Skip to content

Waiting for Spring: GBBD, March 2016

March 16, 2016

march garden no snowDespite some unseasonably warm, spring-like days and an early snow melt, I am still waiting for spring to arrive in my Maine garden. There are some signs of new growth here and there, like on hardy geranium plants, Heuchera ‘Raspberry Regal’, Sedum spurium, and this aster in a protected spot that I don’t think ever truly went into dormancy. But there are no signs yet of spring bulbs poking up through the soil or of flower buds on the hellebores.

spring growth

For blooms, I am still dependent on indoor plants, and even there flowers are scarce. One by one, my faithful potted cyclamen plants are preparing to rest, with only one last red and one last white flower still in bloom.

red cyclamen last flower white cyclamen last flower
I had hoped to have an amaryllis bulb blooming at this time, but the flowers of  Hippeastrum ‘Picotee’ faded over a week ago and none of the other amaryllis plants that I was hoping would provide March blooms put up flower stalks this year. picotee blooms
orchid in bloom Thank goodness for the orchid that my friend Anne brought me as a thank-you gift when I kept her family’s cat for a  week while they were vacationing in Florida; its beautiful flowers will have to keep me going until spring finally arrives here.
orchid bloom

I am a day late, but Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the fifteenth of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see blooms in gardens where spring has already arrived.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2016 5:36 am

    Hello Jean, while you still do not have much blooms in your garden i am inviting you to linger in mine. At least we don’t ran out out of blooms no matter how hot our environment is. By the way, i love that ‘Picotee’, but i can’t buy it online as it is expensive.

    • March 21, 2016 9:03 pm

      Andrea, I’m on my way over to check out all your wonderful tropical blooms. Thanks for the invitation. I don’t mind that I only have blooms in my own garden for about seven months of the year; it makes them extra special. 🙂

  2. March 17, 2016 1:47 pm

    I’m hoping that spring finds you soon, Jean!

    • March 21, 2016 9:04 pm

      Kris, March is always a tease — spring-like one day with winter returning the next. Despite this week’s winter weather, I feel as though we have broken the back of winter and spring is truly on its way.

  3. March 18, 2016 12:47 pm

    I’m sure all your bulbs are getting ready to pop out of the ground and make an exciting show for you.

    • March 21, 2016 9:06 pm

      Jason, I don’t have enough bulbs to make an exciting show; most have disappeared over the years. But the few I have have poked their little noses above the surface. I plan to plant bulbs in the fall for that exciting show (especially of crocuses) next year.

  4. March 20, 2016 3:06 pm

    All my heucheras died, Jean. I think it could be the elevation (3500 feet.) Oh well, maybe next year I shall try again. Do drop by The Dirt Diaries when you have a chance.

    • March 21, 2016 9:09 pm

      Lynn, It’s always a disappointment when a plant that you thought would work in your garden doesn’t make it. A few years ago, I planted a heuchera that had done very well in my deck border, ‘Raspberry Ice,’ in my new serenity garden. The plants have not been happy there. The first spring, they were eaten down to the ground by deer and have never really recovered. There are still one or two of the five I planted left, but they are barely hanging on. I was happy to see that the four divisions of ‘Raspberry Regal’ that I put into the porch border last fall have all grown into bigger clumps, suggesting that the environment there suits them.

  5. debsgarden permalink
    March 20, 2016 10:22 pm

    I love your orchid! Spring will surely find its way to you soon. Spring has crept in here, not with an explosion like some years, but finally I am seeing lots of leaf buds on trees. Soon all the dreary gray will be gone.

    • March 21, 2016 9:10 pm

      Deb, We’ll see how the orchid does after it stops blooming. I am a confessed orchid serial killer.

  6. March 26, 2016 11:18 am

    Spring is blooming here but very slowly as the weather is very up and down….Hoping you have some blooms soon Jean!

Leave a Reply

