Skip to content

Garden Blogs of the Month: May 2011

May 7, 2011

I’m barely making it under the wire this month to get my “blogs of the month” post up within the first week of May. (It’s the end-of-semester grading crunch, a time when the demands of my teaching position are particularly likely to interfere with my garden blogging habit.) As I often do, I chose blogs from among the new listings at  Blotanical. This month, I’ve decided to highlight two:

Screenshot - Sow Many Herbs, Sow Little Thyme

Sow Many Herbs, Sow Little Thyme is the tale of blogger Penny’s adventure developing an herb nursery in Scotland. The blog begins with a move, from a house with a small but beloved garden to a much larger property which provides both the opportunity and the challenge of bringing Penny’s long-time dream, an herb farm, to life. The posts in this well-written blog include both accounts of the adventures (and sometimes misadventures) of beginning the Little Herb Farm and plant portraits of the herbs Penny is growing. The former posts are written in a puckish style that is both entertaining and compelling. For example, a March post entitled Let the Sowing Commence begins with these words:

After almost too many weeks, expletives and tears to mention the little herb garden’s inaugural polytunnel is up and almost ready for action.  I say ‘inaugural’, hubbie says ‘make me build another one and you can move into it’.  Lulled into a false sense of ‘how hard can it be’ by First Tunnels’ friendly website, I think we sorely underestimated just what it would take to erect a 40ftx14ft tunnel with every upgrade possible (read: lots more work)….

The plant profiles are packed with useful information, including uses of the particular herb; history, legends and symbolism associated with it; information on how to grow, harvest, and store it; and culinary tips and recipes. I am eager to try out some of the new herbs (e.g., lovage)Penny is introducing me to and to follow along with her unfolding adventure.

Screenshot - A Zen View A Zen View is also written by someone who followed her dream of turning a passion for horticulture into a career. In her “About” page, author Laura Wright explains it this way:
xx

After working 20+ years in Accounting and pursuing gardening as a hobby, I went back to school several years ago for a degree in Horticulture/Landscape Design.   Other than my son, it’s the greatest gift I’ve ever allowed myself….   I’m now free to devote both my personal AND professional life to planning, creating, cultivating, and enjoying all things garden – I’m living my dream!

In her first two posts, Follow the Green Tongue and So What’s a Zen View?, Laura explains the “Zen view” as both a philosophy of life and a design principle; and this is a perfect way to introduce a blog that combines reflections on life with reflections on gardening. Whether she is recounting her experiences with her own garden, discussing her work with clients, or reflecting on life’s vicissitudes, Laura’s blog posts are always beautifully written. Because she is both a professional designer and an avid photographer, the blog is also a visual feast.

Each month, I am impressed all over again by just how many talented garden bloggers are making their work available to us. Here are two more high-quality blogs to enjoy.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2011 5:47 am

    Hi Jean. I look forward to checking out these blogs. I hope things settle down at the school before too long, if they haven’t already.

    Have a wonderful Sunday,
    Diane

  2. May 8, 2011 9:10 am

    Jean, thanks as ever for taking the time to go through all the blogs appearing on Blotanical and pick out some real gems. I shall visit these two with much interest. The Sow Many Herbs quote about the ‘inaugural’ polytunnel made me laugh out loud! Jill

  3. May 9, 2011 4:34 pm

    Looking forward to investigating these blogs! I’m so far behind on catching up on newer blogs…the spring garden has had me distracted of late.

  4. May 9, 2011 8:33 pm

    I look forward to this post every month–keep it up. Hope your life calms down soon. Carolyn

  5. Lula (onbotanicalphotography.blogspot.com) permalink
    May 13, 2011 1:08 pm

    Jean, May is a tough month for academics! I keep the reading of new blogs for the weekend, but is always fantastic to read your recommendations, thank you. Let’s take it zen!!!

  6. May 16, 2011 1:31 pm

    Jean, these both look wonderful–thank you for taking the time to find them and write such thoughtful recommendations, especially while you were still in the middle of grading. (Although, as I recall, sometimes having something else to do in the middle of grading has its appeal…) 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Garden Blogs of the Month: May 2011 « Jean's Garden | Horticulture Jobs

Leave a Reply

