Skip to content

July’s Floral Bounty: GBBD, July 2016

July 15, 2016

lavender walk July 2016July is the time of peak bloom in my Maine garden. The garden hasn’t reached its peak yet; that is still a week or two away. But I am experiencing that beautiful floral crescendo that will peak in late July.

The first flower beds in my new front garden, planted less than a year ago, continue to amaze. The Lavender Walk is abloom with two varieties of lavender (Lavendula augustifolia ‘Munstead Strain’ and Lavendula augustifolia ‘Hidcote’), ice plant (Delosperma ‘Table Mountain’), Sedum spurium ‘John Creech,’ and the first flowers of Echinacea purpurea ‘Magnus.’

Lavender Walk flowers

walkway to patio July 2016In the Porch Border and the Patio Border, flanking the walkway to the patio, Heuchera ‘Raspberry Regal,’ Geranium x oxonianum, and Tradescantia virginiana ‘Pink Chablis’ continue to bloom profusely. But they have now been joined by some of the earlier daylily varieties, by the tall, pale pink panicles of Astilbe x thumbergii ‘Moerheim’s Glory,’ and by flowers of annual cosmos and cleome.

patio walkway flowers

The astilbes are at their peak right now, especially in the Deck Border. There, ‘Moerheim’s Glory’ is joined by lavender spires of Astilbe x arendsii ‘Cattleya,’ the delicate arched flowers of Astilbe x thumbergii ‘Betsy Cuperus,’ and the beautiful Astilbe x thumbergii ‘Ostrich Plume.’

Astilbes

But it is the daylilies that steal the show in my July garden. These began to bloom the last week in June. By mid-July, one or two varieties are opening their first flowers each day. Here is a sampling of those currently in bloom:

early daylilies 2016
Daylily varieties, left to right, top to bottom: Unnamed large gold daylily from Barth breeding program, Mary Todd, Happy Returns, unnamed wine-colored daylily from Cellars breeding program, possibly species daylily Hemerocallis citrina, unidentified red spider daylily, Lily Munster, unidentified yellow-orange daylily, Sheepscot Valley Sunset, Boothbay Harbor Gold, Alna Pride, Hemerocallis fulva.

And these represent only about 25% of the varieties I am growing, with many, many more still to come in the days and weeks ahead.

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see an amazing array of blooms from gardens around the world.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2016 1:34 pm

    The exuberant growth in your borders is a pleasure to behold, Jean! I can imagine your delight every time you walk through those areas. Your daylily bounty is amazing too. Daylily performance was especially poor here this year, due perhaps to stingy irrigation or perhaps untimely blasts of heat, or some combination of the two, but I’m holding out hope that some of the rebloomers will make an appearance later in the year.

    • July 18, 2016 9:12 pm

      Kris, Every year, I have some daylilies that just don’t send up flower scapes — probably about 10% of the varieties I grow, but not the same 10% each year. This year, we’ve had unusually dry conditions through winter, spring and summer (finally some relief this week with an inch or so of rain), and I’ve noticed flower buds on some daylilies drying up and falling off without opening. I have found, though, that daylilies are quite resilient, so here’s hoping you’ll get some later blooms.

  2. July 17, 2016 8:11 am

    Your gardens are lovely Jean. The lavender walk must be fragrant, especially as you brush by those flowers.

    • July 18, 2016 9:15 pm

      Brenda, I love fragrance in the garden, and the Lavender Walk has not disappointed. I didn’t realize they would droop over the walkway so much or be quite so much of a bee magnet. So, yes, the fragrance is released as I brush against the flowers, but it also feels a bit like running a bee gauntlet.

  3. July 17, 2016 12:15 pm

    Such beautiful flowers, colors, and fragrances. Thank you for sharing these favorites from my northern life. 🙂

    • July 18, 2016 9:15 pm

      The ghost of gardens past??

      • July 18, 2016 9:19 pm

        Blooms from my zone 6/7 life. Still gardening in zone 10 — but it’s a whole new world.

  4. July 18, 2016 3:45 pm

    Jean, Thank you for sharing your July garden. It is so wonderful to see your plans of last year, a reality, alive and blooming this year! It is a sight for sore eyes as my South Carolina garden is spent in the July heat. Daylillies are also one of my favorites. Someone once told me they were a weed because they were so prolific! They are prolific because they are such survivors, bringing us different colors, petals and heights as they spread gloriously throughout the garden. They are a favorite of mine. I would love to see the others you have as well. Kathy

    • July 18, 2016 9:21 pm

      Kathy, Spring may come later here, but that means that the garden doesn’t start to look tired and blowsy until August. This year, in mid-August, I’m going on a bus trip to two gardens in New Hampshire that are at their best in August. I’m eager to see what they are growing.
      I find daylilies very rewarding flowers to grow — easy care, generally reliable, and so much variety! This week, I’m going to start making regular visits to a nearby daylily nursery to choose plants for the part of the garden I’m working on this summer. I want to get plants that work well together but with different bloom times so that I can extend the season as long as possible. In recent years, I’ve added several fall-blooming daylilies that carry the daylily season until frost.

  5. July 18, 2016 5:05 pm

    Your Maine garden is looking beautiful for the month of July. You have a wonderful selection of blooms and your daylily collection is gorgeous. The unnamed wine-colored daylily may be ‘Pardon Me’. It looks very similar to the ones I have here on Long Island. Happy Bloom Day!

    • July 18, 2016 9:27 pm

      Lee, Thanks for the suggestion about the identity of the wine-colored daylily. I looked up ‘Pardon Me’ in the AHS daylily database, but my flower seems to be both larger and taller than that one. I actually think mine doesn’t have a name. If I remember correctly, I bought it from daylily breeder Don Celler, and it was a seedling from his breeding program that he had decided not to register. Perhaps it shares some relatives with ‘Pardon Me.’

  6. July 21, 2016 1:02 am

    Oh so that means you have a lot, those are only 25%. I am sad as i forgot again to post for GBBD, where i can post all photos at home. It happened to me many times. Your lavender might be a different variety, as those i see in NZ and Sweden are all lined up near the walk in a hedge which are really awesome. I wish they grow also in our hot climate.

  7. July 23, 2016 9:11 am

    I love the variety of day-lilies you have! I have the pale pink at the end of the 3rd row, bought from the Day-Lily Society at the farmers market. One of my favorite lilies. Your yard must smell amazing.

  8. July 23, 2016 5:19 pm

    Hello Jean, the “Lavender Walk” is such a transformation! I remember the post and photos of when you had just laid the path and the planting was yet to be done. It must be so satisfying to go back to those earlier photos and just remark on the progress made, I do that here, often.

Leave a Reply

