Skip to content

Thankful for a New Home

November 26, 2014

new plant windowThis past week, I came home one evening to find that my contractor had finished doing trim work in my newly remodeled living room and had opened up this room for my use. Yesterday, with new furniture delivered and in place, it was time to move my flowering houseplants to their new, sunny window-ledge home.

The cyclamen, in particular, will be thankful to get more sun; their new buds will be able to open without having to stretch long stems toward the light. Soon, some of the amaryllis (Hippeastrum) bulbs may also produce new flower buds. I hope that my flowering houseplants will have long, happy lives in their new home.

cyclamen - new plant window

37 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2014 12:18 am

    Congratulations Jean! It’s got to be wonderful for you to have your home back too! Enjoy it and best wishes for a happy Thanksgiving!

  2. November 27, 2014 3:01 am

    And may Jean too have a long and happy sunshine-filled life in her new home! 🙂

    • November 30, 2014 9:55 pm

      Kris and Jack, I still don’t have use of my new addition; but, after several months of living in only a fraction of my original house, it’s great to have the use of all of it. And since the living room is getting a complete makeover as part of this construction, it feels like a new room.

  3. November 27, 2014 8:43 am

    I can only imagine how thankful you are for your new home. Now you get really get on with that next chapter. It looks beautiful.

    • November 30, 2014 9:57 pm

      Judy, My new rooms still aren’t completed, but I think I’ve moved from counting months to completion to counting weeks. I can even imagine a transition soon to a count-down of days. Since there is still outside work to be completed, our recent big snowfall (about 14″ at my house) has definitely complicated things.

  4. Nell Jean permalink
    November 27, 2014 8:49 am

    Happy Thanksgiving. What a beautiful spot for plants to spend the winter with sunshine. I see room at right angles to the window for a set of shelves — see how the sun shines on the wall?

    • November 30, 2014 9:59 pm

      Nell Jean, The window faces southwest, so that wall gets sunshine in the late afternoon. It will have a whole wall unit of cabinets and book shelves. (These will be delivered in a couple of weeks.) I hadn’t thought about putting any plants on those shelves, but it could be a possibility. I’m also hoping to add a set of glass shelves for plants near the big window wall in my new bedroom.

  5. November 27, 2014 9:38 am

    Congratulations! The floor looks great and I love the chair (in addition to the plant filled windowsill!) Nice to see things settling down finally.

    • November 30, 2014 10:02 pm

      Bittster, Having this room (almost) completed did give me hope that the whole job will be finished soon and I will be able to finally get all that stuff stored in the basement unpacked.

  6. November 27, 2014 7:00 pm

    A very beautiful room that you’ll enjoy even more during the long winter months. Nice light, warm color! Your plants will be quite happy.

    • November 30, 2014 10:05 pm

      Marielle, Every time I paint a room, I seem to end up with some variation on yellow. It’s just a color that makes me happy 🙂 ! I have some more pieces of furniture to add to this room and some pictures to hang on the walls. I expect my plants and I will all be happy with the results.

  7. November 29, 2014 9:43 am

    I hope that both you and your cyclamens enjoy your new living room which looks a most calm and relaxing place to be 🙂

    • November 30, 2014 10:06 pm

      Anna, I hadn’t thought it through that consciously, but the atmosphere I am going for here is definitely a combination of upbeat and mellow. I haven’t started to use the room a lot yet, but I do think it will be a wonderful place to relax (both alone and with friends).

  8. November 29, 2014 12:41 pm

    congratulations Jean! You must be very excited to have your space back. It looks really lovely and I like the big wide window space for plants.

  9. November 30, 2014 1:40 am

    Welcome “back” to the new space. It looks wonderful and I hope you enjoy it. So…did you purposefully design the wide, plant-friendly windowsills? For a colder climate it seems almost essential.

    • November 30, 2014 10:09 pm

      Marguerite and James, The window was designed specifically as a place for plants. It is replacing a bow window that was bigger (8′ wide compared with 6′ wide) but which didn’t have as deep a window ledge. My contractor had the very clever idea of building the window ledge of a waterproof material (which ended up being melamine) rather than of wood so that the inevitable water spills around the plants wouldn’t be an issue.

  10. November 30, 2014 9:53 am

    Very exciting that you finally have your living room back, it looks very nice.

    • November 30, 2014 10:10 pm

      Carolyn, It is exciting. It will be even more exciting when I’ve moved into my new addition.

  11. debsgarden permalink
    November 30, 2014 10:46 pm

    Jean, I love your deep window ledge! Your plants should be very happy there, and I also love the color of your walls! Your room looks like a cheerful place to spend a long snowy winter.

    • December 2, 2014 3:53 pm

      Deb, The walls are painted a color called “fennel seed.” What gardener (especially one who is also a bit of a foodie) could possibly resist a plant-referenced name like that? The window ledge was so central to my ideas for the space that at one point, my architect rolled his eyes and said, “I know. I know. It’s all about the plants.” 😉

  12. December 1, 2014 9:36 am

    Jean, What a beautiful addition from which to watch your garden grow and the snow fall quietly in winter. And, the cyclamen will appreciate it, too. Enjoy!

    Kathy

  13. December 1, 2014 10:13 am

    Congrats! It looks great! Best wishes!

    • December 2, 2014 3:54 pm

      Kathy and Freancesca, Thanks. I’m looking forward to settling into my new space and enjoying all the seasons to come.

  14. December 3, 2014 7:19 pm

    Congratulations! Enjoy your new and improved home in Maine! Have you started to miss Pennsylvania?

    • December 6, 2014 10:24 pm

      Jason, If I were going to miss Pennsylvania, it would be in November and/or April. November has already morphed into December without my ever pining for a more salubrious November climate. In April, I’ll probably travel to Pennsylvania to get an early taste of spring.

  15. December 6, 2014 6:23 pm

    Your room is beautiful and that windowsill is marvelous! I’m looking forward to a new house (as soon as I can find one) and I hope it will have a good spot for houseplants/

    • December 6, 2014 10:25 pm

      Pat, I didn’t realize you were looking to move. Wow! That’s a big step for you. I hope you find a perfect new house with lots of good spots for plants (both indoors and out).

  16. December 7, 2014 8:29 am

    Hello Jean, that’s a beautifully finished room. I love the warm colour on the wall, it looks so inviting, especially at this time of year when it’s cold and dark outside. I hope your plants are happy and thrive on your new windowsill.

    • December 16, 2014 7:24 pm

      Sunil, I’m still working on furnishing the room. I’ve added a small end table by the arm of the sofa, and a coffee table is on order. I’m currently in the process (some assembly required!) of installing a whole wall of shelves and cabinets for that big blank wall by the window. It’s not as dark here at this time of year as it is in England, but we tend to have colder weather than you do. Either way, a warm inviting space is just the thing.

  17. December 12, 2014 6:48 pm

    Jean, it is wonderful! I hope your plants will enjoy their new environment. Have you thought about having a gravel tray on which to place the plants? The tray would protect your wonderful paint job – it’s just beautiful!

    • December 16, 2014 7:26 pm

      Jayne, When my contractor learned that I intended this deep window ledge as a home for plants, he cleverly suggested making the surface of a water-resistant material (melamine shelving) rather than of painted wood — so I can enjoy my window full of plants without worrying about water spills.

  18. December 14, 2014 4:52 pm

    fennel seed – who could resist? It looks inviting.
    We have our plans drawn up (already!) and submitted for approval.
    First steps of a long journey ;~)

    • December 16, 2014 7:33 pm

      Diana, I am loving the way this color is working in this space. How exciting that you already have your plans ready. How major is the renovation you are planning?

      • December 18, 2014 3:44 pm

        various small changes. We plan to do the bedrooms, then the livingroom. Still have to see whether our plans and our budget meet.

  19. December 15, 2014 8:45 pm

    Yippeee Jean…I am so glad finally you have moved in! I am sure you and the plants will feel at home now….

    • December 16, 2014 7:35 pm

      Alas, Donna, I haven’t moved into the new addition yet, although we are inching in that direction. The big hold-up is getting the plumbing fixtures installed and connected in the new master bath; I don’t want to move into the bedroom until that is done. It has been wonderful, though, to regain use of my living room in its newly remodeled form.

Leave a Reply

