Skip to content

April Flowers!

April 7, 2014

Gburg crocuses1Spring finally arrived in my Gettysburg, Pennsylvania garden a few days ago when the crocuses bloomed. I was beginning to doubt it would ever happen, so it was good to have my faith renewed.

I had hoped to be able to have forsythia flowers to show today, too; but not yet. They are so close! I think they will pop into bloom on the next reasonably warm, sunny day (maybe tomorrow).

Gburg forsythia buds Gburg daffodlil buds

Among the other flowers not quite happening yet are daffodils. Although I pass many blooming daffodils on my walk to work, mine  are just now beginning to show lots of visible flower buds.

Thank goodness for spring bulbs. They are an especially welcome sight after this long winter.

Gburg crocuses2

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2014 10:42 pm

    Our crocuses are long gone and the daffs are just starting to go over. It’s fun to think about spring slowly spreading north and creating such happiness in its wake.

    • April 13, 2014 10:46 pm

      Marian, When I travel to Maine in late May, it always feels as though I’m traveling back through spring — getting to visit that happiness all over again.

  2. April 7, 2014 11:43 pm

    Oh Jean, I love, love, love your clumps of crocuses. So lovely. Enjoy!

    • April 13, 2014 10:47 pm

      Diane, I loved them too — at least until the rabbits ate them 😐 . Daffodils started opening today. Any signs of spring yet in your garden?

  3. April 8, 2014 3:42 am

    I am glad Spring has finally arrived and at last you will be able to enjoy your Spring flowers. It certainly has been a long hard winter for you all over there.

    • April 13, 2014 10:48 pm

      Chloris, It has been a long winter here — but having to wait for spring can make it all the sweeter when it finally arrives.

  4. April 8, 2014 10:20 am

    Jean, I’m so happy to see you have flowers after such a long, hard winter! You also take such great photos. I always enjoy seeing what’s happening in your two gardens.

    • April 13, 2014 10:50 pm

      Kathy, I’m pleased that you like the photos. I’m glad I captured those crocuses when I did, because a few days later I got home from work to find that the rabbits had bitten off all the blossoms!

  5. April 8, 2014 4:19 pm

    Yay Jean! I spotted my first few crocus blooms yesterday while sloshing around the garden in almost 50 degree weather! Today is a little dreadful – grey and raining, raining, raining – but hey, it’s NOT s***!

    • April 13, 2014 10:54 pm

      Kathy, I hope your crocus blooms have survived the depredations of the rabbits a bit longer than mine did. We’ve had three beautiful, sunny 70 degree days in a row, and I can almost see plants visibly growing. Much colder weather, along with the grey and rain (and maybe even a little of the s***) is supposed to get here in a couple of days. I think by next weekend, though, it should be safe to put away my snow shovel and take out the lawnmower!

  6. April 8, 2014 8:42 pm

    Spring delayed clearly isn’t spring denied! Your crocus may be late but at least they’ve formed a nice, healthy clump. At best, I can get only 1 here and 1 there to return. These and my daffodils are already long gone as soaring temperatures have apparently convinced my garden that summer has arrived.

    • April 13, 2014 10:55 pm

      Kris, My daffodils burst into bloom today when it got up to 80F. I’m actually glad that the weather is supposed to cool back down again this week, because that means the blooms will last longer.

  7. CathyT permalink
    April 9, 2014 1:59 am

    Nice to see your crocuses, Jean, because I’m already missing mine – and mowing around mine! Our spring has been hot and dry – it’s like ‘fast forward’. Enjoy the sunshine

    • April 16, 2014 10:56 pm

      Cathy, Our spring has sped up, too. My crocuses are now long gone (with some help from the local rabbits), but other spring blooms have taken their place.

  8. April 9, 2014 2:57 am

    These are beautiful crocus full of color! I am happy that spring has arrived to your garden.

    • April 16, 2014 10:57 pm

      Lula, The crocuses always make me so happy; they are the first sign that spring has really arrived.

  9. April 10, 2014 11:57 am

    Yay for crocus! I love these little guys more each spring. Enjoy.

    • April 16, 2014 10:58 pm

      VW, I agree. Just when you feel like you can’t stand waiting any longer for spring, the crocuses pop up and bloom in those vibrant colors that are a sight for color-starved eyes.

  10. April 12, 2014 7:48 am

    It seems the usual timing is off for Spring bulbs! I have snowdrops blooming along with hellebores which is normal, but today the first of the daffodils began! ANd the forsythia are still not out, nor is the magnolia! But after a bunch of beautiful crocus like yours, who cares about the timing! Let’s just enjoy the show!

    • April 16, 2014 10:59 pm

      Jayne, I agree. In Gettysburg, we have things in flower now that don’t usually bloom together — but who cares! It’s all beautiful.

  11. April 16, 2014 8:45 am

    Hi Jean, Spring is very late for you but at least it’s finally arrived, I know the feeling from last year, where winter hung around like a guest who has long outstayed their welcome. You’ll be getting all the spring flowering plants in one massive, concentrated show, it should be amazing.

    • April 16, 2014 11:00 pm

      Sunil, That is exactly what has happened — a long wait and then, boom!, everything is blooming at once.

  12. April 20, 2014 10:55 pm

    Those purple blooms put a big smile on my face!

Leave a Reply

