Skip to content

Endings and Beginnings: GBBD, November 2013

November 16, 2013

shriveled morning glory

morning glory budsSince I last reported on what is happening in my Gettysburg, Pennsylvania garden, we have had many nights with temperatures in the 20s (F), and the garden season has ended. On the patio fence, the morning glory (Ipomoea tricolor) vines are brown and shriveled, with buds that never got to open hanging limply.

back flower bed November

nandina berriesIn the back flower bed, the hostas have gone into dormancy, and the foliage of Viburnum x burkwoodii has turned to gold. The one bright spot of color in the garden is in the front flower bed, where the Nandina domestica that my landlord planted by the front door last year is now sporting clusters of red-orange berries.
cyclamen & cactus Even as the outdoor garden goes to sleep, however, indoor blooms are waking up. All of my Cyclamen plants are making new blooms, and the first flower on my holiday cactus (Schlumbergera) opened just in time for bloom day.

cyclamen

holiday cactusGarden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what’s in bloom this month in indoor and outdoor gardens around the world.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2013 10:29 pm

    I’m glad you have some indoor blooms to tide you over until spring!

    • November 29, 2013 8:04 pm

      Kris, I find indoor blooms are such a big source of pleasure when the world is cold and white outside. I’ve just started to wake up amaryllis bulbs and hope to have those flowers to wow me later in the winter.

  2. November 17, 2013 2:50 am

    What a thoughtful landlord! The Nandina certainly looks terrific. Your Cyclamen are beautiful too, and I love the soft pink of your Schlumbergera bloom.

    • November 29, 2013 8:06 pm

      Bernie, The Schlumbergera actually has two different color flowers on it — the soft salmony pink ones that you see here and some very pale violet ones (but none are the white that the tag promises). My landlord is very thoughtful, and I am enjoying the cheerfulness of the Nandina berries.

  3. November 17, 2013 12:28 pm

    How great it is to see those cyclamen blooming again! Just beautiful.

    • November 29, 2013 8:09 pm

      Kathy, I know that some people have trouble with cyclamen (maybe because they think they’re dead and throw them out the first time they go into dormancy; this is one of those places where being a procrastinator pays off ;-)), but I’ve always had an easy time with them. The truth is that these plants bloom much of the year, but I only give them the appreciation they deserve in winter.

  4. November 17, 2013 3:45 pm

    Hi Jean, lovely to see your indoor plants taking over when the garden is put to bed for the winter. Over here in London we haven’t had any frost yet so my garden is still full of autumn flowers but things have slowed down a bit. Happy GBBD!

    • November 29, 2013 8:10 pm

      Helene, We’ve been having unseasonably cold weather in the US northeast, so it is very definitely winter here. I have some green foliage here and there in the garden, but the only flowers are indoors.

  5. November 17, 2013 7:45 pm

    Sad to see those glories gone but so many blooms inside so you can have blooms year round!!

    • November 29, 2013 8:11 pm

      Donna, Our first frost was so late this year that I got lots of extra enjoyment out of those morning glories. I do need to get the dead vines taken down from the fence, though.

  6. November 17, 2013 9:11 pm

    Hi Jean, i always feel sad when i see posts from temperate climates showing photos like yours. The plants are still at the height of their beauty when suddenly they will succumb to frost or snow! I am glad i am not in your climate, but of course there is much more dangerous natural calamity here in the tropics, as what just happened in our country.

    • November 29, 2013 8:13 pm

      Andrea, Those of us who grew up in this climate tend to love the cycle of the seasons. The fact that the plants die back in late autumn and are buried under snow in winter makes spring all the sweeter.

  7. November 23, 2013 5:03 pm

    I love the Nandina domestica, I don’t know why more people don’t grow it. It’s such an elegant shrub all year round and as your photo shows it’s stunning in Autumn.
    Chloris

    • November 29, 2013 8:19 pm

      Chloris, The Nandina is very pretty, but it is unfortunately invasive in many parts of the United States. It tends to get into the forest understory and out-complete native plants that used to grow there. It is mostly a problem in more southern areas. Still, I wouldn’t have chosen it for this location, because this garden is only about 1/4 mile from wooded areas of the Gettysburg National Historic Park.

  8. November 23, 2013 5:46 pm

    Lots of pretty indoor color, Jean! My “Christmas” cactus has turned into a Veteran’s Day cactus – it was in full bloom for the holiday, after spending the summer outside. I love the delicious color of yours. I do need to get a nandina – the berries on yours look wonderful! Do you keep your cyclamens from year to year, or start fresh each fall?

    • November 29, 2013 8:24 pm

      Ginny, This “Christmas” cactus has shown itself to be a Thanksgiving cactus. (I used to have one that seemed to be a Halloween cactus.) Do some research before you invest in the Nandina; it’s beginning to show up as an invasive in some areas near us, including Frederick County, MD.
      My cyclamen plants are all many years old. The pink one growing on the windowsill by the Thanksgiving cactus was a gift from a friend 20 years ago! I have repotted it about once a decade, and I give it a little fish emulsion fertilizer if I think of it once or twice a year. Other than that, I just keep them on a cool windowsill (they go to Maine with me in the summer) and water them once a week.

  9. November 25, 2013 7:05 pm

    It’s nice to have indoor color, isn’t it? I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving Jean.

    • November 29, 2013 8:24 pm

      Happy Thanksgiving to you, Grace. I love having indoor color in the winter — especially important in a climate where winter is 5 months long!

  10. November 26, 2013 7:47 am

    When I was a student at Vassar, a million years ago! – there was a little plant shop on Raymond Avenue, with all the most intriguing indoor plants. Oh, I would love to find a little shop like that again! Your post makes me want to bring in more blooming plants besides my favored begonias and orchids that dont like my house!

    • November 29, 2013 8:27 pm

      Jayne, I think it’s all a matter of finding the blooming plants that work in your conditions. I’ve never had any luck with orchids or African violets. But the Cyclamen are perfect for me; they don’t like heat and thrive on a bright, drafty window ledge.

Leave a Reply

