Skip to content

McLaughlin Garden Talk Follow-Up

March 19, 2015

Yesterday I gave a presentation on garden blogs at the McLaughlin Garden in South Paris, Maine. Several people asked for a list of the blogs I referenced during that talk. If you click on the image below, you can download a pdf version of my PowerPoint presentation for the talk. You can then click on any slide in the presentation for a link to the corresponding blog.

image

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2015 11:59 pm

    I’m honored that you touched upon my blog among those you covered in your talk, Jean. It looks like a very interesting presentation – I would have loved to have been present. You’re certainly finding ways to stay active in your retirement (despite this difficult winter). Best wishes!

    • March 21, 2015 10:51 pm

      Kris, I used your blog as an example of how I learn different things from different members of my “virtual garden club.” In your case, I’m hoping your wonderful explanations of your flower arrangements will help me improve my own flower arranging skills.

  2. March 20, 2015 2:40 am

    Wow that is quite an exhaustive list of many great blogs Jean….thanks for including mine and the SC meme. I agree with Kris…would have loved to have heard your presentation.

    • March 21, 2015 10:55 pm

      Donna, I was supposed to do this talk last year, but we got snowed out — which was probably just as well because I had more time to prepare this year and was able to do a better job. The flow of the talk was to begin with the broad variety of garden blogs, move on to the sense of community among garden bloggers, give some examples about how I learn from other garden bloggers, and end with the idea of memes as the “meetings” of these virtual garden clubs. I was happy to include seasonal celebrations among the memes, and people were really wowed by your cardinal photo — which gave me an opportunity to use you as an example of photographic talent among garden bloggers.

  3. March 21, 2015 5:57 pm

    thanks for including two South Africans on your list.
    And two that have gone quiet – Faire Garden and Green Theatre. Blogs I remember enjoying.

    • March 21, 2015 10:58 pm

      Diana, I used your blog and Jack’s as examples of bloggers whom I would never have come into contact with were it not for the community of garden bloggers and with whom I feel a strong personal connection.
      Frances has posted recently, another blogger who has moved recently and is about to begin a new garden. I don’t know what has happened to Deborah. She and Ian should have returned from Barbados by now, and I was hoping that she would be back at Kilbourne Grove and posting about her garden there.

  4. March 23, 2015 9:35 am

    Jean, I was reading your slides and agreeing on the blogs you mentioned, and suddenly I found myself/blog in your presentation!!! I am so honored to be included in your references. Thank you very much! This gives me more motivation to continue developing a blog that is worth of its readers.

    • March 24, 2015 10:21 pm

      Lula, I used your blog as an example of a fine blog that features beautiful images. Since I especially love those impressionistic macro shots you do, the pink hyacinth post was a perfect example.

Leave a Reply

