Skip to content

A Blue and Gold Season

September 23, 2015

blue&gold seasonI think of seasons as having colors. Winter is, of course, white. And spring is yellow and pink (think daffodils and tulips and fruit trees in bloom). Summer is a lush mix of many shades of green. And the colors of fall are blue and gold. For me, these colors represent the vibrant blue of an October sky and the golden hues of fall foliage. Today is the autumnal equinox and the official beginning of that blue and gold season.

I can find something to love about every season, but fall has always been my favorite. I don’t love heat, so the cooler temperatures of autumn are something I look forward to. And classic New England fall weather is sunny and crisp – a great time for working in the garden. I also love the vibrant colors of the leaves on our deciduous trees in fall.

The first half of September was unusually hot here, and I was feeling a bit grumpy about the way summer was hanging on. But then this week, right on cue, the weather pattern shifted. On Sunday night, I went to bed with the windows open as they had been for several months. When I woke up on Monday morning, I was greeted by a chilly house and outdoor temperatures in the mid-thirties (Fahrenheit)! I looked out at the big red maple tree that grows beside my driveway and noticed the first leaves turning color in its canopy. Then I noticed that the rhododendron on the back slope had begun to turn and the first fallen leaves of the season in the driveway. Autumn is here!

rhododendron foliage first fallen leaves

Of course, the turn from summer to autumn is also a turn toward winter (which usually arrives here in late November). It’s time to finish digging new flower beds and start preparing the garden for winter. But until the frost comes, I can enjoy the deep blue flowers of morning glories on the fence and the blooms of aster and sedums. It’s a glorious time of the year!

morning glory blue fall aster alma potschke

I am linking this post to Donna’s Seasonal Celebrations at Gardens Eye View.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2015 12:18 am

    Love your images that are so full of color, and of course your thoughtful comments on the changing of the seasons.

    • September 26, 2015 9:57 pm

      Thanks, Charlie. Fall is coming on here in a big way. There’s a frost advisory tonight for the next county over and the temperature when I got up this morning was only 35.

  2. September 24, 2015 7:57 am

    Jean, of course seasons have colours attached to them! I’ve just never thought of that directly. And since we garden under similar conditions, I endorse your colour assignments. I’m itching to get outside and start dividing plants, moving them here and there — my summer notebook is full of things to do, and now is the ideal time to do them. Hope you get your new flower beds ready before snow flies.

    • September 26, 2015 10:00 pm

      Pat, I also have a list of fall garden chores to do. First up is to finish the last of my new flower beds for this year. I only have about 2 hours work left to do on preparing the soil. Tomorrow I plan to go shopping for plants. I hope to finish the digging on Tuesday and do the planting on Thursday or Friday.

  3. September 24, 2015 11:38 am

    Fall is very pretty but inching towards winter so not my favorite. Absolutely gorgeous here this week too though. Clear, cool with bright blue skies for the papal visit. However, it has only rained here once in the last 6 or 7 weeks. The soil is dust or concrete and the plants are suffering. I miss Maine.

    • September 26, 2015 10:02 pm

      Carolyn, It has been dry here, too; although we did get about 1/2″ of rain a couple of weeks ago. We’ve come very close to frost twice in the past week, but I’m hoping it will hold off for another couple of weeks. (There are so many buds on my morning glories! I’d like them to get more of a chance to open.) One unfortunate consequence of the dry summer and fall is likely to be lackluster fall foliage color this year.

  4. September 24, 2015 12:08 pm

    Oh my friend what a beautiful post celebrating the new season. I am so excited you joined in and I love your perspective of this blue and gold season…perfect! I was thankful that the cooler temps finally came too although our coldest morning yet has been 44. I still want the veg garden to pump out the harvest till the frost comes…hoping that is a long way off.

    Thanks as always Jean for your support of Seasonal Celebrations.

    • September 26, 2015 10:06 pm

      Donna, The nights have definitely gotten cold here. We have flirted with frost several nights this past week, and I’ve had to give in and close windows. Like you, I’m hoping frost will hold off a while. Our average first frost date in recent years has been Oct. 10.

  5. September 24, 2015 2:52 pm

    I love that first photo, Jean. There’s no sign of fall color here and summer seems determined to hang on but at least our nighttime temperatures have finally fallen below 70F. Best wishes with your fall planting!

    • September 26, 2015 10:08 pm

      Kris, That first photo was taken in a previous October; the foliage hasn’t advanced to that stage yet this year. While your nighttime temperatures have fallen below 70F, ours are now falling below 40F on most nights. It’s time for me to get serious about that fall planting.

  6. September 24, 2015 10:00 pm

    Everything here is mostly green still. I’d say our early fall is mostly yellow (goldenrods and rudbeckias) and blue (asters). When the leaves turn there will be more red and orange. And then orange will get a big boost from all the pumpkins.

    • September 26, 2015 10:09 pm

      Jason, The foliage has definitely begun to turn here, but it is still weeks away from peak color. Unfortunately, because it has been so dry, that peak color probably will not be very vibrant this year.

  7. Kim permalink
    September 24, 2015 10:18 pm

    Happy Autumn Equinox (a little late) to you and all! Beautiful post.

  8. September 27, 2015 12:13 pm

    I love the thought of crystal clear blue skies, the Autumn spectrum of leaves turning and the scent of apple cider in a coffee cup (perhaps a pumpkin spice latte or two)! What a perfect time to get caught up with Garden Blog friends and see the bounty of their 2015 Garden season. 🙂 Jean, you continue to be a great catalyst for the Garden Blog community! Thanks for keeping in touch.

    • September 27, 2015 8:53 pm

      Shyrlene, It’s always a pleasure to hear from you and to see what’s happening in your garden.

  9. September 27, 2015 12:19 pm

    Lovely post, Jean.

    There is a color palette in nature that I really love…the browns of late fall, after all the colors have gone and winter is just around the corner. A lot of people don’t see the various tones out there in the fields and woods, but to me they are beautiful. As I drive I often try to figure out what paint tube colors I would mix to recreate this or that brown.

    • September 27, 2015 8:55 pm

      Jean, I have to admit that, although this is a palette I love in my wardrobe, I don’t appreciate it in nature as much as I could. I should learn from your example.

  10. debsgarden permalink
    September 27, 2015 9:36 pm

    Mid-thirties! Yikes! That is winter to me! But our autumn has also arrived. Lows in the high 50s and highs in 70s to low 80s. Perfect! I love autumn for its refreshing air and wonderful colors – blue and gold here, too!

    • September 27, 2015 9:50 pm

      Deb, We had some frost here last night (although it was not in the forecast for this part of Maine so I hadn’t bothered to cover up plants). Fortunately, none of my plants seems to have been hit. (Mid-thirties are the daytime highs we get in early spring.)

  11. September 30, 2015 5:42 am

    I love the blue of your morning glories. I love the autumn colors of gold, yellow, gold, and the differing shades of brown.

  12. October 5, 2015 9:31 am

    I was grumpy here too Jean in the beginning of Sweaty Semptember! But then I breathed in that crisp cool air with a big weary sigh. I am enjoying heavenly blue Morning Glory myself! (Through the weeds, but enjoying all the same.)

Trackbacks

  1. Seasonal Celebrations Revealed-September 2015 | Gardens Eye View

Leave a Reply

