Skip to content

Not Yet Winter: GBBD, November 2011

November 15, 2011

In the 2 1/2 weeks since an unusual October snow fell on my still-blooming garden in south central Pennsylvania (see What?!?!), we have had several nights of frost, ending the garden season for many plants.

Frost-blackened morning glory vines (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) On the patio fence, a tangle of  morning glory (Ipomoea) vines now hangs limp and blackened.
In the back flower bed, the hosta leaves are yellow and papery. Hosta leaves after frost (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

And in the small flower bed by the patio, the balloon flowers (Platycodon) have finally given up blooming.

But, despite these signs of dormancy, it’s not yet winter in my Gettysburg garden.

Tattered dianthus blooms in November (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) In the front yard, tattered flowers of Dianthus are still blooming gamely in the half barrel.
And Sedum spectabile ‘Neon’ has turned from hot pink to deep wine.  Sedum 'Neon' in November (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

Soon I’ll have to rely on indoor blooms and my southern hemisphere friends for my flower fix. But perhaps I can eke out a few more days, or even weeks, of garden flowers before winter truly arrives.

Garden Blogger’s Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what is in bloom this month in gardens around the world (including southern hemisphere gardens boasting a profusion of spring flowers).

20 Comments leave one →
  1. 7aces/Darla permalink
    November 15, 2011 8:16 am

    We have had one frost here in North Florida. Right now I’m planting for the winter….

  2. November 15, 2011 8:36 am

    Your garden resembles mine Jean…good thing we have bloggers around the world to help us until spring

  3. November 15, 2011 9:06 am

    I love how you’ve found beauty in ‘what’s left of the garden’, Jean;-) Mine looks like yours but lately, I haven’t been looking at it with the positive outlook you have! I also have at least a foot or more in height of leaves covering most of my back gardens so cannot see what is there!! Hubby had foot surgery so hasn’t been able to help out, and I’ve been busy with Master Gardening classes and other things, so haven’t found time to clean up the garden and look closely at what’s out there. It’s been fairly warm the last couple of days and a perfect time to do just that, but, not sure that’s going to happen. I’ve read all of your posts since my last visit…just have not been blog hopping for a while. But love how you manage to keep up your posts, write about and ‘introduce’ new blogs to us, and stay on top of what’s happening in your Maine and PA gardens with everything else you have going on! Hope you are doing well these days;-)

  4. Lula (onbotanicalphotography.blogspot.com) permalink
    November 15, 2011 11:58 am

    Jean, it’s so sad being taking care of your garden and see that for too early storms they had a short life! I can imagine hoy you feel, but I guess this is a sad part of a gardener’s life.

  5. Nell Jean permalink
    November 15, 2011 1:52 pm

    I like to go out and look at what fell to the frost the other night and what is bravely soldiering on now that that first hard frost is out of the way.

  6. November 15, 2011 7:05 pm

    Are you happy to see it go or wish there was more going on? Both are an option, but many gardeners would like to cross the garden off their list of things to think about until next spring. I of course strive to have as many plants peaking as possible right now :-). Lula and I have been discussing how we together with Donna at Garden’s Eye View and Jill at Landscape Lover’s Blog are the Jean’s Garden GBM January 2011 graduating class. All four of us are still actively blogging and communicate with each other. How have other classes fared, I wonder?

    • November 15, 2011 9:34 pm

      We had our first below 50 night the other night, so I know this day will be coming for me too, though I still have lots alive at the moment. Interestingly, some plants, like hostas, even here in the 70 degree perfect months still look exactly the same as yours do right now. Its actually disconcerting because to us humans it feels like perfect ‘be alive’ weather, so to see something die back so dramatically, my natural instinct is that I killed it somehow.

  7. November 15, 2011 9:52 pm

    Those last few blooms are always so precious. It really is surprising how much cold Dianthus can take before it finally gives up.

  8. November 15, 2011 10:39 pm

    Looks like the frost did to your garden what an unusually early rain did to ours. And yet, how enjoyable to find a few things that actually make it for a little longer.

  9. November 16, 2011 2:29 am

    I’m surprised–very pleasantly so–that you still have blooms to share. The way many gardens are looking, it’s going to be an entirely different picture for December. Enjoy it while it lasts! Happy Bloomday!

  10. November 16, 2011 7:51 pm

    Nice to see there’s still a few blooms for you to enjoy. Winter will be coming here shortly but we’ve been fortunate this year as it’s been a pleasant fall. Funny that further north we missed the great snow you had. Well I’m sure we’ll get ours soon enough.

  11. November 17, 2011 8:03 pm

    You gotta love those plants that just keep on going for a while after snow, don’t you!

  12. November 18, 2011 12:03 pm

    By the end of summer I’ve often started overlooking the Duracell Bunny plants that have such long bloom seasons–after seeing them for so long I don’t really SEE them any more. Once autumn hits you really remember what troupers they are. Go, dianthus!

  13. November 19, 2011 1:29 pm

    Isn’t this extended season amazing? I have enjoyed the lingering fall and blooms in the garden. Morning Glory always looks so sad after frost but hat sedum truly is a beautiful deep wine color. It is time to look South now, isn’t it?

  14. November 19, 2011 10:49 pm

    Hi Jean – Today we got our first snow! Which is late for us…we have enjoyed not having to shovel, until today. My evergreens have really grown and today I was thankful for them. Keep warm, my friend – G

  15. November 20, 2011 8:52 am

    I have been a bit remiss at visiting blogs lately and trying to make up for it today and intend, now the evenings are dark, to visit regularly. We are still waiting for winter here, its far to mild and very dry for November. Everthing is in bud again and will get one big shock when the frost comes. Thank you for sharing your garden on GBBD, – I missed this month.

  16. November 20, 2011 8:12 pm

    Jean, maybe those of us in the north can begin a global forced bulb blooming project: amaryllis, paper whites — all can be planted on the same day, and then we can post updates of growth and blooms. Sort of like a harmonic convergence — only greener.

  17. November 22, 2011 12:21 am

    Hi Jean. I love that last photo of the Sedum. Mine have been the color of burnt toast for several weeks now. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  18. November 25, 2011 4:32 pm

    Hello Everyone, Thanks for visiting and commenting. I am in the academic season known as “the grading crunch” and finding it difficult to respond to comments. At the moment, I’m procrastinating because I have a big pile of first drafts of 20-page papers to read. When they are done (by Sunday night), I will see light at the end of the tunnel. I’m looking forward to some time to relax in December and beyond.

  19. December 10, 2011 3:37 am

    Found your blog while searching for Windows Live Writer. I have installed it on my PC and was looking for how to insert captions. I was a bit skeptic about its image options, but your blog have cleared my doubts. There is a lot more to learn.

    Happy to see you blogging consistently with WLW; I was about to give it up, but seeing your blog, I found I have a lot more to learn. I will continue to go on with WLW..

    And your garden in wonderful 🙂

Leave a Reply

