Skip to content

A Windowsill Garden: GBBD, January 2011

January 15, 2011

Cyclamen blooming on windowsill (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Northern New England gardeners cannot look for blooms outside at this time of year; our gardens are tucked away under a thick blanket of snow. We turn to indoor blooms for the winter months. Some years, I have one or more amaryllis (Hippeastrum) plants in bloom; in other years, I may have paper whites or hyacinths forced into bloom.

But even when (like this year) life gets away from me and I don’t manage to get any bulbs going in time for January blooms, I can always count on my potted cyclamen. The bright but cool window ledge in my living room is the perfect environment for them; and although they have some flowers most of the year, they bloom must enthusiastically under these conditions. Their red and white and pink flowers, blooming in front of a frosty window that looks out on a snowy winter scene, evoke the special warmth of being indoors on a winter day.

Red cyclamen flowers (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Pink cyclamen flowers (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
xx

Garden Bloggers Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what is in bloom today in gardens and on windowsills all over the world.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2011 5:26 pm

    I just adore Cyclamen Jean…both of those colors are HOT:-) I don’t have any blooms either…so I did a Garden Bloggers’ Blooming Bird Day post. I did one once before just because I find them as pretty as blooms, especially during this time of year. I have read all of your posts but haven’t left comments so please know I’m still following (most) of what you’ve been writing. Thank you for always being a great blog visitor to me even when I’m not (!)

  2. January 15, 2011 5:32 pm

    I love Cyclamen! I’ve got one tiny one in my house, but no blooms on it now.

  3. January 15, 2011 5:43 pm

    This is my first year to try Cyclamens (though mine are outside – our winter being a wee bit warmer than yours). Had never thought about trying them indoors throughout the year – think I might try that. They certainly add cheer to the drab winter days.

  4. January 15, 2011 7:02 pm

    A very nice windowsill garden! We grow the Cyclamens as annuals outside during the winter…they add a nice, unexpected pop of color. Nice you can enjoy them all the time in your home.

  5. January 15, 2011 10:06 pm

    I love the shot of the cyclamen in front of the frosty-looking window. I have just one bloom to show for Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, an amaryllis that also sits in front of a window with a very white winter view. Even white flowers look more special against a backdrop of snow. Enjoy your winter garden, Jean.

  6. January 16, 2011 7:23 am

    Lovely, Jean. I’ve never had success with these. Yours are really pretty. Especially against the winter backdrop.

  7. January 16, 2011 7:57 am

    Beautiful. Wish I had a cool enough place for them indoors.

  8. January 16, 2011 10:16 am

    They are gorgeous!

  9. January 16, 2011 12:44 pm

    I like your little reminder of flowers ahead. “Winter” often means cyclamens over here in Southern California so it’s definitely not just a Maine thing. We’re lucky to be able to grown them in the garden, but in my case they’ve suffered the fate of many bulbous and tuberous plants–I forget where they are when they go dormant and then plant on top of them or place an overenthusiastic neighbor that quickly crowds them out.

    I can’t imagine life before window glass that allows us to grow tender plants indoors. I’m sure it’s affected how we relate to the world outside, hopefully in a positive way, but it sounds like a topic for a big blog post–or a book. Happy bloom day!

  10. January 16, 2011 4:08 pm

    I love cyclamen altho I don’t grow them. Was shocked when we were in Monaco years ago, to see them planted in lush abandon on balcony windowboxes. No commone Pelargoniums for the Monegasques ;>)

  11. January 17, 2011 3:30 am

    Jean, beautiful! I love cyclamen too and they are such a source for color in these months!!, Lula

  12. January 17, 2011 1:09 pm

    Cyclamen are very beautiful, also no chance of these beauty’s surviving if planted outside here in Scotland. I had a look at your earlier posts your gardens do look very beautiful. A belated thanks for picking my Agapanthus post.

  13. January 17, 2011 10:23 pm

    Beautiful photos Jean! I was just looking at the center of my flowers and you captured it so well. Lovely post!

  14. January 18, 2011 5:36 pm

    Jean,
    I just love your jewel-toned cyclamen. I have only recently taken a liking to hyacinths – for some reason they always reminded me of plastic flowers sitting on the back of some old woman’s toilet next to the kleenex box covered in crochet. I don’t have any idea why. But, I forced some this year, and wow! They smell wonderful. And, they are beautiful!

  15. January 20, 2011 9:53 am

    Jean, I agree – the jeweled colors of the cyclamen against the frosty winter scene is gorgeous and must add an extra measure of welcome and coziness to your room. Stay warm!

  16. January 27, 2011 10:02 pm

    Hello Everyone, Thanks for visiting and for your comments.

    Jan and Catherine, I do love cyclamen. I got my first one as a gift from a friend more than 15 years ago, and it’s still going strong. Along the way, I’ve acquired more, usually at Christmas when many of the local greenhouses carry them.

    Joene and Deb, As the snow falls outdoors, it is extra-special to see flowers blooming against the snowy backdrop.

    Ronny, Cat, and James, It turns out there are some varieties that are winter hardy here, so I can grow them outside, too! I’m planning to add some to my new woodland serenity garden, and it will be interesting to see how they do outdoors.

    Diane and Janet, They do like it cool. Like most northern New Englanders, I tend to keep my house pretty cool, which is perfect for cyclamen (especially since that window ledge is a bit drafty). Maine even stays cool in the summer, with overnight lows typically in the 50s, so my cyclamen often keep blooming all year round.

    One, Lula, and Carol, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

    Diana, I love the idea of lush window boxes overflowing with cyclamen!

    Alistair, Thanks for stopping by.

    Liisa, I lot of people are cool to hyacinths finding them too stiff and formal and their scent too cloying. I have always loved them, perhaps because they remind me a bit of lilacs.

Trackbacks

  1. Windowsill Gardens « Gardora.net

Leave a Reply

