Skip to content

A Heavenly Sight

September 28, 2010

When I planned the fence border for my Maine garden, I imagined it with ‘Heavenly Blue’ morning glories (Ipomoea) covering the fence in late summer and fall. I quickly learned, however, that this was easier planned than done (see Morning Glories in Maine).  The first year I tried it, the seeds were planted at the end of May, germinated well, and were thinned. But then the resident woodchuck ate most of the remaining seedlings, and the few vines that were left hardly grew at all during an exceptionally cool and wet June and July. I did finally get flowers in mid-September, but never more than two or three at a time.

Morning Glories blooming on the garden fence (photo credit:Jean Potuchek)This year, an exceptionally warm spring allowed me to plant the seeds a week earlier, and continued warmth meant that the vines grew quickly and had topped the fence by the end of June. I had hoped to see blooms before I left Maine, but our dry summer slowed the development of flowers and the buds were just forming in late August. This past weekend I went home to Maine after five weeks away, and I had high hopes of seeing flowers on the fence. It was dark when I got in on Friday night, so I rushed to the window to look out at the garden at first light Saturday morning. You can imagine my delight at the sight above!

Although the morning glories were the big treat of my Maine garden in September, they weren’t the only pleasures awaiting me.

Sedum ‘Autumn Joy’ is in its glory, Sedum 'Autumn Joy' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
September flowers on Rudbeckia 'Herbstsonne' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) and Rudbeckia ‘Herbstsonne’ is still making its fresh yellow and green flowers.
Against all odds, long after all the other Tradescantia in the garden have gone dormant, ‘Osprey’ is still blooming in the fence border. Tradescantia 'Osprey' still blooming in September (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Aster laevis 'Bluebird' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) I was particularly happy to see the flowers on Aster laevis ‘Bluebird,’ newly added to the garden this year.
xx

Flowers are not the only treat in the September garden. I also love seeing the seedheads of fall. Here we see those of Rudbeckia, Liatris aspera, Iris sibirica and Baptisia australis.

September seedheads (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 7:43 am

    Those Morning Glories are worth the trip home Jean.

    Eileen

  2. gardeningasylum permalink
    September 28, 2010 7:49 am

    Good morning Jean, Those blues are heavenly indeed! Agree about the seed heads this time of year – their forms are really interesting in the garden.

  3. September 28, 2010 8:31 am

    Lovely Jean! I am one of those that only has three blooms of Heavenly blue at a time. Mine are in a pot and not fed all summer. I can feel you excitement as daylight lit up your garden. It is so great you got to go home! Especially this time of year. ;>)

  4. September 28, 2010 8:51 am

    What gorgeous morning glories. I don’t think I’ve ever seen any in blue before. (mine always seemed to be pink and purple) Hope you had a wonderful weekend at home.

  5. September 28, 2010 10:37 am

    So glad you got to go home… and how beautiful that fence looks adorned with those Heavenly blossoms! I do love morning glory. Our Spring was way too late to plant them this year.

  6. September 28, 2010 10:41 am

    I love those morning glories. They’ve always been one of my favorites. Thanks for posting this.

  7. September 28, 2010 10:55 am

    That is surely the best welcome home anyone could have! I think I had a total of three morning glory flowers bloom before the frost hit.

  8. September 28, 2010 11:19 am

    Your Morning Glories are amazing, what a difference an early planting can make. Beautiful Aster, I really hope mine open soon.

  9. September 28, 2010 11:57 am

    I can’t believe it’s been five weeks already Jean. So glad you had an opportunity to visit your fall garden. The morning glories look stunning, and the Sedum…what a beacon to your garden bees and butterflies that must be!

  10. sequoiagardens permalink
    September 28, 2010 11:58 am

    Sounds as though you had a wonderful weekend, Jean! I wish “Autumn Joy” would perform for me. It is usually over before it has started and collapses into a mildewed mess. Perhaps our summers are too wet and too warm? I have several cuttings taken last autumn to try under different conditions this summer…

  11. September 28, 2010 12:42 pm

    The morning glory on the white fence is just beautiful. What a delightful sight first thing in the morning! I love the fall bloomers. I just added asters to my garden this year, too.

  12. September 28, 2010 4:10 pm

    What a pleasant stroll through your garden. The Rudbekia Herbstonne with green centers instead of ubiquitous black, are a garden designer’s dream.

  13. September 28, 2010 8:30 pm

    The morning glories look wonderful. I know that summers over when the sedum blooms. jim

  14. September 29, 2010 10:48 pm

    Morning glories are heavenly, indeed! I also love seedheads. The rudbeckia is really beautiful!

  15. September 30, 2010 11:12 am

    I am surprised that you were not out there with your flashight, lol, oh wait, that is me!

  16. October 1, 2010 4:21 pm

    Wonderful welcome back to your garden. They missed you. I love your seedhead collage.

  17. October 2, 2010 9:03 am

    This spring I planted a morning glory mix on a pergola post we see from the breakfast table. The outdoor spigot is right nearby so I was able to keep them watered during our long dry spell. For the six weeks or so we have been enjoying lush bloom of a pink variety, and the deeply tinted Granpa Ott, but only a very few Heavenly Blues. No matter they are all a glory, and I will plant there again in the spring. I’m glad you still have some morning glory season ahead of you.

  18. October 2, 2010 10:01 am

    I always enjoy comparing plants in your Maine garden with mine in south central CT. I have not planted morning glory seeds in the last two years. I simply let them drop seeds where they fall and now rather than babying seeds in the spring I ‘weed out’ volunteers throughout the growing season. My heavenly blue volunteers were also very slow to bloom this year and did not really begin to shine until September. ‘Grandpa Otts’ filled the gap. They grew and bloomed prolifically this year as they have in prior years.

  19. October 3, 2010 11:46 am

    Heavenly Blue is my favourite Ipomoea but I find it very temperamental (even worse than Ipomoeas in general). A little cool weather and it goes into a sulk. I’ve only been successful once in getting them to grow well. I must try again – the colour is well worth it.

  20. October 3, 2010 9:44 pm

    Hi Jean, i came here via Gloria’s. Your photos are beautiful and i envy you for having two houses and two gardens. That blue morning glory was so beautiful also when i saw it climbing a big tree that the trunk was fully embraced by it. It was a magnificent sight of a tall tree with blue flowers all around it, can you visualize it. Unfortunately, my photo was not very good so not able to post it.

Leave a Reply

