Skip to content

Garden Blogs of the Month: November 2012

November 11, 2012

I have a very heavy teaching load this semester and am having trouble keeping up with blogging (or with anything else besides work!), but I didn’t want to let November slip by without taking an opportunity to look over the newly listed blogs at Blotanical and to choose some favorites to highlight here.

imagePure Oxygen Generators is a new blog from Philippines horticulturalist Andrea Agillon who is familiar to many as the author of Andrea In This Lifetime. In this new blog, Andrea has set out to celebrate, explore and catalog the incredible diversity of oxygen-generating green plants and related organisms near her home in the province of Batangas. This blog beautifully blends Andrea’s curiosity and love of plants with wonderful photography and a scientific sensibility. I am particularly drawn to those posts that ask scientific questions (for example, why are  Dry Season Flowers mostly red or orange?) or those that provide me with new scientific information (for example, about how to measure Biological Diversity or the oxygen-generating power of plant pigments other than green in Red Oxygen Generator). Since Andrea has been posting on this blog regularly since May, I feel as though my perusal has barely scratched the surface; I am very much looking forward to seeing and learning more at this blog.

imageGalloping Horse Garden is the blog of a native New Yorker transplanted to North Carolina. Reading this blog feels like visiting with a gardening friend who is knowledgeable, experienced, intelligent, and (literally!) down-to-earth. The author explains the name of the blog this way:

“A galloping horse will never see it.” So goes an old saying which, roughly translated, means, “Don’t worry about the small imperfections.”  What better advice for a gardener….

This philosophy permeates the blog as the Galloping Horse Gardener reflects on plants, on gardening and gardens, and on life with humor and disarming frankness. For example, a recent post on How Not To Plant Daffodils addresses a common dilemma for transplant gardeners, trying to combine the plant loves of your old garden with the conditions of your new garden – in this case the tribulations of trying to recreate the Brooklyn Botanical Garden’s Daffodil Hill in the very different growing conditions of North Carolina. I also enjoyed the discussion (in Calling All Gardeners) of the ways gardeners may or may not be inspired by beautiful public gardens:

Very few of us could ever aspire to anything like the lush and elaborate gardens of L.A.’s Getty Center and London’s Hyde Park.  I loved visiting both, but as beautiful as they may be, they are, like most public gardens, of limited utility to a galloping horse gardener like me.  All I ever seem to learn from public gardens is that mine would look a lot better if I had a grounds crew.

This is the kind of blog I have trouble tearing myself away from as I just keep scrolling from one post to the next (ignoring the pile of term papers waiting to be graded). The writing is consistently delightful, and the blog promises to capture the breadth of everyday gardeners’ interests.

If you haven’t already discovered these blogs for yourself, take a look. I think you’ll be glad you did.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2012 9:19 pm

    Oh hello Jean. I am so delightfully honored by this! I am also very glad that someone like you will find time to read my posts and at the same time find some utility in what i have been posting, and even give my blogsite a very important emphasis by featuring it in your site. I am so endlessly thankful for you. I have been posting mostly spontaneously in both my blogsites. And because of what you said about me, I might be obliged to put more scientific “whatever” in my posts, hahaha, making drafts before publishing. That means I should put more responsibility in it. And for that thank you so much again. (By the way, my name is Andrea B. Agillon, B is my middle initial).

    More power to you Jean, and if I am nearer, i can help you check some papers, at least averaging their marks! I do that when i was still a Research Associate in the university, and my boss has lots of students. We even pitch in teaching the laboratory portion.

  2. November 11, 2012 10:04 pm

    Jean I have been following Andrea’s new blog since its inception and I look forward to her posts…glad you gave it a nod…i will check out the other blog as well…hope you get a break soon…none for me yet as work is crazier than ever…

  3. November 11, 2012 10:14 pm

    Hi Jean. I’ve been following Galloping Horse for a few weeks but didn’t know about Andrea’s blog. Thanks for let me know about it.

  4. November 12, 2012 6:25 am

    Thanks for your recommendations – there are so many garden related blogs and most of us spend probably more time than is good for us dipping into them, so this will help direct our time more judiciously!

  5. November 12, 2012 6:42 am

    Great recommendations Jean, I’m adding them to my list. Love your posts! Sandi

  6. November 12, 2012 9:19 am

    And yet you find time to browse over the blog’s list for us, very grateful!!!

  7. November 12, 2012 10:20 am

    Jean, I am so honored that you chose my blog. Thank you for all the kind words. I look forward to following your blog and to discovering Pure Oxygen Generators.

  8. November 13, 2012 6:58 pm

    I’m familiar with Andrea’s blog, but Galloping Horse Garden is new to me, so I dropped in for a visit. I do love that you take the time to do this for us, Jean.

  9. November 13, 2012 8:37 pm

    i’m impressed that even with a full load of work on your plate you still make time to research and honor these new bloggers. well done Jean, this is such a benefit to new and old bloggers alike. now i must go do some reading..

  10. November 23, 2012 12:50 am

    I found your blog quite interesting and the concern in the blog is really impressive.

  11. June 17, 2013 8:20 am

    I like your saying “A galloping horse will never see it.”

Leave a Reply

