Skip to content

In the Pink

June 27, 2010
The repetition of pinks in the deck border (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) These days, as I look out from the deck, my focus is on the deck border, to the right of the walkway that leads from the deck to the driveway; and my view out over that border is a vision in pink.
xx
The eye lights first on the clear pink of a mixed planting of Geranium endressii ‘Wargrave Pink’ and Geranium x oxonianum ‘A.T. Johnson.’ Pink geranium blooms (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Astilbe x arendsii 'Cattleya' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) It moves next to the more lavender spires of Astilbe x arendsii ‘Cattleya’ and the pink flowers of Heuchera ‘Raspberry Ice.’
At the front of the border, Geranium x cantagrigiense ‘Biokovo’ still has some of its pink-tinged flowers; and behind them, Tradescantia ‘Pink Chablis’ is covered with blooms. Tradescantia 'Pink Chablis' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Spirea japonica 'Magic Carpet' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Beyond these, clear pink is repeated in another clump of G. endressii ‘Wargrave Pink;’ and at the end of the border, the deeper pink blossoms of Spirea japonica ‘Magic Carpet’ contrast beautifully with the plant’s chartreuse foliage.
xx

Chartreuse and pink echoes (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) The pink theme continues across the walkway in the fence border, where the chartreuse and pink of ‘Magic Carpet’ is echoed in the chartreuse flowers of Alchemilla mollis and the deeper pink of G. x cantagrigiense ‘Karmina.’ I’m tempted to pretend that I planned this, but in truth this is one of those wonderful bits of garden serendipity. However it happened, that pink and chartreuse combination draws the eye across the the walkway from ‘Magic Carpet’ to the fence border.

Clematis 'Comtesse de Bouchaud' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) The eye then notices more pink G. endressii, and, behind those, the mauve flowers of Clematis ‘Comtesse de Bouchaud’ blooming on the fence.
xx
Even the containers on the deck have a pink theme right now. I love the pink colors of this petunia. Pink petunias (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Pink verbena with pink-throated petunia (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) And the way this bright pink verbena brings out the pink throat on the white petunia.
xx

Soon, the dominant colors of my garden will be blue and yellow. But, for now, to be in the garden is to be beautifully in the pink.

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 9:52 pm

    Beautiful, Jean. I also have the geraniums and love how they fill an area with their happy colour most of the season, Really like the verbena and white petunia together. That’s a great combination.

  2. June 27, 2010 10:10 pm

    Dear Jean, everything is so beautifully pink – I started to panic – is it the Valentine’s day already?

  3. gardeningasylum permalink
    June 27, 2010 10:14 pm

    I love the pinks too, and that spirea is especially beautiful.

  4. June 28, 2010 4:17 am

    Mrs IG has decided to plant some flowers in the front garden. I asked her what she had planted, and she replied “Some pink ones”.

    Oh well…

  5. June 28, 2010 9:19 am

    Jean, Pink is my favorite in the garden and in containers. I have lots of pink roses also. Beautiful photos!

    Eileen

  6. June 28, 2010 10:49 am

    Jean, your garden is looking wonderful! The pink astilbe is so pretty in the walkway bed. My blooms are also mainly pink now, and I’m waiting for the blues and yellows. Interesting progression, isn’t it?

  7. June 28, 2010 1:55 pm

    Hi Jean: Great tour of your garden. Felt like I was there.

    Enjoy the afternoon,
    John

  8. June 28, 2010 6:22 pm

    Hello Jean,

    Well, pink is one of my favorite colors in the garden. I just love the large blooms on your clematis and petunias are always a favorite as well.

    I hope you are enjoying your summer!

    Noelle

  9. June 28, 2010 7:16 pm

    Your first few photos with the geraniums and astilbes remind me of our first garden, both grew so well there, and much of that garden was pink or white. I love the carpet of pink from the spirea, I’ve never grown them. The verbena and petunia combination in the last photo though is just perfect.

  10. June 29, 2010 12:41 am

    We sure have a lot or the same pinks blooming! Pink and purple seem to be the main colors blooming here now.

  11. June 29, 2010 7:40 am

    Hi Jean – I love to see pink in a garden. It is such a soothing color and perfect with green. Very nice! PS-We just had the garden tour on Saturday

  12. lostlandscape permalink
    June 30, 2010 1:26 am

    Pink isn’t exactly a classic guy-color, but I have a surprisingly large amount of it in my garden along with the even less manly-sounding lavender flowers. (Calling the color “purple” helps.) But those soft colors are such garden-friendly shades. They look terrific in your garden.

  13. June 30, 2010 2:16 am

    Your pinks are very pretty indeed! And I love the steps running through your garden as well. Everything is looking great, Jean.

  14. June 30, 2010 11:03 am

    Your pinks are delightful, Jean. I love them too … now mine is a blast in yellows!

  15. June 30, 2010 9:24 pm

    The flowers look wonderful.
    Thank you for your kind remarks on my last post. I had 3 wonderful visits with my mom these last 3 weeks. jim

  16. June 30, 2010 11:07 pm

    The Comtesse is probably my favorite Clematis. So lovely.

    You’ve got some gorgeous compositions here, Jean. The hardy geraniums are so pretty in that soft light. 🙂

  17. June 30, 2010 11:54 pm

    Jean – Astilbe just moved to THE top of my wishlist/’must have’! Fantastic. -Shyrlene

  18. July 1, 2010 9:01 am

    Hi Jean, Your pinks are lovely! Such a soothing and calming color in the garden that really shines. I do like that petunia for sure.

    You are a genius for identifying my grandmother’s daylily from Maine. It is ‘Gay Troubadour’. The petals are more maroon and it has bloomed a very long time. I’ve never seen it down here in any gardens so aside from the fact it was my grandmother’s and came from Maine, I simply adore it as it is unique here. Thanks so much for giving it a name for me! I never would’ve thought to look at a NE nursery but it is likely my grandmother ordered it from here since my mother said she mail ordered some of her daylilies. Thanks so much and have a great weekend in Maine.

  19. July 1, 2010 4:37 pm

    Jean, that pretty petunia speaks to me! You have lovely shades of pink all over, though. Very nice!

  20. July 1, 2010 4:55 pm

    Jean – gorgeous photos. I am so envious of your Petunias. Mine called it quits on me.

  21. July 1, 2010 6:22 pm

    Your pinks really are gorgeous. I love the pink and chartreuse combination – serendipity is great! I would love to explore your garden paths!

  22. July 1, 2010 10:44 pm

    Hello Everyone, I’m glad you enjoyed all my pinks.

    Tatyana, Very funny comment about Valentine’s Day.

    Cyndy and Clare, I love the pink spirea, too. There are actually two of them planted side-by-side at the end of the border; and if I had known how big they were going to get, I would have only planted one. I either need to prune them back A LOT or move one of them out of there; there are whole gardens of plants (daylilies, irises, astilbe) now buried under spirea branches.

    IG, Since so many varieties of flowers come in pink, I’m sure Mrs. IG will end up with something lovely.

    John, Thanks for visiting.

    Jim, It’s nice to have your voice back in the blogosphere; you’ve been missed.

    Eileen, Gloria, and James, The funny thing is that I’ve never thought of myself as a particular fan of pink. I didn’t originally set out to plan a pink flower bed; it just happened — and once I realized it was happening, I decided to go with it. But I do love the way all those pinks look together; those soft pastels are just so soothing and relaxing.

    Rebecca and Joey, my yellows are just starting. Within the past week, yellow coreopsis, heliopsis, and 7 different varieties of yellow daylilies have all begun to bloom. Yellow is really my favorite color.

    Catherine, I think we have a lot of plants in common, especially given how different our gardening climates are. I do envy you those blue hydrangea, though!

    Noelle and Meredith, This is my first serious attempt at growing clematis. (I’m not counting the one I killed about 15 years ago when I had no idea what I was doing.) Lucky for me the Comtesse is listed by the Clematis society as a good, reliable variety for beginners.

    Shyrlene, Astilbe are wonderful. I have about 8 different varieties. The early ones are in bloom now, and the later ones are just showing buds. At least in my climate and conditions, they are easy, no-fuss plants, and they certainly do make a statement in the garden.

    Heather, Kimberly and Brandi, the petunias are the new “Supertunias.” Presumably, they have all the advantages of the wave petunias, but also come in a greater variety. We’ll see how they work out; so far, they’ve been great.

    Tina, I’m pleased to have that daylily identified, too, because I’d like to get one for my garden some day. I wonder if one of the Maine daylily breeders used to grow it; so many people seem to have it around here. Maybe the Barths; I think they were locally famous for their “dig your own” daylily fields in the 80s.

    Deb, LOL; this is it for garden paths — just the one path that runs about 45′ from the deck down to the driveway. For the first 25′ or so, the deck border is on one side of the walkway and the blue and yellow border is on the other side. The deck border continues beyond that, with the south end of the fence border and then the clothesline area (on the back side of the fence) across from it. I’d like to have more hardscape of this type eventually, but I’m aware that it took me 4 years to get this built! Diane, they’re not exactly steps, but sections of pavers separated by pea gravel. Because the walkway descends down a slope near the end, though, the paver sections do step down a bit.

  23. July 2, 2010 5:13 am

    Jean, yes I see what you mean about putting the bold colours in the back of your border against the bush….that’s it in your header, isn’t it?

    That is a great idea. Currently I have darker purple (monkshood) back there and it doesn’t really show up that well.

  24. July 4, 2010 9:29 am

    pretty in pink! your gardens are so beautiful! i love your combination of the petunia with the verbena… a striking partnership.

    i always welcome the pretty petal pinks into my beds. mallow became a favorite pink flower of mine a few years back, but alas, i think i unintentionally yanked it up when i redid my flower beds this year.

    • July 4, 2010 5:27 pm

      Allison, I fell in love with mallow when I first moved to Maine — but my early attempts to get it established in my garden all failed. I think there’s something about my conditions that just doesn’t meet its needs.

Leave a Reply

