Skip to content

Indoor Blooms to Cheer a Winter Day: January GBBD

January 15, 2010

Pink cyclamen blooming on window ledge (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Having flowers in bloom in winter makes an important contribution to my sanity. Fortunately, this drafty window ledge full of winter light is the perfect environment for cyclamen, and they bloom like crazy during the winter months.

I love their translucent look in the slanting rays of the winter sun. Pink cyclamen bloom (phot credit: Jean Potuchek)

The flame red color of this one takes my breath away.red cyclamen (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

red cyclamen bloom (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) (Oops, I guess I need to clean the windows.)

Pop in to visit May Dreams Garden to see what other garden bloggers have in bloom this January bloom day.

Home & Garden Blogs

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 2:31 am

    Jean,
    What beautiful color! I love cyclamen, and tried one last year, without much success. I have since learned that they appreciate cooler temperatures, especially at night. It was suggested to me that they can be brought to the basement for the night. Yours look quite happy there in the window. Maybe I will try again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. January 16, 2010 6:50 am

    Lovely cyclamen Jean! The red is vibrant and oh so happy! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Carol

  3. January 16, 2010 7:37 am

    Jean girl .. I love those plants but never seem to buy them because of the “girls” my kitties will find a plant one way or another ? haha
    What gorgeous colours they are to brighten the mood .. and hey .. been there done that with pictures through windows that need a bit of cleaning ? LOL

  4. January 16, 2010 8:20 am

    Hi Jean. Like you, my indoor blossoms, as few as they are, help keep me garden sane. Mine comes from African violets, however. They never let me down.

  5. January 16, 2010 10:44 am

    Just the perfect spot for a cyclamen!

  6. January 16, 2010 10:54 am

    Beautiful cyclamen, I love watching the blooms unfurl from below the leaves.

  7. January 16, 2010 11:48 am

    Cyclamen is one of my winter faves. I’ve never been able to bring one back into bloom, however. I always search around the display to try to find a fragrant one. Frequently I’m able to find one. They’re usually smaller than the others, nearer the species, I’m sure.

    Now I want to find some winter-hardy bulbs to plant outside next fall for winter bloom. I forget who had one for bloom day, but it was exciting.

  8. January 16, 2010 4:50 pm

    Just the perfect tonic for a winters Day Jean – they must bring a smile to your face every time you walk by. Have never had any joy with growing them indoors – they have sometimes died within a week of purchase. I not brilliant with houseplants but think they must have been in too high temperatures before I have got them – well’s that’s my excuse anyway ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. January 16, 2010 5:15 pm

    Beautiful! I have always been so fond of cyclamens. I will really have to have a go at one of these again especially after seeing yours – the petals almost remind me of Valentine hearts. And what is not to love about blooms in winter.

    • Jean permalink*
      January 16, 2010 7:51 pm

      I’m glad you all enjoyed my cyclamen. I usually go for softer colors in my garden; but, in the winter, when the predominant outdoor color here is white, the more vibrant the flower colors, the better!

      Anna, I don’t just enjoy walking by these; I spend a lot of my time sitting by them. This window ledge is right beside my favorite chair (where I read, think, grade student papers and exams, sometimes eat) and there’s an open spot for my ever-present mug of tea to sit right beside the cyclamen. So they are a constant presence for me.

      Nell, I had no idea that cyclamen could be fragrant. I just went and stuck my nose in these after reading your comment, but they don’t seem to have any scent. Actually, I didn’t even know cyclamen existed in the world until a friend gave me a pot of them as a gift (the ones in the yellow pot at the foreground of the first picture) 16 years ago. I’ve never particularly coddled them; I give them a little water about once a week, and I have repotted that first one once or twice. At this point, they’ve increased enough that I have blooms on one plant or another almost all the time (although the most profuse blooms are in the winter).

      I think this may be just a lucky confluence of needs and desires. Like the cyclamen, I prefer a cool climate, and cooler at night. In the winter, my house is heated by wood, and is usually somewhere in the mid-sixties (F) during the day. Before I go to bed at night, I either let the woodstove go out or I bank it so that it burns very slowly through the night. As a result, the house cools off during the night and is usually somewhere in the 55-59 F range by morning. In the summer, I usually keep all the windows open in the house, and overnight temps in Maine are typically in the fifties, even in July.

      Liisa, you may be the only person in northern New England whose house is too warm in winter for these plants! I would never be able to keep up a regimen of moving the plants to a cooler place every night; I’d probably do it faithfully for about three nights and then fall off the wagon. So more power to you if you can do it. I should send you the amaryllis I am trying to coax into bloom, which has been crying foul ever since I put it in the pot and added it to the collection on my sunny window ledge. It looked so miserable that I brought it into the bedroom, which is the warmest room in the house, a couple of weeks ago. Although it doesn’t get as much light in that room, it seems happier and has finally started growing.

  10. January 16, 2010 10:50 pm

    Hi Jean~~ I’ve got a species of hardy cyclamen in my garden, also fragrant. Like Lily of the Valley. Yours are lovely.

    A question if I may: About the Windows Live, I’m in the process of downloading it but of course there is an installation issue. Once I get this worked out, I’d like to use fonts that I’ve got in my font folder but are not on Blogger. Will this be an issue? I’ve been scanning tutorials so if I keep looking I may find the answer.

  11. January 17, 2010 7:54 am

    Jean, your cyclamen are so lovely! i used to have pots of them every winter before we moved to our new house… sadly we don’t have many good exposure windows for them to be by. i have a feeling though when i run to to the supermarket this morning, a cyclamen may be coming back home with me now ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Jean permalink*
      January 17, 2010 6:07 pm

      Grace, I just learned that one species of hardy cyclamen is hardy to zone 5! It never occurred to me that I could grow these outdoors. I may try one in my the new woodland garden that I’m planning and see how it does.

      Allison, maybe that’s a solution to your indoor exposure problems, too; plant them outdoors.

  12. January 19, 2010 10:05 am

    I’ve never had good luck with cyclamen. Yours are lovely!

Leave a Reply

