Skip to content

A Welcome Bloom: GBBD, April 2015

April 16, 2015

house with bare groundI am a day late posting for bloom day because I just got home yesterday after a week and a half away. What a difference ten days can make at this time of year! When I left, the temperature was about 31F and snow was in the forecast. (I was more than happy to get out in time to miss winter’s last gasp in the form of the annual April snow storm.) When I returned, it was 65 (F) and sunny.

The garden I left was mostly snow-covered, albeit with quite a few areas of bare ground. Now the ground is mostly bare, although there are still some patches of snow in the woods and unmelted snow piles by the front porch, snowpile front
snowpile back … along the back of the house,
… and along the edges of the driveway. driveway snowbank

 

hyacinth in bud As soon as I had finished unpacking the car, I went out to see if there were any blooms to mark the arrival of spring. I found some hyacinth buds ready to open.

 

And then, in the serenity garden, my first bloom of the new garden season and a perfect welcome home gift – a single crocus flower.

crocus bloom

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see more blooms from those whose spring comes earlier than mine.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. bushbernie permalink
    April 17, 2015 6:36 am

    What a lovely find to arrive home and discover signs of Spring. A great welcome home present.

    • April 22, 2015 9:40 pm

      Bernie, Just seeing the snow mostly gone was a great present; the crocus was an extra treat! 🙂

  2. April 17, 2015 11:27 am

    Beautiful purples, something nice and bright to come home to!

  3. April 17, 2015 1:11 pm

    Yay! I’m glad to hear that Spring has arrived in your part of the country. That 30 degree temperature change should quickly kick things into gear.

    • April 22, 2015 9:45 pm

      Kris, It hasn’t been quite that warm most days, but the weather definitely has changed from winter to spring. It is a pleasure to be outside most days, and I’m watching my remaining snow piles dwindle.

  4. April 18, 2015 4:04 am

    Wow Jean, such massive piles of snow, I couldn’t begin to imagine the challenges of gardening in a place that is covered with feet of it over the winter and only begins to recede in April. I guess it makes growing winter flowering plants all but impossible but in the most sheltered of nooks and crannies.

    • April 22, 2015 9:52 pm

      Sunil, Have you ever read The Three Thousand Mile Garden ? It is a series of letters between a gardener in London and a gardener on the coast of Maine (made into a very popular television series in England in the 1990s). In December of their first year of correspondence, Roger Phillips, the London gardener, writes, “I am horrified at the temperatures in Cushing. It at last brings home to me why gardens in America are so different from ours.” I feel as though you and I are replaying this discovery of how different our climates are 25 years later.

  5. April 18, 2015 7:33 am

    Glad to see that spring has come. We are having a gorgeous spring here.

    • April 22, 2015 9:54 pm

      Carolyn, After such a harsh winter, our spring is particularly welcome. I am enjoying getting out and beginning spring clean-up — although there are still some piles of snow in parts of my garden.

  6. debsgarden permalink
    April 18, 2015 12:25 pm

    Your home with its new addition looks great! Today, here in my part of Alabama, the temp is about 65 degrees and rainy! I am glad winter has finally given way to spring for you! It must be wonderful to see that first crocus!

    • April 22, 2015 9:56 pm

      Deb, Spring seems especially sweet this year. I marvel every day at how my new addition has transformed my house, both inside and out. It will look even better when I get some plants growing in all that bare ground!

  7. April 20, 2015 8:10 am

    Seeing the first flower of spring excites me every year. I saw my first crocus just over a week ago, and now the garden is full of them. A real joy.

    • April 22, 2015 10:22 pm

      Pat, I’m still waiting not-so-patiently for the big flush of spring bulbs which should happen soon.

  8. April 20, 2015 11:26 am

    What a joy looking at the first buds announcing finally spring!

    • April 22, 2015 10:23 pm

      Lula, Spring was a long time coming this year, which just makes it that much more of a joy.

  9. April 20, 2015 7:26 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how quickly our gardens are blooming once the snow melts…mine was blooming as the snow was melting off of it….this is a wonderful sight to see yours finally blooming Jean.

    • April 23, 2015 5:13 pm

      Donna, It is indeed a wonderful sight. I don’t have many early spring flowers planted here, so it takes me longer to get blooms. But in the garden areas that still have snow, I can see new green growth peeking out.

  10. April 20, 2015 8:09 pm

    I admire your Maine homestead. Sometimes that very first flower is worth as much as all the rest that follow combined.

    • April 23, 2015 5:15 pm

      Jason, I am now waiting not very patiently for more blooms to flower. I think I get most excited about the first big flush of early summer blooms, beginning with bleeding hearts and hardy geranium and including the Siberian irises, goatsbeard, baptisia, and early astilbes.

  11. April 21, 2015 12:11 pm

    It STILL boggles my mind… and how I would love to experience the first sight of a flower after the snow. Here we have the aloes in the winter and by July the first spring flowers are out. Not to mention the many indigenous plants of mediterranean climes that flower before the heat and the dry arrive – peaking in late August; your February!

    • April 23, 2015 5:17 pm

      Jack, LOL, in order to experience the thrill of the first flower, you first have to experience the 5 months of snow and no flowers.

  12. April 21, 2015 2:42 pm

    Enjoyed your site. I’m always looking for cold climate gardeners that I can relate to. I’m a little ahead of you, my daffs and species tulips are blooming.

    • April 23, 2015 5:17 pm

      Marna, Thanks for visiting. I have some daffodil foliage up, but no sign of flower buds yet. It’s not unusual here to have daffodils blooming in May.

Leave a Reply

