Skip to content

Updated Garden Tour

March 1, 2016

This week, I finally took the time to update my Garden Tour page, which did not reflect the addition on my house or the work I’ve been doing to create a new front garden.

The most ambitious part of updating this page was creating a new diagram of my garden:

image

You can take the updated virtual tour of my garden by clicking on the “Garden Tour” tab at the top of the page or by clicking here.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2016 9:28 am

    Jean, I thoroughly enjoyed my tour of your garden. While you may have a decade of work ahead of you, you have decades behind. Everything looks well thought out and floriferous. Congratulations, both on the garden and on re-doing the garden diagram.

    • March 4, 2016 9:59 pm

      Pat, Since I can’t draw to save my life, I created the original diagram by printing out a close-up aerial photo of my property and then tracing over it. For the update, I figured out that I could import the original diagram into Word and then use the drawing tools there to cover over the plantings that had been taken away and then add on the changes to the house, the retaining walls, new plantings, etc.

  2. March 2, 2016 11:15 pm

    It was fun to get a better sense of your garden’s flow, Jean! It’s already lovely and colorful (outside of winter anyway) and I look forward to seeing the development of the new areas. I’m also impressed by your diagram – my own drawings, when I do them, are much less professional!

    • March 4, 2016 10:19 pm

      Kris, I do like the way a diagram or drawing of the whole garden can provide a sense of the flow and how the various areas relate to one another and to the house. If my diagram looks more professional than your drawings, it’s most likely because I can’t draw at all and am therefore completely reliant on graph paper and computer tools.

  3. March 4, 2016 6:10 pm

    Hi Jean, that picture really helps put things into perspective. I know you’ve talked about your various borders in blog posts, but it’s only when they’re seen together like above that you really get a picture of how the garden flows and its surrounding environment. You’ve inspired me to scribble down a picture of my own garden so people can see the crescent border, front rose border, side border and the borders in the back of the garden.

    • March 4, 2016 10:21 pm

      Sunil, In writing about or photographing our gardens, we tend to focus on one area at a time. I do think a larger perspective is helpful. I remember one blogger who used to climb up on her roof and take photos of the whole garden to give the big picture, but I’m too afraid of heights to go that route!

  4. debsgarden permalink
    March 6, 2016 6:02 pm

    Hi Jean, I really enjoyed the virtual tour. You have made great progress. It was fun to see again what your home and garden looked like before the remodel. I admire your planning and organization!

    • March 6, 2016 10:21 pm

      Deb, It looks like a different house from the front — and I don’t think I realized just how scruffy those shrubs out front looked when I had been living with them for years. I am very happy with my “new” house and new landscape and will be even happier when the new front garden is all in place.

  5. March 6, 2016 10:46 pm

    It is such a pleasure to follow the progress of your project.

    • March 8, 2016 7:15 pm

      Charlie, I’m getting a lot of pleasure out of this winter garden-dreaming process. But the weather is getting warmer and it looks as though we are going to have an early spring; soon the hard labor will begin.

Leave a Reply

