Skip to content

Spring Finally Arrives: GBBD, May 2015

May 15, 2015

lilac bloomsWhile, for some gardeners, May features floral abundance, that doesn’t happen in my garden until June. For me, May is the month when spring really and truly arrives. Spring in Maine is known for being long anticipated and short in duration. How quickly it unfolds can be attested to by the fact that, two weeks after the last of the snow melted, the lilacs (Syringa vulgaris) have already begun to bloom.

Most of my flower beds do not yet have blooms. The exception is the serenity garden, where the hellebores are blooming and the bleeding hearts (Lamprocapnos spectabilis ‘Gold Heart’) are making a lovely display.

hellebores may bleeding hearts goldheart2
At this time of year, most of my blooms are from wildflower volunteers, like these white violets (Viola blanda) that grow on the back slope. white violets 2015
bluets 2015 Clumps of bluets (Houstonia caerulea) have popped up in open areas. Dandelions (Krigia dandelion) are adding splashes of yellow color here and there.

Wild strawberries (Fragaria virginiana) and blueberries (Vaccinium augustifolium) are also beginning to bloom, making sweet promises of delicious berries in the coming months.

strawberry blossoms 2015 blueberry blossoms

A little further afield from my garden, this native Viburnum lantanoides (hobblebush) is blooming at the side of my dirt road, along my walk to the mailbox.

hobblebush

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol who dreams of May blooms at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see the wonders of May in gardens around the world.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2015 10:42 pm

    I also have wild white violets, I’ve been unable to determine the species. I wonder if they are the same as yours. I’m glad your spring has finally arrived – it does seem to suddenly transition to high gear.

    • May 17, 2015 9:27 pm

      Jason, My white violets (Viola blanda) are about 1″ across and have blue-violet vertical stripes on the bottom petals. Illinois is part of their range.

  2. May 16, 2015 5:30 am

    I love wild violets!

    • May 17, 2015 9:28 pm

      Lea, I agree; they are a charming addition to the garden, and I’m quite willing to make room for these volunteers.

  3. Nell Jean permalink
    May 16, 2015 1:20 pm

    You have wonderful spring delights. Houstonia blooms here in March. We are already in summer mode while you have a beautiful springtime ahead. That’s why we exchange Bloom Day offerings, makes for more joy.

    • May 17, 2015 9:30 pm

      Nell Jean, I seem to be generally about two months behind you. I’m enjoying your daylily blooms now, and I’ll return the favor in July when mine finally hit their stride.

  4. bushbernie permalink
    May 16, 2015 10:53 pm

    You still have some lovely blooms while you’re waiting for the big show in June. Loved the white Violets and Bluets.

    • May 17, 2015 9:31 pm

      Bernie, While I will have other wildflowers blooming in later months, I think I enjoy them most at this time of year when they don’t have much competition from fancy garden cultivars.

  5. May 16, 2015 11:21 pm

    I’m glad to see your spring blooms have arrived. I can only imagine what a thrill it is to have lilacs growing in one’s garden. Happy GBBD Jean!

    • May 17, 2015 9:33 pm

      Kris, Lilacs are a special treat. These are too far away from the house for me to really enjoy their scent, but I hope to include one in my fragrant-garden-to-come.

  6. May 17, 2015 10:50 pm

    Hi Jean. I noticed in temperate climates that wildflowers are much colorful and bigger than what we have in our tropical wilderness. I observed that from my few travels which normally coincided with spring. I’ve always wanted to photographs everything growing in streetsides, and everything untended. But in terms of perennial flowers, i think we have a lot and in very bright hot colors.

    • May 19, 2015 8:57 pm

      Andrea, We do have abundant and wonderfully varied wildflowers in the temperate climates. Many of the ones in bloom right now are “spring ephemerals” — woodland plants that get sun in spring and then go dormant once the forest canopy leafs out and blocks that sun. I came to gardening through a love of wildflowers.

  7. May 20, 2015 12:18 pm

    It seems our gardens are similar although yours is ahead in some ways Jean…beautiful show of blooms……my big show seems to be in June too especially with the crazy May we have had.

Leave a Reply

