Skip to content

Garden Blogs of the Month: December 2011

December 7, 2011

This is the busiest time of the year for me at work. Students are turning in their final papers this week; final exams are next week; and everywhere I turn, there are piles of papers to be graded. In the midst of all this work, I decided to take a break and treat myself to some new garden blogs. So, after browsing the past month’s new listings at Blotanical, I’ve chosen two to highlight as this month’s “blogs of the month.”

screenshot - Lucy's in the Garden Lucy’s in the Garden is a brand new blog from Houston, Texas gardener Lucy Abbott. This blog consists primarily of photo essays; there are small amounts of text, but photos tell most of the story. Some of these stories are step-by-step “how-to” posts, like the one on creating a mosaic urn or the guide to Forcing Bulbs for the Holidays. Some posts are more whimsical, while others are beautifully evocative (for example, The Miracle of Rain). The latter category were my favorites; this is where Lucy Abbott’s photography really shines. The images in this blog are not just pretty pictures of flowers (although, as the header photo above demonstrates, there are plenty of lovely flowers in this virtual garden); many are stunning macro shots that ask you to really look closely at the natural world around you. I can’t wait to see more.

screenshot - The Hortiholic

While the photos grabbed me at Lucy Abbott’s blog, it was the words that I couldn’t tear myself away from at The Hortiholic. I started at the first post and just kept going until I had read every word. Although Wilmette, Illinois gardener Karen Geisler’s posts include photos, this is a word lover’s blog. The well-crafted posts are thoughtful, evocative, and informative. Karen’s first post, An Introduction, is well worth reading, and I enjoyed her essay on garden gnomes.  I think my favorite posts in this blog, however, are the ones that provide me with new information about gardening or plants (for example, Worts and all, about plants whose common names end in “wort.”) This is not a blog with new posts every day or even several times a week. Instead, each new essay at The Hortiholic is a gem to be anticipated and savored.

If you are looking for a pleasure break in this busy holiday season, I can attest that both these blogs provide great mini-vacations. Enjoy!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 9:42 am

    Love checking out new blogs especially during winter months…thx Jean as always!!

  2. December 8, 2011 4:24 pm

    The title of Karen’s blog, ‘Hortiholic’ has me intrigued…off to check it out, thanks Jean!

  3. December 9, 2011 1:44 pm

    Your blog is beautiful and interesting. ‘Lucy’s in the Garden’ photo is so peaceful and inviting! I like your nice writing skills and the layout of your blog is just excellent.

    Thanks Jean,

    Mike

  4. December 9, 2011 6:54 pm

    Like you, I enjoy visiting the new blogs that appear on Blotanical — but thank you for shining a spotlight on them. It’s amazing how much talent is out there. Cheers and enjoy the final weeks of your semester.

  5. December 9, 2011 7:13 pm

    Thanks, Jean, for taking a break from your own work to pass a little pleasure our way. Hope you can get in the grading Zone and sail right through those papers and exams.

  6. December 9, 2011 8:34 pm

    Always fun to read your reviews of new garden blogs. I hope you are seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.

  7. December 10, 2011 8:10 am

    Jean, Thank you for the intro to two new bloggers. I love this feature. gail

  8. December 10, 2011 9:58 pm

    I’ve been reading Lucy’s blog every week and I’m SO glad you mentioned her!!! Hooray! I will definitely check out the other blog, too. :o)

  9. December 12, 2011 9:18 am

    Now who could resist a visit to Hortiholic, thanks for the intro Jean.

  10. December 12, 2011 3:40 pm

    I should do this. Maybe I will in 2012 since I remember how nice it is to get a little shout out when you’re new to the world of blogging. Nice job as usual, Jean. These look like my kind of blogs. I hope you’re making some headway with the paper piles.

Leave a Reply

