Skip to content

Big Changes

October 3, 2014

Throughout the summer and fall, the much-anticipated addition to my house has been proceeding – albeit slowly. This addition will provide the opportunity to create a whole new front garden, which I will begin working on next spring. Meanwhile, in response to popular demand, the following slide show provides a time-lapse few of the project.

 

27 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2014 2:12 am

    I love the video of your addition! It sure is going to change your floor space and function of the house. That’s the same siding I have on my house, too.

    • October 7, 2014 10:01 pm

      Jean, I have never loved the mint chocolate chip theme of my house, so I’m happy to lose the chocolate shutters and to replace the mint green with that soft, warm gray. I can’t afford to replace the siding on the other three sides of the house, so the plan is to paint the old siding to match the new.

  2. October 4, 2014 7:00 am

    I know you’ve waited a long time, but it certainly looks wonderful and like a very comfortable place to start your new retirement. Nice big window for winter months and beautiful porch for warmer seasons. 🙂

    • October 7, 2014 10:04 pm

      Judy, The porch will be screened, which, as you know, is important for enjoying it in northern New England summers. I’m hoping to be able to put up some plastic panels over the screens in the cold months to keep the porch warmer and snow free and to be able to extend the number of months that it is usable space. I am very much looking forward to the light and warmth from those big southwest-facing windows this winter.

  3. October 4, 2014 8:34 am

    Wow! What a difference the addition makes in the look and feel of your house. I’m sure you’ll enjoy having it this winter when the wind blows and you can cozy up while planning your new front garden. I’m looking forward to seeing your plan in action next spring!

    • October 7, 2014 10:07 pm

      Kathy, I like the new look of the outside of the house so much better! I was worried that such a big addition might make the little ranch look off kilter and out of proportion, but I think the architect did a wonderful job. I’m hoping that all the hardscape will get done before the snow flies so that I can have a better sense of the sizes of garden spaces to begin designing over the winter (such a wonderful way to dream away winter days 🙂 ).

  4. October 4, 2014 9:42 am

    Fantastic! this looks wonderful. It will be intereting to see a new garden grow, but I’d love a peek at that new interior space.

    • October 7, 2014 10:08 pm

      Pat, At this point, the interior is just a bunch of open studs with some electrical wires running through them. But, prompted by your comment, I’ve begun to take a series of progress photos of the interior that I can share when it is done (or close to done).

  5. October 4, 2014 3:26 pm

    And here I thought I had a big pile of dirt in my front yard! How exciting, Jean! You’ve made lots of progress. Although I’m sure the chaos of the remodel seems trying at times, I’m sure you’re going to love the change once the remodel is complete. Like childbirth, the pain of the process will be forgotten. I look forward to seeing the changes to the front garden too.

    • October 7, 2014 10:10 pm

      Kris, the sand mountain was very impressive — so big that I lost television reception! The chaos is trying — especially because it has all taken so much longer than expected — but I know it will be worth it.

  6. October 4, 2014 6:20 pm

    is it time yet, to heave a sigh of relief, and settle in to your new home?

    • October 7, 2014 10:12 pm

      Diana, I wish! The interior is still unfinished, and one of the rooms of the original house is also closed off to my use. I think another 6-8 weeks before I actually get to settle in (and unpack all those boxes of stuff that I moved from Gettysburg that are piled up in the basement).

  7. October 4, 2014 9:37 pm

    Looks great, what a transition! that’s a lot of sandy soil for Maine, how did you manage to avoid a huge granite ledge!?

    • October 7, 2014 10:16 pm

      Bittster, My neighborhood sits on a big glacial sand deposit. I understand there is some ledge in the woods to the east of my house, but there weren’t even any stones on this construction site — just sand all the way down in the excavation. If they hadn’t built houses up here, it probably could have been a big sand and gravel pit providing winter sand to public works departments all over the northeast!

  8. October 5, 2014 3:38 pm

    That’s wonderful! Is the addition ready to be lived in yet? Very exciting.

    • October 7, 2014 10:18 pm

      Emily, Alas, still many weeks away from being ready to be lived in. Right now, I’m living in 2 1/2 rooms, about 2/3 of the original house. As the days get shorter and colder, I’m very aware of not having access to the light and warmth from the southwest facing windows at the front of the house.

  9. October 5, 2014 8:36 pm

    What a wonderful new addition – and complete with a fantastic porch, too! I’m looking forward to seeing the finishing touches…and then the fun as you develop your new entry garden!

    • October 7, 2014 10:19 pm

      Cynthia, I’m looking forward to seeing the finishing touches, too! I just ordered the cabinets for the bathroom and am at the point of choosing tile and light fixtures and paint colors — all of which helps me to visualize the finished space.

  10. October 5, 2014 9:50 pm

    Jean, this is wonderful! I loved seeing the progressive slides. Nothing gets my creative juices flowing faster than earth moving equipment! It looks like you will have opportunity for designing both inside and out. Best wishes, and I am truly looking forward to seeing the development of your new front garden.

    • October 7, 2014 10:21 pm

      Deb, I’m glad you enjoyed the slides. It’s been fun to go out and take pictures each day to record the changes. I had hoped to begin garden design and preparing some flower beds this fall, but the ground will be frozen by the time the construction is done — so I get to dream about it over the winter and begin work on the new front garden in spring.

  11. October 6, 2014 2:16 pm

    Wow, Jean! Big changes indeed. I hope you enjoy your new square footage and the new gardening spaces that surround it.

    • October 7, 2014 10:22 pm

      Chad, Since I’ve been living in about 600 sq. feet for more than a month now, the new square footage is going to seem especially wonderful.

  12. October 7, 2014 10:26 am

    Oh wow Jean…I loved seeing it grow and now come to fruition….is it done inside as well? You have a project still to move in and settle this winter….I look forward to more updates.

    • October 7, 2014 10:25 pm

      Donna, I’m still many weeks (months?) away from being able to move in and get settled. One decision I’ll have to make is how much painting of the existing interior space to do this fall. I will definitely do the living room, which is currently closed off from the rest of the house and heavily involved in construction. I may wait until spring to paint my now-bedroom-about-to-become-study and the room that is transitioning from study to guest room and sewing room; I’d really rather paint when it is warm enough to crack a window open.

  13. October 8, 2014 12:14 pm

    Hi Jean, that’s amazing! I never knew you were having so much disruptive work done to your house. I hope it will be all finished and settled soon. I’m really looking forward to seeing the beautiful garden that you will no doubt grow around the extension and deck in the coming years.

    • October 8, 2014 7:42 pm

      Sunil, Disruptive is definitely the right description! I can never be sure from one day to the next who will show up, what they will be doing, and what kind of noise they will be making. Since I no longer have access to windows looking out to the front of the house (that part of the house is blocked off from the part I’m living in), sometimes I don’t realize someone is working until I’m startled by the compressor motor starting. Really, it will all be wonderful when it is done, but I do occasionally find myself wondering if that day will ever come.

  14. October 10, 2014 8:53 pm

    Having been there I can really appreciate the big changes. It looks so beautiful, but I would like to see it finished, as would you. Can’t wait to,find out what you do with the inside too.,

Leave a Reply

