 4, 2017 4:09 pm

    Hope all is well
    and it will be a happy year for you.

    • January 13, 2017 9:45 pm

      Diana, I have been pulled away from regular blogging recently by a friend’s health crisis. I hope to get my life back to some semblance of normality soon.

  4. January 6, 2017 8:33 am

    What a beautiful calendar. It must have been fun choosing those images. I look forward to the images of 2017

    • January 13, 2017 9:46 pm

      Pat, Choosing the images is always my favorite part of creating my annual gift calendar.

Leave a Reply

