Skip to content

Let’s Get Garden Blogs on Technorati’s Radar

September 22, 2011

I had planned to post a “favorite garden books” book review today, but a particularly taxing week at work didn’t leave me enough time to finish re-reading the book. So I’ll post my book review next week and use this post as an opportunity to climb up on my soapbox.

Today, I received an email from Technorati asking me to complete their 2011 “state of the blogosphere” survey. For those who are unfamiliar with it, Technorati is a general blog directory (over 1 million listings!) that also rates blogs on how “authoritative” they are. Since 2004, Technorati has been collecting data on blogs and publishing an annual “state of the blogosphere” report. These reports are influential, and the data and trends highlighted in them are widely reported. I first learned about Technorati when I started doing research on blogging and virtual communities and found many scholarly articles citing Technorati data.

Several months ago, I decided to apply for listing on Technorati, but the experience was a frustrating one because Technorati seems oblivious to the phenomenon of garden blogging. The first problem was figuring out what categories to list my blog in (I finally chose “Green” and “Living – Home”) because none of them seemed to be a good fit. Being listed at Technorati has not brought new traffic to my blog. This isn’t really surprising; since very few garden bloggers have listed their blogs on Technorati, readers don’t go there to find garden blogs.

Because of Technorati’s influence in the blogosphere, I think it would be a good thing for garden bloggers to get garden blogging onto their radar. To that end, I want to encourage all garden bloggers to complete the 2011 “state of the blogosphere” survey at this link http://www.psasurveys.com/detect.aspx?I.Project=a18214.

The survey should take about 15-20 minutes. It may be a bit frustrating because some questions are redundant and because others make assumptions that don’t apply well to garden blogs – but please persevere to the end. When you are asked to categorize your blog, consider checking “other” and typing in “gardens and gardening.” My hope is that if enough of us do this, we can get them to recognize garden blogs as a distinct blogging type and community.

Please share this link (http://www.psasurveys.com/detect.aspx?I.Project=a18214) with as many garden bloggers as you can and ask them to participate. We can get garden blogs on Technorati’s radar!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. sequoiagardens permalink
    September 23, 2011 1:53 am

    Yes Sir, Captain Jean! 😉 Great idea. Thank you. Will do!

  2. September 23, 2011 6:04 am

    Wow I do not believe in coincidences Jean but I just did this survey before I saw your post….a blogger friend who is in the book publishing arena posted about this and I did persevere to the end…it was frustrating since they make too many assumptions. Not sure I even care about this group that is not very well informed or very one-sided in their view of the blogging world and is more interested in social media than putting together a good survey…many questions you are forced to answer and the answer is none…oh well I did complete it and said I would be interested in talking more with them about the experience and about blogging…if they contact me, I will get my points across…that may help garden blogs too…

  3. September 23, 2011 8:08 am

    I must admit I’ve never heard of Technorati but I have had issues with other blog listings trying to find the right category. Usually they seem to bury gardens in with home and decorating. I guess it applies in an awkward way but I would think with thousands of garden blogs dedicated to exclusively gardening it would get more attention.

  4. September 23, 2011 8:49 am

    I, too, received this survey. And I had the problem of finding where my blog fit in. I think this is a great idea. What is strange is there are plenty of garden blogs out there…don’t know why they seem to be oblivious…

  5. September 23, 2011 11:45 am

    I received the email request through Green Apples, most probably because GA was started as an interiors, art and architecture blog predominately over the gardening.The other professional, an interior designer, co-authoring, backed out immediately seeing how little garden blogs are followed. I thought it a little annoying in what Technorati wants, as you say, those of authority. Since when is the internet to be trusted for information anyway? If I really want an answer to something, I go to those knowledgeable in their specialized fields or books.

    I do blogging for fun (separate from my work of which I do have ‘authority’) and variety of subject. I have no interest, even as a lowly Master Gardener, dispensing knowledge. Just too boring and mundane for me. As per garden blogging…. It is but a blip on the grand scheme of blogging, not generating the numbers of the blogs that they do list. Just take a look at tags and you will see what I mean. WordPress does not even have ‘garden’ as a tag on the list you can select from on their main page to find blogs of shared interest.

    GWGT is listed with Alltop, another place to find good blogs, but they too do not have garden blogs featured. I can count on one hand how many hits came from that site, probably since the page is not very well displayed. I have high praise for search engines since that is where the majority of my traffic is generated. Sure there are many, many garden blogs, but how many actually are more than just pretty pictures? You get that on the Photo blogs which are much more popular. I think blogging is fun, and if you learn something along the way that is great. I don’t need the ‘authorities’ telling me what I may already know. So I like my fun and am one that actually likes the pretty pictures and I know there are others that don’t.

  6. September 23, 2011 12:19 pm

    Done! Because you asked so nicely 🙂

  7. September 23, 2011 8:51 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion!

  8. September 24, 2011 11:14 pm

    Well, 15 minutes seems quite a bit, but let me see how my Sunday goes….

  9. September 29, 2011 12:33 pm

    Thanks Jean. I feel somewhat as Donna@GWGT does… at least I do now. When I first started blogging and was looking for places to generate more traffic, I signed up with a few of those directories. I was frustrated with the fact that often there was no category that fit gardens. While I do think it fair to include garden bloggers, it doesn’t bother me so much any more as I feel that I get lots of “respect” from the search engines and that brings me a lot of traffic. I do support your cause and thank you for highlighting it.

  10. September 30, 2011 6:29 am

    Thanks, Jean. I, too was surprised that Technorati was ignoring garden bloggers.

  11. October 1, 2011 9:13 am

    A grassroots movement somehow seems appropriate for garden bloggers! I am on my way to the survey. Youmay also want to list at Dig In Dirt. Cheers!

  12. October 1, 2011 3:54 pm

    Hi Jean, I’m really behind on blog reading. I’ve got time today so I’ll give Techno…whatever a go. 🙂

  13. October 2, 2011 8:04 am

    Hi Jean, it’s wonderful that you have such an interest in the betterment of garden blogging. They way you feature new blogs and show gardening books is great!

    I’m hoping to get caught up on my friends’ blogs today and making a new post of my own. As soon as I’m caught up, I will take the time to do the survey!

    Cheers,
    Diane

  14. October 3, 2011 7:13 am

    Playing catch up in my Reader, and getting to the good blogs, I save till … the middle, over a hundred posts to go.

    I do object to lumping garden in with Home Decor. Misses the point for almost all garden bloggers. This issue was one of the reasons Stuart started Blotanical. Sad that it seems to be going dormant on us. Still hoping.

  15. October 3, 2011 8:19 am

    PS busy at Technorati – if you put in Gardens, then you can say – Gardens are my primary topic!

    That did take a long time. But in November we can see if it was worth it.

  16. October 3, 2011 8:22 am

    PS have put this link on my G+ page to reach a different circle, more technically minded geeky types maybe?

  17. Lula (onbotanicalphotography.blogspot.com) permalink
    October 5, 2011 1:05 pm

    will help to spread the word and thank you for taking the time to make visible garden blogs in tecnorati

Leave a Reply

