Skip to content

Spring Has Sprung! GBBD, April 2014

April 16, 2014

forsythia & daffodils2After months of below average temperatures and a winter that sometimes seemed like it would never end, spring has sprung in my Gettysburg, Pennsylvania garden. Temperatures shot up into the 70s at the end of last week and stayed there for four days, and suddenly flowers and trees popped into bloom. Spring in southern Pennsylvania usually unfolds slowly and sweetly, but this feels more like spring in Maine, where you wait and wait and wait and then – Wow!

Forsythia and daffodils are now fully in bloom.

daffodil portrait tete-a-tete 2014
And hyacinths are beginning to open. hyacinths opening
pulmonaria buds In the front flower bed, the Pulmonaria (lungwort) flowers are just about to bloom. (And, in fact, were blooming a few hours after I took this photo.)
In the back flower bed, Viburnum x burkwoodii has flower buds that are close to blooming and new leaves. viburnum with leaves

All around my neighborhood, pink magnolia trees have also burst into bloom.

neighborhood pink magnolia

After days of warm temperatures and open windows, a powerful cold front swept through here last night, and temperatures plummeted down into the 20s. When I left for work this morning, the daffodil flowers were hanging limply and I feared that frosted magnolia flowers would turn to brown mush.

But the magnolia blooms survived the low temperatures, and by the time I returned home this evening, the daffodils had perked back up. On my walk home, I also saw cherry, pear, and apple trees blooming and even some eastern redbuds (Cercis canadensis) beginning to bloom. Spring is here!

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what is blooming this month in gardens around the world.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. bushbernie permalink
    April 16, 2014 11:13 pm

    It’s lovely to see that Spring has arrived with a fanfare. The Forsythia and Daffodils look great together and that Magnolia tree looks gorgeous covered in blooms. Of course, none of these blooms are common around here, so it’s always a pleasure to pop by and see them around your place.

    • April 27, 2014 7:42 pm

      Bernie, It’s always fun to see what grows in other parts of the world. I’m happy you could enjoy these flowers that are commonplace for me but exotic for you.

  2. April 17, 2014 5:31 am

    I’m surprised you had good luck with the magnolias…yea! Hope the cold doesn’t set you back too much. We went to 34 last night and are sitting on 38 right now (5:30 am). Things are looking up from here, though, so we should be okay. Fingers crossed this is our last really cold spell.

    • April 27, 2014 7:45 pm

      Marian, Southern Pennsylvania seems to be a near-perfect environment for magnolias. The pink ones, especially, grow all around Gettysburg and are exceptionally beautiful in spring. The one pictured here is not mine; it is a “borrowed” view from a house across the road. Alas, two days after I wrote this, we had heavy frost and all the open magnolia blossoms turned to brown mush (although buds were not affected and continued to open into beautiful pink blooms).

  3. April 17, 2014 8:34 am

    Our Spring seems to unfold slowly and sweetly as well, with a lot of back and forth with Winter. You live in a magical place… Happy Spring!

    • April 27, 2014 7:45 pm

      Carolyn, There are two months of the year when I would rather be in Gettysburg than in Maine, and one of those months is April. Spring here truly is magical.

  4. April 17, 2014 9:25 am

    Spring arrived with a bang here, too. I never realized how early pulmonaria bloom. It was quite a surprise to see mine blooming with the daffodils. Your magnolia is beautiful!

    • April 27, 2014 7:47 pm

      Tammy, I always forget how early the pulmonaria bloom, too — which makes it such a nice treat to look out one day and find their pink and blue flowers. I can’t take credit for the magnolia, which is on a neighbor’s property; but I can enjoy it! 🙂

  5. April 17, 2014 5:50 pm

    That blast of yellow is beautiful! More so, I bet, after months of cold white views. A belated happy GBBD, Jean!

    • April 27, 2014 7:48 pm

      Kris, I agree about the yellow. After a long winter, all that sunny color is a feast for the eyes.

  6. April 18, 2014 10:06 am

    Oh, so beautiful Jean! This is how I picture Spring – the green grass, the bright yellow blooms of Forsythia and the pink bursts of Redbud. I remember when we rented in Maine (before we bought our house), there was a beautiful Magnolia on the property and I was so surprised that something like that could live through those Maine winters! There is a very tall, old Magnolia tree here in the village of Clayton NY that I must walk by soon. I am anticipating the Serviceberry blooms. Everything here is more of a “mush” this year but I think the grass is greening up slowly. I’m glad everything sprung back to life after the cold spell.

    • April 27, 2014 7:50 pm

      Kathy, I’m in Maine for a few days, and it was a bit of a shock to find patches of icy snow by the side of the driveway, a forsythia that has not yet begun to bloom, and a few crocus flowers just beginning to open — all about a month behind my Gettysburg spring.

  7. April 18, 2014 11:43 am

    It looks so nice to see all that green coming back, even the lawns are putting on a show.
    I love magnolias. People often complain about the brown mush from a freeze, but I think the glorious, early blooms of the good year more than makes up for it!
    Happy spring

    • April 27, 2014 7:56 pm

      Bittster, I agree with you about the magnolias. Even if they sometimes do get hit with mush-making frost, they are so beautiful that it is worth the risk. I can remember a few years when we’ve had a light spring snow after the magnolias had bloomed, and the sight of those blossoms dusted in white was breathtaking.
      Since I posted this, the grass has been coming back with a vengeance — time to get out the lawn mower and get to work!

  8. April 20, 2014 10:54 pm

    Jean your spring is just beautiful…we are a bit behind you.

    • April 27, 2014 7:58 pm

      Donna, I will miss the special sweetness of spring in Gettysburg. I’m now in Maine for a few days, where the season is at least a month behind Gettysburg. It looks as though I will be able to enjoy spring here when I move up permanently next month.

  9. April 21, 2014 3:05 pm

    Hi Jean, the magnolia looks stunning. There were several open around where we now live, all looking incredible until they were hit by a couple of frosty nights. I’m planning to have at least one in the new garden. Glad to see you enjoying spring now that it has finally arrived for you.

    • April 27, 2014 8:01 pm

      Sunil, Gettysburg has an amazing array of flowering trees at this time of year, including magnolia, various fruit trees, eastern redbud, and flowering dogwood. They are just beautiful. This one did get hit by one of those frosty nights shortly after I posted this. (It was interesting to me that they were not affected by very cold temperatures without frost.)

  10. April 28, 2014 6:12 pm

    Daffodils and forsythia make for a cheerful spring combination that can’t be beat! Happy spring! Spring was late here as well, but I think we are almost a season ahead of you. We are now rapidly approaching summer. I wish spring would stay longer! We have had several freezing cold nights since spring arrived, but most of the plants just kept on going. My pink magnolia got zapped once but immediately started putting out new blooms. I love the resiliency of nature!

Leave a Reply

