Skip to content

Wordless Wednesday: Amaryllis ‘Apple Blossom’ Unfolding

February 17, 2010

Amaryllis Buds (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

Amaryllis Unfolding (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)Amaryllis Opening (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)Amaryllis Open (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Amaryllis in Full Glory (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

Home & Garden Blogs

26 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 8:03 am

    Gorgeous pictures, Jean.
    I do love the softer coloured amaryllis, after Christmas is over, I am very sick of the red ones.
    Deborah

  2. Elephant's Eye permalink
    February 17, 2010 8:04 am

    Good medicine for withdrawal symptoms. I copied your idea of a note on the sidebar. How long is a few days? Went down on Sunday evening. Must be soon?!

  3. gardeningasylum permalink
    February 17, 2010 8:24 am

    Love the progress of that sweet amaryllis. A good reminder of all the magic that will begin in a month or two…

    • Jean permalink*
      February 17, 2010 9:20 am

      Deborah, I’m with you on the amaryllis colors. I tend to get mine started late (despite my best intentions to the contrary), and then they grow slowly because my house is so cool. So, while I might think I want one of those intense reds in December, by the time it blooms in February or March, I want something that has more of a hint of spring about it.

      GA, you’re right; it does provide a reminder of the magic to come. How nice!

      Diana, When I was teaching undergraduates computer programming applications for sociological research, I had the following posted in the computer lab as a reminder to start their projects early: “A computer project that doesn’t go as planned takes 10 times longer than you expected; one that does go as planned only takes 3 times longer.” So, if Stuart estimated a few days (a nice vague estimate), I wouldn’t be surprised at a week.

  4. Nell Jean permalink
    February 17, 2010 9:47 am

    Apple Blossom — takes me back to another time, when Mr. Loran had Apple Blossom in his greenhouse connected to his florist. I was awed.

    Should we start a pool on the start-up date? I hope it is soon. On the other hand, we are forced now to interact among ourselves, not a bad thing.

  5. February 17, 2010 11:10 am

    Jean, what a beautiful post!

  6. February 17, 2010 12:54 pm

    Ah… I’m wordless now, as well! 😉

  7. February 17, 2010 3:03 pm

    Stunning photos, Jean!

  8. February 17, 2010 4:28 pm

    Jean, you’ve been holding out on us. Who would have known that you are an accomplished graphic artist? This post is beautifully executed. Framing the photos in green, that specific shade of green, is brilliant.

    • Jean permalink*
      February 17, 2010 9:10 pm

      Aw shucks, Allan. I’ll have to give Picasa credit for having this color of green available as an option — but I’ll take the credit for recognizing how that color would look with these photos!

      Joey, Meredith, and Amy, I’m pleased that you enjoyed my photos. It was fun to get my camera out every day for a week or so to photograph these flowers.

      Nell, I love the idea of having a pool for people to predict when Blotanical will be back up. How precise do you think we should ask people to be? Day? Hour? Minute? And what time zone should predictions be tied to?

  9. February 18, 2010 12:06 am

    I love the progression you show and the way you’ve shown it. The delicate green frames around the images complement the amaryllis perfectly, picking up on the green at the center of the flower. We see the pink, we see the white. But you’ve let us notice the green.

  10. February 18, 2010 12:14 am

    Your collages are fabulous Jean! Picture-perfect;-) Eye candy;-) A sight for snow covered eyes;-) I had one like yours about 2 yrs ago but it didn’t survive through the next year. I usually like to watch them bloom again the following year. I will have to look for one like this another year…it’s so ‘refreshing’ and quietly, wordlessly, screams ‘spring’!

  11. February 18, 2010 1:29 am

    Jean,
    I so enjoy watching the Amaryllis open from bud, just as much if not more than the actual flowers. Your collages are beautiful, and I have found they are great fun to create. Thank you for sharing these beautiful portraits. 🙂

  12. Barry permalink
    February 18, 2010 8:16 am

    Jean, My background is in Animation, so your post is particularly pleasing to me. A lovely storyboard of the the passage of bud to bloom.

  13. February 18, 2010 10:12 am

    Your pictures are so beautiful and show that each step of a bloom unfolding is beautiful as well.

    • Jean permalink*
      February 18, 2010 7:51 pm

      James, Thank you for the kind words. The are especially meaningful to me coming from an artist.

      Barry, I did think what fun it would be to be able to do one of those time-lapse animations where the shutter snaps every x hours; this was my once-a-day imitation of that, so I’m glad you could see the connection.

      Noelle, the process of a bud unfolding into bloom is especially dramatic in an amaryllis and fun to capture. Maybe in the summer, I’ll try the same thing with a platycodon bloom. Different, but also dramatic and lovely.

      Liisa, This was my first attempt at using a Picasa collage in a post. I agree; they’re a fun form of creative play.

      Jan, I must confess I almost never succeed in getting a second year of bloom out of an amaryllis — mostly because I never quite get myself together to do what’s necessary. Someone recently published a post with instructions, so I’m going to look it up and try again. We’ll see if my good intentions take me further this year!

  14. February 19, 2010 12:45 pm

    What gorgeous collages! I really enjoyed my amaryllis, but they finished blooming last month. Now all 6 are looking like a jungle while smashed onto my kitchen window sill.

  15. February 19, 2010 7:19 pm

    What a pretty one! This is one I wished I would’ve bought when I saw it. It looks as good as I thought it would.

    • Jean permalink*
      February 20, 2010 10:34 am

      Catherine, I consider amaryllis blooms the most extraordinary pleasure, and coming right at the point in winter when I really need something. This is a pretty amaryllis. I’ve had Apple Blossom before, but alas I haven’t managed to keep it going to bloom again.

      VW, It occurs to me that the reason I don’t manage to keep my amaryllis bulbs flourishing from one year to the next is that they are not very interesting plants when they’re not in bloom (or at least in bud), so I just lose interest in them. I’d love to be more successful with them and also to buy some fancier varieties, but I think I will need to adjust my attitude first. :-~

  16. February 20, 2010 5:13 pm

    Every picture tells a story 🙂

  17. February 20, 2010 5:45 pm

    What a lovely unfurling of fresh and sweet blooms. I love the spring colours of this amaryllis. Your collages really do it justice. Perfect!

  18. February 21, 2010 1:45 pm

    Jean this was a great idea to capture the opening of those beautiful coloured buds – wonderful collages !

  19. February 21, 2010 8:00 pm

    Oh my, what a beautiful collage, and of course even more beautiful flowers.

    Jen

    • Jean permalink*
      February 21, 2010 8:44 pm

      Anna, Garden Ms., Rosie and Jen, I’m happy that you enjoyed my amaryllis. There are not many signs of spring outdoors here yet, so this spring-like presence indoors was very welcome.

  20. February 26, 2010 11:06 am

    Jean, What a lovely montage of your budding to flowering amaryllis! I do so love the apple blossom’s soft color. Beautiful!! ;>)

    • Jean permalink*
      February 26, 2010 11:19 am

      Carol, It’s nice to know that you’re feeling well enough to be commenting on blogs. Maybe your own returning health will be kind of like the bud opening up into a glorious set of blooms. But remember, take it slowly and don’t push yourself too hard.

Leave a Reply

