Skip to content

A Pink Season: GBBD, May 2012

May 15, 2012

It’s hard to know what season it is right now in my south-central Pennsylvania garden. We had May weather in March, March weather in April, and are now having April weather in May. Mother Nature seems very confused this year. But whatever season this is, its color is pink.

Pink flowers in my Gettysburg front flower bed in May (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) The large bleeding heart (Lamprocapnos spectabilis) that dominates my front flower bed in spring continues to bloom and is now accompanied by the silvery pink flowers of Geranium x oxonianum ‘A.T. Johnson,’ the pink-tinged blooms of Geranium x cantabrigiense ‘Biokovo,’ and the mauve flowers of a volunteer columbine (Aquilegia)
xx  

 Clockwise from top left: Columbine, Bleeding Hearts, Geranium 'A.T. Johnson,' Geranium 'Biokovo' (photo credits: Jean Potuchek)

The pink theme is continued in the half-barrel planted with annuals in the front yard Half-barrel of annuals in my Gettysburg garden (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Neighbors' front gardens - Gettysburg, PA (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) … and in the gardens of my neighbors.
xx  
Gettysburg back flower bed in May (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) My back garden in Gettysburg is primarily a quiet, foliage-filled oasis at this time of year. But pink is also in evidence here, in more Geranium ‘Biokovo’ along the front of this flower bed, and in a container of dianthus, pelargonium and petunias on the patio.

A pink season on the patio (photo credit Jean Potuchek)

What lovely colors do you have in your garden this season?

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what’s in bloom this month in gardens around the world.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 10:57 pm

    Pink is perfect in May … or whatever gardening month it is. So many shades. So many flower choices.

  2. May 15, 2012 11:01 pm

    Hi Jean
    All your pinks are lovely! The mauve columbine is a beauty and the perennial borders are very nice. I plan to have a pink and purple theme in my front yard this year. Thx for celebrating Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day 🙂
    Astrid

    • May 24, 2012 11:30 am

      Joene and Astrid, It’s funny, but for many years I was not a fan of pink. I’m still unlikely to wear pink or to have pink in my interior decor. But pink in the garden — that’s another matter altogether! There is something about those pink flowers that make my heart sing. I hope you’re both having a wonderful spring.

  3. May 15, 2012 11:26 pm

    Yes, it’s been very strange weather wise. Of course this simulation video of temperature data that NASA did can’t have anything to do with it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EoOrtvYTKeE&noredirect=1

    Well, regardless, let’s enjoy our flowers. Happy Bloom Day!

    • May 24, 2012 11:34 am

      Town Mouse, That is a very scary temperature pattern video. What I find even scarier is that so many people in the US still resist the idea that climate change is an emergency that we need to deal with NOW. While I’m committed to doing what I can to change this situation, I also agree that we should enjoy the floral bounty of what we can’t change.

  4. May 16, 2012 5:38 am

    We have had the same crazy weather. My alliums are up so purple is a big color right now with pinks starting…slow blooms with crazy bloom times…I love the pinks Jean!

    • May 24, 2012 12:04 pm

      Donna, It’s interesting that the same crazy weather patterns can have different consequences in different places. In my Maine garden, the alliums are not doing well at all this year. Globemaster, which usually has two or three tall enormous blooms, has only put up one stem — and that one is a bit stunted. Other alliums in the garden haven’t put up any flowers at all. I’m wondering if this is a result of our lack of snow — and therefore lack of moisture — this winter. Some of my siberian irises also tend to do poorly after dry winters.

  5. May 16, 2012 5:45 am

    So many lovely pinks! Love the Geraniums and that gorgeous Aquilegia. What a great little volunteer.

  6. May 16, 2012 3:59 pm

    Love your bleeding hearts with geraniums – so romantic and old-fashioned! I’m not ashamed to say pink is my favorite color 🙂

  7. May 16, 2012 5:08 pm

    I love your subtle delicate pinks – so different to the bright colours here but so lovely

    • May 24, 2012 12:06 pm

      Bernie, Spurge and Missy, I’m pleased that you are enjoying my pinks. It is true that many of the pink flowers that thrive in this cold climate are softer, more subtle pinks, compared with the hot tropical pinks of warmer climates.

  8. May 17, 2012 8:21 pm

    Definitely pretty in pink — and a true classic in the garden. And yes, the weather is strange. Each day seems to be filled with two to three seasons!

    • May 24, 2012 12:10 pm

      Kevin, That is such a good description of this year’s weather — two or three seasons every day. It really is strange, and I wonder if this is going to be our new normal.

  9. May 18, 2012 9:07 pm

    I’m drooling over those lovely columbine. One of my favourite flowers. Pink is definitely a big colour in my emerging flower garden. Seems I have an attraction for pink in many forms.

    • May 24, 2012 12:15 pm

      Marguerite, If you want those columbines, you may have to move to Gettysburg, Pennsylvania; they grow all over town :-). Some people have deep blue-violet flowers, and others (like me) have the mauve ones — but I can’t remember seeing the two colors growing together. These flowers are strictly volunteers; all my attempts to get them to grow in locations of my choosing have failed. Their favorite spot to grow is in a tiny flower bed next to the patio. This is the first year they have shown up in the front flower bed, and I’m hoping this is a preview of things to come, because I really like the way they look there.

  10. May 20, 2012 11:47 pm

    Jean – you always capture the essence of what’ going on in the garden ‘world’ (or ‘Blogosphere’); with the crazy weather and with pink being a prevailing theme this year. I planted “Wine & Roses’ Weigela last year (as bookends in my Sun Garden), and this year – they are a riot of pink blooms. Thanks for sharing your blooms and GBBD!

    • May 24, 2012 12:18 pm

      Shyrlene, LOL, I had no idea that pink was a theme this year. If I do anything fashionable, it’s almost always an accident! My first pink garden was the deck border in Maine. I didn’t intend it to be pink; I was choosing plants focused on foliage rather than flowers. But when I saw that so many of the plants I had chosen flowered in shades of pink and lavender, I decided to go with it.

  11. May 21, 2012 7:54 pm

    I am wondering what weather and what color June will bring. I guess we just have to get used to the unexpected.

    • May 24, 2012 12:20 pm

      Carolyn, I’m definitely not good at getting used to the unexpected. I always joke that when other people think they’re in a rut, I think I’ve finally got a comfortable routine in place. The color of my garden in June is usually soft shades of blue, lavender and pink, with chartreuse accents. We’ll see if that holds true this year.

  12. sequoiagardens permalink
    May 22, 2012 5:27 am

    Here’s hoping June surprises you by acting like June… your gardens seems none the worse for the confusion!

    • May 24, 2012 12:21 pm

      Jack, Since June is one of my favorite weather months in Maine, I would be delighted if June actually acted like June!

  13. maureenfb permalink
    May 23, 2012 12:28 pm

    We have had the same confusing weather here in the UK. We had weeks of rain after a drought had been declared – we still have the ‘drought’and hose pipe ban. This week we have sunshine and high temperatures and it feels like summer at last. I love all your pink flowers, Pinks and purples are some of my favourites
    Best wishes
    Maureen

  14. May 24, 2012 12:24 pm

    Maureen, The weather confusion does seem to be a widespread phenomenon this year. I just heard something this week on the news about the confusion about drought in the UK this year and a proposal to substitute some new phrase for the word “drought.” I don’t have many purples in my garden, but my pinks do tend to shade into lavender at this time of year. I hope your weather is calming down into something relatively normal.

  15. June 3, 2012 6:07 am

    HI Jean, love both containers, they look lovely. That’s what Summer is all about …I only have purple from my Plumbago in my yard. The rest are succulents, but I plan to change that. Hopefully by next Summer I should have brightened up the place a bit more.

  16. Pauline Schonberg permalink
    November 21, 2012 9:00 pm

    I really love to grow vegetables on small gardens because it is easy to maintain. .

    <a href="Most up-to-date piece of writing coming from our web page
    http://www.caramoantourpackage.com/

Leave a Reply

