Skip to content

My Spring and Fall Garden

September 22, 2010

Gettysburg front garden in spring (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) When I began to garden seriously in Maine, one of my frustrations was having to leave my garden each August to return to teach in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. So when I found a house to rent in Gettysburg that allowed me to have a small garden here, I was thrilled. I first saw the townhouse property on a sunny morning in early May, and I immediately noticed the pink tulips blooming in a small flower bed (6’ x 4’) at the front of the house and a half barrel planter in the middle of the front lawn just crying out for some colorful flowers.

Before the ink was even dry on the lease, I had filled the half barrel with petunias, dianthus and pelargonium; and when I returned from Maine the following August, I planted some perennials in the front flower bed and some daffodil bulbs in a little 3’ diameter flower bed that a previous tenant had created by the patio at the rear of the house.

Schematic of garden areas in my Gettysburg garden In the years since, I have turned this into my spring and fall garden. Spring bulbs begin to bloom here in April, when my Maine garden is often still under snow. I return here in late August to blooms of daylilies, morning glories, balloon flower and sedum that last well into October. The garden has expanded since I first saw it; the diagram to the right shows the various garden areas as they exist today.

The front flower bed is still a vision of pink in the spring, but instead of pink tulips, it features two varieties of pink hardy geraniums, a blue and pink flowered Pulmonaria with frosted leaves, and a show-stopping  Dicentra spectabilis with a spread of close to 5’. In the fall, this same flower bed features three varieties of late blooming daylilies and Sedum ‘Neon.’

There are more flower beds at the back of the house. The small circle near the patio features daffodils and hyacinths in April, followed by some mauve volunteer columbines and blue siberian iris in May. In fall, this bed takes on a different personality with blooms of Hemerocallis ‘Orange Bounty,’ Platycodon mariesii, and Sedum ‘Autumn Joy.’ A 7’ x 2’ strip along the side of the patio that was filled with weeds when I moved in has been converted into an herb garden. In May, I sow morning glory seeds along the back of this area and get the vines started growing up twine attached to the fence; when I return in fall, it is to the pleasure of a fence covered in blue flowers.

During the first years I lived here, neighbors who rented the adjacent townhouse planted annuals in a 5’ circular flower bed edged with stones that straddled the line between our properties. When they moved out and the flower bed was left untended by the new tenant, I discovered my inner garden imperialist, unable to resist a flower bed just waiting to be colonized. With permission, I planted the stone circle with perennials and bulbs – some early blooming purple crocuses, a pale blue Phlox subulata that has now spread to cover the stone edging at the front of the flower bed, tradescantia, siberian iris, some reblooming daylilies, and some hostas.

Large flower bed at back of Gettysburg property (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) A few years after I laid claim to the stone circle, I found another opportunity for garden expansion when my landlord took down two white pine trees at the pack of the property. When he mentioned a plan to sow some grass seed in the resulting clearing, I asked if I could create a flower bed instead. The result was the largest flower bed in this garden, covering an area roughly 13’ x 7’. In the spring, this part of the garden delights me with daffodils, bleeding hearts, the pale pink blooms of geranium ‘Biokovo,’ and a flowering viburnum. In fall, it features several late-blooming daylilies, dramatic hosta foliage, and the flowers of Sedum ‘Matrona.’

It still makes me sad to leave my Maine garden each August, but having a second garden further south allows me to extend the garden season at both ends. In Gettysburg, I can enjoy spring flowers a month before my Maine garden begins to bloom and fall flowers after frost has effectively ended the northern garden season.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 10:47 pm

    How lucky you are to be able to enjoy two fabulous gardens. You’ve done such a lot of work in creating this Spring and Fall garden … so many lovely, lovely flowers. I just love how you took over the stone circle and convinced the landlord not to plant grass … more wonderful space for flower beds.

  2. sequoiagardens permalink
    September 23, 2010 4:57 am

    In the days when I still had a townhouse in Johannesburg and moved regularly between there and Sequoia, I had 15 odd large pots on a terrace against a background of trees in a communal garden. I often long for the focus a small garden brings – every pleasure counts!

  3. September 23, 2010 5:49 am

    I’m enjoying this tale of two cities Jean. It’s so nice to see you developing a flower garden out of something that was destined to be lawn.

    I’m also enjoying seeing the distinct seasons. Plants such as daylilies want to flower almost all year here in Wanganui.

    Cheers

    Terry

  4. September 23, 2010 7:52 am

    Jean, how wonderful that you’ve made yourself such a cozy home away from home. I hope you’re enjoying being back at school. Marguerite

  5. September 23, 2010 9:37 am

    Hi Jean, I didn’t realize that you had TWO gardens. I love your “garden imperialism”, and suspect that the colonized owners are appreciative. But I do stand in awe of tending two gardens and working (and blogging).

  6. September 23, 2010 9:48 am

    You sure have your hands full! But I still envy you having two gardens.

    It must be difficult to leave your Maine garden in the Fall.

  7. September 23, 2010 8:52 pm

    Two extra months is very cool. I hope your school year is going well. jim

  8. September 24, 2010 7:50 am

    Having two gardens will inspire each Jean! Have fun with your fall plantings! Happy Autumn! ;>)

  9. September 24, 2010 12:26 pm

    I remember the day we signed for the house we live in now. Before we moved any furniture in, there were pots filled with perennials on both sides of the front door. It is home.

    I have to hand it to you. Even if I had two homes and extended seasons, I’m pretty sure I would still stick with one garden.

    Thanks. Happy gardens.

  10. September 26, 2010 8:24 pm

    I can see how it would be intriguing and sort of fun to have two gardens in two rather different growing zones and environments, Jean. It’ll be fun to go through the year with you at this garden rather than at your beloved Maine homestead.

  11. September 27, 2010 8:57 pm

    I think having two gardens is a great way to extend the season, and much easier than what we’ll try this fall. After last year’s daffodil planting marathon, this fall we’ve purchased three times as many bulbs! I may not be up for air for quite some time, but I’m determined to extend my daff season, so we’re branching out with some different varieties. Maybe I should have planted a second garden elsewhere instead! So glad you convinced the landlord to let you plant out a flower bed instead of a monotonous lawn. Looking forward to seeing both of your both of your spring gardens!

  12. September 28, 2010 9:56 am

    Two gardens? Is that a hard thing to have? I got difficulties maintaining my plants in my garden while you have two gardens that you should keep aware for the maintenance. That one is really a difficult job. I will really love to see your garden in your next post. More pictures please!

Leave a Reply

