Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday: At Last!

April 10, 2013
tags:

forsythia at last2

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2013 4:06 pm

    You are ahead of me…cold weather hit again for the rest of the week and weekend.

  2. April 10, 2013 4:19 pm

    My forsythia are not yet blooming, but I’m expecting daffodils by the end of the week. Happy spring!

    • April 10, 2013 5:36 pm

      Donna and Jason, Southern Pennsylvania has been on the warm side of the front that has been draped across the middle of the country. While it’s been cool in northern PA, we’ve had temperatures in the 80s the past few days. The first hot day, my crocuses, which have hung on for weeks, said “We’re done!” The second day, the forsythia and daffodils bloomed. I expect to see hyacinths blooming by tomorrow. I’m glad it’s supposed to cool back down in a couple of days, though; now that everything has started to bloom, I want the flowers to last!

  3. April 10, 2013 6:58 pm

    Oh, I love Forsythia. I so miss having this plant in the garden. A rather large one protected me from many a sunburn as a child, and I remember my mother bringing in branches to force in the spring. I’m not sure how well it grow here, as I rarely, if ever, see it. I’d consider moving to Maine though if it could be part of my garden again.

    • April 14, 2013 9:56 pm

      Clare, This forsythia is actually in my Gettysburg garden; it will be probably be another couple of weeks before it blooms in my Maine garden. You must be in one of the few places in the US that does not have the right conditions for these shrub, since there are species and cultivars that will grow everywhere from zone 4 to zone 9.

  4. April 10, 2013 11:01 pm

    I am spending a portion of this spring just heading out from the front door trying to a take a walk in a totally new direction, looking for new things to see. Forsythia is one of those sites along the way that always makes me stop so I can watch the progression as it flowers and then pushes out leaves.

    • April 14, 2013 9:58 pm

      Charlie, I consider forsythia one of the most cheerful sights of spring. After three days of temperatures in the mid-upper eighties, mine went from blooming to pushing out leaves in record time. Happily, our temperatures have cooled a bit to slow the process down. We are, nevertheless, moving on from forsythia to pink magnolias and fruit trees, to be quickly followed by dogwood, redbud and lilacs.

  5. April 11, 2013 4:08 am

    Worth the wait though 🙂

  6. April 11, 2013 4:31 pm

    Great photo !

    • April 14, 2013 9:59 pm

      Thanks, Allan. I love the sight of forsythia in April.

  7. April 11, 2013 8:10 pm

    Spring has arrived!! lucky you. We’re much further behind here this year, bulbs are only just starting to show themselves and there’s still snow in the forecast.

    • April 14, 2013 10:04 pm

      Marguerite,
      In southern Pennsylvania, we went from winter to summer in about 2 days! All of a sudden, temperatures are regularly in the mid-60s – 70s (18-23C) and even up into the 80s (27C +). I will get up to my Maine garden for spring cleanup in a couple of weeks, and I expect to find the season much less advanced there.

  8. Astrid permalink
    April 12, 2013 10:42 pm

    So pretty, Jean! Forsythia is one of the true harbingers of Spring. My three plants at the far end of the garden are weeks away from blooming – so nice to see yours in full bloom.

    • April 14, 2013 10:06 pm

      Astrid, Are you in eastern Canada? If so, your spring is more similar to mine in Maine. When I get up to my Maine garden in a couple of weeks, the forsythia may or may not have started blooming yet.

Leave a Reply

