Skip to content

November Blooms, From Outdoors to Indoors: GBBD, November 2014

November 16, 2014

osteospermum in snowThis image, of an osteospermum flower still trying to bloom in a snow-covered container on the deck, tells the story of this November’s weather volatility – 60 degrees (F) one day and snowing the next. I took this photo two days ago. The next morning, the arctic cold arrived here and temperatures dipped down into the teens, putting an end to this year’s outdoor bloom season. While we have been spared the extreme cold and heavy snows that have been visited upon some other parts of the country, our current weather is still more characteristic of December than November.

This is the time of year when my attention shifts from outdoor blooms to those indoors. Although my potted cyclamen are not entirely happy with their temporary home crowded together in front of a small east-facing window, they are happy enough to bloom – just in time for their colorful flowers and perfect pleated buds to provide joy in the dreary month of November.

cyclamen in east window cyclamen bud

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see outdoor and indoor blooms in gardens around the world.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2014 2:50 pm

    Those cyclamen are so warming, Jean, even if they are straining for the light a little. Still not winter here. Have a good week!

    • November 18, 2014 7:23 pm

      Cathy, They are definitely straining for the light, but not complaining too loudly. It’s definitely behaving like winter here, but at least we’re not getting 6′ of snow, like Buffalo! A warm-up is predicted for next week, and that’s also when the new window ledge home for my plants should be completed. 🙂

  2. November 16, 2014 3:43 pm

    We’re teetering on the edge of winter, taking our blossoms wherever we can coax a bloom. Cyclamen are one of my winter favorites.

    • November 18, 2014 7:25 pm

      Nell Jean, This has been quite an arctic blast! We are actually suffering less than places further south and west of us, because Maine is on the eastern fringe of the polar air. Today, we had a little snow shower while the sun was shining — remains of lake effect snows so strong that some of the moisture survived to the eastern side of the New England mountains.

  3. November 16, 2014 4:29 pm

    The same thing is happening in your old haunt PA: Tuesday’s high is 30 with a low of 20, that’s 20 degrees below normal for mid-November. Very similar to the weather pattern last year which has me scared.

    • November 18, 2014 7:29 pm

      Carolyn, We’re about 15 degrees below normal for this time of year. A coating of snow that fell yesterday was still on the ground today, and the Weather Underground forecast for my location shows temperatures staying below freezing tomorrow. My new woodstove is getting a workout. We’ll all be relieved when the cold air retreats north next week and temperatures here get back up to 50.

  4. November 16, 2014 6:14 pm

    Your cyclamen always impress me. They’re so bright and cheerful on even the coldest day, I just hope they get to their new homes quickly!

    • November 18, 2014 7:31 pm

      Bittster, the secret of success with cyclamen is a cool house and sunshine. With the current weather, the cool house part is no problem at all ;-). The target date for moving them to their new sunny window ledge is next Tuesday.

  5. November 16, 2014 6:28 pm

    Same kind of weather here in Atlantic Canada. We had quite a bit of snow yesterday and it was cold -7C. I still had leaves in my lilacs, birches and ninebarks, still had snapdragons blooming nicely. Temperature will go up to 15C this coming Tuesday. Will be a good time to plant some bulbs. Weir weather fluctuation.

    • November 18, 2014 7:36 pm

      Marielle, Welcome to the gardening blogosphere; I just got a chance to go over and look at your blog, and I’m looking forward to going back for a more leisurely read.
      Did you really get the 15C you were expecting today? It stayed about 0C here overnight, but then the temperatures actually dropped during the day as colder air and strong winds blew in. We’re expecting the seriously warmer air next week.

  6. November 16, 2014 6:51 pm

    That Osteospermum is a trouper! I love the Cyclamen too – I’m hoping I’ll be ready to plant my front yard soon enough to put some of my own in. It is projected to reach 80F tomorrow and we have no fear of frost.

    • November 18, 2014 7:39 pm

      Kris, Frost where you are would be a real shocker. I remember my amusement when I lived in southern California that people would put on winter coats when the temperatures got down in the forties. (I also remember that our apartment building had no insulation, and that you had to make sure that the clothes you were planning to wear weren’t hanging at the outside wall end of the closet in winter!) I haven’t tried growing cyclamen outside, although there are some varieties that are cold-hardy here.

  7. November 17, 2014 12:48 pm

    It was 15 degrees here this morning. Ugh.

    • November 18, 2014 7:41 pm

      Jason, We’ve been having similar morning temperatures here. In January, an overnight low of 15 would be downright balmy, but I’m not ready for it yet in November! On Saturday, when I had to leave home in the early morning, I was scrambling to find where my wool hats and mittens were packed away.

  8. debsgarden permalink
    November 17, 2014 7:42 pm

    Your weather sounds like ours down here in Alabama! Except for the snow part. We had lots of rain, which has cleared now that the thermostat is dropping to upper teens tonight. I love your cyclamen. What a cheery windowsill!

    • November 18, 2014 7:47 pm

      Deb, OMG! Overnight temps in the teens in Alabama!! It’s out of the ordinary for it to be that cold in Maine in November, but it’s not record-breaking. Are you breaking low temperature records there? Have you had to cover some plants to protect them? (Ah, I just looked at the cold hardiness map and see that even zone 8 plants can survive low temperatures in the teens.)

  9. November 18, 2014 12:57 am

    A t least you have still some blooms. We only see cyclamen during exhibits grown from the highlands, but they are very few. Only our highlands experience cold temperatures.

    • November 18, 2014 7:49 pm

      Andrea, I usually manage to have blooms year-round, if you count the cyclamen, which bloom for months on end. They are definitely not tropical plants. I suppose that, like me, you could grow them as houseplants — but only if you had an extra-cool room to grow them in (which doesn’t seem worth it, given how many other wonderfully colorful plants you can grow).

  10. November 18, 2014 8:55 pm

    Love the Cyclamens!
    Hope you are having a wonderful day!
    Lea

    • November 19, 2014 9:47 pm

      I’m glad you enjoyed the cyclamen blooms, Lea.

  11. November 21, 2014 4:13 pm

    Jean I have been amazed by this November. Our first hard frost came with our first snow and like that the flowers all stopped. Very late for a first hard freeze and too early for 8-10 inches of snow. But thankfully we escaped the heavy snows this week. I love that you have flowers indoors. I am waiting for a few plants to flower.

    • November 24, 2014 9:34 am

      Donna, It has been strange weather this fall. I’m glad to hear that you escaped the heavy snows — and the flooding that is likely to follow them. Raining heavily here today and supposed to get very warm this afternoon. I’m almost ready to move my flowering plants to their new home.

  12. November 22, 2014 2:51 pm

    Hi Jean, those are lovely cyclamen. We don’t have any but I am lucky enough to still have most orchids flowering that are providing a very exotic contrast to the short days and dark nights of the Autumn/Winter.

    • November 26, 2014 8:00 pm

      Sunil, Having orchids flowering in winter sounds wonderfully luxurious. We are having our first major snow storm of the season here today, which makes me especially appreciative of my flowering cyclamen.

  13. November 23, 2014 5:01 pm

    The cyclamen look wonderful despite the change in location. We have had similar weather here. Snowing hard just a few days back and today it was sunny and warm with no snow to be seen. I even considered working in the garden! I have my fingers crossed for all of us that we have an easier winter this year. I don’t think I can take another bad one of the heels of last winter.

    • November 26, 2014 8:05 pm

      Marguerite, I’m guessing the Nor’easter that we are currently having is headed your way. It was almost 60F here yesterday; today, a foot of snow!

Leave a Reply

