Skip to content

Garden Blogs of the Month: November 2011

November 7, 2011

Events overtook me last month and made it impossible for me to write a review of garden blogs. The result is that I have a lot of catching up to do this month, and I have relied on the past two months’ new listings at Blotanical. From this wealth of possibilities, I have chosen three garden blogs to focus on here. Although all three are new to the Blotanical listings, they are not necessarily new blogs.

screenshot - Garden Wisdom Garden Wisdom is a Canadian blog published by West Coast Seeds in Delta, British Columbia. It is the work of West Coast Seeds’ resident author/ photographer, Mark Macdonald and was begun more than 18 months ago in March 2010. The blog carries a wealth of information, from local events and initiatives and updates about what’s growing, to features about plants, pollinators, and plant pests and diseases. Even information targeted primarily to the local area, though, is often presented in a way that is useful to those of us a continent (or more) away. Thus, those who cannot attend classes at the nursery can still learn from the summaries of those classes in the blog (for example, Listening to Brian Campbell Talk Mason Bees). I have found the posts on plant diseases like late blight and rust (complete with helpful diagnostic photographs) particularly informative.

screenshot - Garden Adventures Garden Adventures is another Pacific Northwest garden blog, but this one from the US side of the border in Duvall, Washington. And this blog, too, was begun in 2010. Blog author Karen Chapman is a garden designer; and while this blog includes a variety of post types, including plant profiles and information about available cultivars, my favorite posts are the ones that focus on garden design. These combine photographs of design features with clear explanations of the principles involved. Among Karen’s recent offerings, I particularly loved the post on how to create Monochromatic Foliage Combinations.

screenshot - Garden Photo of the Day Garden Photo of the Day, also a US blog, is a more recent addition to the blogosphere. It comes to us from Martha Smith Tate, a long-time garden columnist for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and the former host of the television series A Gardener’s Diary (which enjoyed an 11-year run on HGTV back when the ‘G’ in that network’s name actually had some meaning). Although it is named “Garden Photo of the Day,” this blog is not primarily a photo blog. Instead, each photo is the touchstone for an accompanying essay. The essays, which focus primarily on gardens and gardeners that Martha Tate has visited, are wonderful – beautifully written and engaging. My favorite posts are those about the garden of 95-year-old Margaret Moseley (for example, It Might As Well Be Spring), which manage to be simultaneously plant portraits and inspirational character portraits. (Who among us doesn’t want to be still enjoying our gardens and transplanting our own shrubs when we’re in our nineties?!) In scrolling through this blog, I had trouble tearing myself away; I just never found a single post that didn’t interest me.

I am once again humbled by all the fine garden blogs available to readers. I know it’s hard to choose among them; but please do take a look at these three. You won’t regret it.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 12:24 am

    I have found some great blogs through your recommendations! I am already familiar with Garden adventures; it has quickly become one of my favorites. Now I must explore the others!

  2. November 8, 2011 10:38 am

    I always appreciate your review of new (to us) blogs. The information you provide is always helpful and interesting. Many of these blogs are treasures. Like you, I have been disappointed in the missing ‘G’ in HGTV. If I watch any garden shows, I find a few on PBS. Thank goodness for all the gardening books…and blogs!

  3. November 8, 2011 1:53 pm

    I always look forward to your reviews and have found a lot of great blogs that way. Plus I still have a special relationship with the two bloggers with whom I was featured. Jill from Landscape Lover mentioned this in her comment on my birthday post. I wonder if this is the case for other bloggers you feature together–more fodder for your study.

  4. November 8, 2011 3:02 pm

    BTW that post you had up for Technorati. The report is out.

  5. November 8, 2011 8:07 pm

    Jean can’t wait to check them out. I too have been away from BLotanical but not blogging…hope to get back soon and see these blogs…I loved A Gardener’s Diary when it was on TV.

  6. November 9, 2011 3:59 pm

    Thank you for those recommendations I will certainly pay them a visit. I don’t frequent Blotanical very often these days, it never seems to work too well.

  7. November 9, 2011 5:59 pm

    I always enjoy these posts. I’ve been trying to keep up better with the newer blogs at Blotanical, but there are only so many hours in a day! Off to read through your recommended blogs now, thanks! 🙂

  8. November 9, 2011 9:15 pm

    Thanks, Jean. I’m familiar with the first two blogs, but hadn’t looked at the third, thinking it was just photos. So now I’ll go and check it out.

    • November 10, 2011 12:32 am

      Lyn, thank you for taking the time to visit Garden Adventures – for thumbs of all colors. I appreciated your comments and ideas.

  9. November 10, 2011 5:21 am

    Hello Jean! Thank you for more wonderful recommendations, I’m off to have a little peek at them now 🙂

  10. November 10, 2011 11:29 pm

    Love the Garden Photo of the Day blog. Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

  11. November 12, 2011 8:24 am

    Jean, Thank you for introducing me to new blogs~I’ve had too much going on and have missed visiting old friends and meeting new ones. gail

  12. November 13, 2011 12:26 pm

    Always a pleasure to read your post about blogs of the month, so many discoveries, like the ones for this month’s review. Carolyn, since your mentioned, I just review Jean’s January’s post and .. we were together with Jill and Donna’s!! indeed Jean’s posts make good connections!!

  13. November 13, 2011 7:10 pm

    Great new finds! Thanks so much for sharing Jean. As the day’s start to grow colder, I’ll definitely be looking for more garden reading to ponder 🙂

  14. Abbas permalink
    November 13, 2011 7:29 pm

    Hi Jean,
    I would like to plant some Astilbe biternata.
    Are you able, please, to let me know if its
    medicinal uses are the same as those of
    Astilbe thunbergii?
    Sincerely,
    Abbas

  15. gardeningasylum permalink
    November 14, 2011 7:29 am

    HI Jean, You are wonderful to keep an eye out for all the new and wonderful blogs out there – I find that blogs have a bit of a life cycle and it’s exciting to check out the fresh new crop 🙂

  16. November 14, 2011 7:47 am

    So many fantastic blogs to choose from, thanks for these recommendations Jean.

Leave a Reply

