Skip to content

September Blooms in a Neglected Garden: GBBD, September 2010

September 15, 2010

Hemerocallis 'Happy Returns' blooming happily (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Because I normally spend the summer garden season in Maine, my small Gettysburg,  Pennsylvania garden is designed to be at its best in spring and fall. After a year of neglect and a summer of drought and excessive heat, however, many of the plants whose flowers usually bring me such pleasure in September are not blooming. But even under these difficult conditions, there is something in bloom in almost every area of the garden.

In the small flower bed at the front of the house, Hemerocallis ‘Happy Returns,’ the “energizer bunny” of daylilies, is looking fresh and green and blooming happily.

Once I cut off its ripening seed pods and gave it a drink, the balloon flower (Platycodon) in a tiny flower bed beside the patio at the back of the house began to enthusiastically make new flowers. Platycodon 'Mariesii' blooming in my Gettysburg garden (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
xx
Sedum 'Matrona' with hostas 'Paul's Glory' and nigrescens (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) In a larger flower bed at the back of the property, none of the fall daylilies are blooming; but  Sedum ‘Matrona,’ which is not at all discouraged by drought, is putting on a lovely display of pink against a backdrop of hosta.
xx
I am unaware of any hardships that will deter oregano from growing and blooming. This plant didn’t just survive a year of neglect; it took advantage of the opportunity to spread unchecked well beyond the boundaries of the herb bed. Oregano in bloom (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
xx

All of these September blooms brighten my days, and I am looking forward to a much more lavish display of fall flowers next September.

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what is blooming this September in gardens around the world.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 10:27 pm

    So glad those September blooms are there to make you smile, Jean. When I moved to my present home seven yearas ago, I left behind beautiful gardens and came to a yard with bindweed and tons of river rock. I was so sad. Then one morning I looked out the window to see a single wild sunflower blooming amidst the rocks. That sunflower cheered me up immensely and gave me the will to start over again. There’s just something magical about flowers… so keep smiling!

  2. September 15, 2010 11:12 pm

    Glad there’s a little left to lift the spirit. I can’t imaging living in 2 houses, being away last summer has been bad enough.

    Interesting about the oregano. I hope to grow some herbs next spring; maybe pots will be best.

  3. September 15, 2010 11:50 pm

    Hi Jean,

    It’s been interesting following your blog about the “neglected” garden. It took me ages to find the bindweed growing over a small trellis as I was looking for something rampant with large, lush leaves.

    When looking at your latest images I had to wonder what a garden in moist, temperate New Zealand would look like after being left for so long. I’m sure you’d need a machette to cut your way from letterbox to door. It’s fun to see the contrast.

    Cheers

    Terry

  4. thevioletfern permalink
    September 16, 2010 8:57 am

    What a lovely garden – even after your absence! Balloon flowers will always remind me of Maine – I need to add one to my garden here. Also, absolutely LOVE Sedum Matrona – had one of those too, but have not come across one here. One of these days … Your garden here is also beautiful if not big. How fun to have TWO gardens!

  5. September 17, 2010 7:13 pm

    Balloon flower has some of the nicest blossoms – such a nice splash of color.

  6. gardeningasylum permalink
    September 18, 2010 8:52 am

    I admire your ability to plan for prolonged absence – my one and only garden seems to fall apart if I’m not there for a few days! That platycodon was one of the bright spots in a senior housing garden I help maintain, laughing at the drought.

  7. September 18, 2010 1:05 pm

    Oh, I’m very impressed that you keep up with 2 gardens. Sometimes I feel like I’m in over my head with just one! I’m glad you found a few blooms and pretty foliage to greet you in your Penn garden.

  8. September 18, 2010 9:34 pm

    You have to admire oregano’s tenacity. I think the only thing that will deter it is constant ponding. I planted balloon flowers just last year and enjoyed many blossoms this year. Hoping next season will be even more balloony.

  9. September 20, 2010 11:57 pm

    Your garden seems to have come through awfully well. As for oregano, I’ve got it in every flower bed now. It escaped the herb garden a long time ago. Luckily its easy to pull out.

  10. September 22, 2010 8:33 am

    Hello Jean,
    Now I see what you mean about the oregano! At least you will have plently to add to your cooking 🙂 That balloon flower is very pretty, but then I’ll always fall for a purple flower!

  11. Linda B permalink
    August 3, 2013 6:35 pm

    Found your blog searching for a name to place on my oregano plant. You have it too! It survives the most neglected garden and keeps on growing. The scent is wonderful. Not sure if it is Mexican Oregano or not.
    Looks like this one I think:
    http://austinnativelandscaping.com/poliomintha-longiflora-mexican-oregano-rosemary-mint/

Leave a Reply

