Skip to content

New Growth!

April 1, 2015

It’s no joke! I have new growth showing in my garden. Although there are still some large snow piles in parts of the garden, like the north-facing deck border. Other parts, like the south-facing blue and yellow border just across the walkway, have considerable bare ground showing.

big snow pile deck snow melting b&y

And where bare ground is showing, I am beginning to see signs of the new spring growth.

Most dramatic is this vigorous new growth on Linum perenne (flax). new growth linum
new growth daffodils But I’m particularly thrilled to see the nubs of daffodils beginning to break the soil.
Geranium x cantabrigiense is green and ready to grow as soon as the snow disappears. geranium green growth
hellebore leaves In the serenity garden, the leaves of hellebores have begun to appear.
Enough snow has melted away from the fence for me to get out and prune the clematis. snow melting fence

It’s no joke! I’m beginning to have confidence that spring really will get here this year.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2015 3:48 am

    It is like another planet to me… 🙂

    • April 4, 2015 5:47 pm

      Or, at least, a very different part of this planet 🙂

  2. Janelle Wintersteen permalink
    April 2, 2015 9:44 am

    Its unreal to see these pictures. here in southern Idaho, we had such a warm winter that my weeeding service was getting call in January and I worked all that month. Usually there is no weeding until March because the ground is frozen. Lilacs usually bloom the third week in April and this year they are blooming now. Forsythia and lilacs together is rare here, but that is what is happening now.

    • April 4, 2015 5:50 pm

      Wow, even in Maine, where spring arrives late and all of a sudden, it would be very unusual to see forsythia and lilacs blooming together. A pretty combination of colors, though. 🙂

  3. April 2, 2015 1:55 pm

    Early, late or missing entirely – it’s all relative when it comes to discussions of the arrival of spring, isn’t it? Still, if I’d had the winter you’ve had, I know I’d be jumping for joy at seeing those daffodils breaking through the soil. I hope your dream of an early spring is realized, Jean!

    • April 4, 2015 5:53 pm

      Kris, I was jumping for joy when I saw those daffodils, and more have appeared since. Today I was visiting my next door neighbor, who has daffodils planted in a warm, protected spot along the foundation of her house. Those daffodils are up out of the ground and full of buds and looking like they’ll burst into bloom the next warm day.
      I think it’s too late for an early spring, but I’ll settle happily for a not-too-late spring.

  4. April 2, 2015 10:51 pm

    It’s finally feeling like spring around here. Enjoy the thaw!

    • April 4, 2015 5:55 pm

      Jason, It got well up into the sixties here yesterday, and the air had that wonderful spring smell. Today, though, there were snow flakes blowing around in the air — the tease that is April.

  5. April 3, 2015 8:37 am

    It’s no wonder the Italians call Spring “First Green” (La Primavera) eh? Thanks for your post. My garden is roughly in the same state, though methinks yours is a bit advanced.

    • April 4, 2015 6:01 pm

      Cynthia, What a lovely comment on the Italian name for spring — I am definitely rejoicing in first green here. Every day, a bit more of my garden appears from beneath the snow, and I have resumed my daily walks around the garden to see what is happening. It is the long wait that is winter that makes spring so exhilarating.

  6. April 3, 2015 12:31 pm

    Jean, the photo of those daffodils poking through the soil gives me such a good feeling. If you are seeing them now, I should be seeing them soon.

    • April 4, 2015 6:02 pm

      Pat, I can’t begin to tell you what a lift seeing them gave me. I hope yours show their little noses soon.

  7. April 4, 2015 8:46 am

    About time, right? Glad to see things emerging healthy and ready to go, it’s going to be a great season 🙂

    • April 4, 2015 6:03 pm

      Bittster, There’s a popular t-shirt sold in Maine that says, “If you can’t stand the winter, you don’t deserve the summer.” A hard winter like this one makes the spring and summer seasons all the sweeter.

  8. April 4, 2015 3:46 pm

    We have hellebores, snowdrops, early squill, snow crocus, etc., and I am not complaining but these are all winter blooming plants. Spring will be along shortly I assume.

    • April 4, 2015 6:04 pm

      Ah, in my garden, these are all spring flowers, and I would be delighted to see their flowers blooming by the end of April.

  9. debsgarden permalink
    April 6, 2015 7:25 pm

    As my own spring will surely give way to summer within a month or so, it will be nice to experience spring again through you! I love the excitement of new daffodils and fresh new foliage.

    • April 8, 2015 2:57 pm

      Deb, During my years teaching in southern Pennsylvania, I enjoyed getting to experience spring twice — once in March-April on the Mason-Dixon line and then again in May when I got to Maine. Our Maine spring is a sped-up version of what occurs further south — sort of like watching time-lapse photography! 🙂

  10. April 6, 2015 7:34 pm

    YAH!! If spring has come to your garden it can’t be too far away from mine. Isn’t it amazing how just the tiniest bit of green is enough to get us excited for the coming season.

    • April 8, 2015 2:59 pm

      Marguerite, Really! Spring is coming soon to a garden near you! It is so true, especially after a harsh winter like this, that we can get excited about any little hint of spring. And those hints are bound to get brighter and louder in the weeks to come. Let the garden season begin!

  11. April 8, 2015 5:58 pm

    It is wonderful to see new growth in your garden Jean. Almost all the snow is gone and I am getting some blooms and lots of bulb growth. Now once the warmth comes, I will see faster growth. With the thaw we have big puddles and lots of rain. No gardening for a while.

    • April 10, 2015 4:24 pm

      Donna, It’s nice to hear that things are happening in your garden. I’m hoping to see blooms by next week.

  12. April 10, 2015 5:33 am

    Such patience ;~) All that snow seems like an April Fool joke.
    Hopefully the week in between has been kind to you and your garden.

    • April 10, 2015 4:25 pm

      LOL, Diana, what has happened this week is more snow — but spring snow is a fleeting event that melts quickly. Nevertheless, gardening in a cold climate does require patience.

  13. April 15, 2015 10:18 am

    Congratulations! I was where you are about one month ago, and it was surely a relief. Does spring usually come this late in the year where you are?

Leave a Reply

