Skip to content

A Season of Transition: GBBD, November 2016

November 15, 2016

aster bluebird novemberIt is very unusual to have flowers still blooming in a Maine garden in mid-November, but I do. Despite many nights with freezing temperatures and several hard frosts, the smooth asters (Symphyotrichum laeve ‘Bluebird’) continue to bloom in a protected south-facing corner.

For the most part, though, the garden is done for this year. Once I finish stacking my firewood, I will cut back a few perennials, put away the plant supports and garden furniture, and take down the screen house on the back deck in preparation for winter. I will not have outdoor flowers again until April.

This is the season when I transition from an outdoor garden to an indoor garden of flowering houseplants. The flowers of this orchid, a gift from a friend, have been gracing my life for many weeks.

This week they have been joined by the extravagant blooms of my holiday cactus (Schlumbergera).

red orchid blooms
holiday cactus flower holiday cactus blooming
cyclamen first flowers … And by the first flush of new flowers on one of my potted cyclamen.

Last week, I unpacked a dozen potted amaryllis (Hippeastrum) bulbs from their period of dark dormancy in the basement and put them in the sun to send up new growth. It is too soon for them to have flowers, but they provide a promise of beautiful blooms for the winter months ahead.

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what other gardeners have blooming in November.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2016 12:32 pm

    It looks as though your indoor plants are already off to a good start in providing floral color. I love the soft coral shade of that Schlumbergera.

    • November 25, 2016 11:11 pm

      Kris, The Schlumbergera interestingly has two colors of flowers; most are coral, but a few are lavender. Very pretty together. Amazingly, even under snow, my aster still has a few blooms on it!

  2. November 26, 2016 2:08 pm

    Jean, I always appreciate seeing your beautiful indoor plants. I am not an indoor gardener…at least not a successful one. Between the cats and my indoor brown thumb, it is a lost cause for me. I especially like your cyclamen. Such a beautiful flower among the tight two-toned leaves. I hope you’ll continue to share your indoor show!

  3. November 27, 2016 6:34 am

    Hello Jean, I remember from a year or more ago, seeing a picture of a large window in your home where the sill was full of flowering Amaryllis and Cyclamen, all backlit by yellow winter sunshine. This transition from outdoor to indoor feels like barricading yourself in with comfort against the cold winter ahead.

Leave a Reply

