Skip to content

The Colors of Autumn

October 27, 2009

The golds of fall foliage against a blue October Sky,Gold foliage and blue sky (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

the russet hues of oak leaves, Oak tree in autumn (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
Fall foliage on Spirea japonica 'Magic Carpet' (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) the oranges of Spirea japonica ‘Magic Carpet’ spilling over the garden wall,
the browns and beiges of fallen leaves Fallen leaves (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)
… and of firewood to be stacked. Firewood (photo credit: Jean Potuchek)

…And, contrasting with all these, the greens of pine and hemlock needles.

White pine needles (photo credit: Jean Potuchek) Hemlock needles in autumn (photo credi: Jean Potuchek)

Home & Garden Blogs

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    October 27, 2009 12:40 pm

    Wonderful photos of fall color!

  2. October 27, 2009 1:48 pm

    I love your photos of autumn. The unstacked wood brings back memories of living in the northeast. I had a wood stove for a while.

  3. October 27, 2009 2:41 pm

    Now why can’t my spirea japonica look like that? Maybe it is still early.

  4. October 27, 2009 2:52 pm

    I really love the colour of that magic carpet!

    RO 🙂

  5. October 27, 2009 2:58 pm

    I remember all that wood to be stacked too! Ours came with copperhead snakes. Does yours?

    Beautiful fall color. We don’t get that here, but in other parts of Texas it is very pretty now.

    I just love to read your blog.

  6. October 28, 2009 9:28 am

    That looks like a lot of wood. When a third of our sugar maple cam down earlier this year, we had to cut it all up ourselves. We got over 3 cords. It looks so pretty all piled up.
    Looks like the leaves are really turning, finally!

    • Jean Potuchek permalink*
      October 28, 2009 9:37 am

      Three cords is about how much is in this picture. (I had stacked most of the first two cords before this was taken.) I try to work on it about 2 hours each afternoon; it should all be done by the end of next week — which will be very satisfying.

  7. October 28, 2009 4:51 pm

    Yes, the green is also an autumn color!

  8. thevioletfern permalink
    October 29, 2009 8:18 pm

    How beautiful! Ah, how I miss my little jotul woodstove in Maine! A site I remember is the Juncos “hiding” in my wood pile during a winter storm.

  9. October 30, 2009 6:45 am

    Wow, wonderful fall colors. Just looking at the wood waiting to be stacked I can almost feel the chill in the air and smell the scent of a fire. Aaaahhh!

    Love that Spirea japonica.

    Do your pine and hemlock needles have a scent?

    FlowerLady

    • Jean Potuchek permalink*
      October 30, 2009 12:32 pm

      This was a great question, and the answer is yes. I am embarrassed to admit, however, that I had to go outside, crush some needles, and sniff them to find that out. Pine and hemlock do not have as strong a scent as balsam fir, which people around here make sachets from and which is a regional favorite for Christmas trees and wreaths. And because my house is surrounded by pine/hemlock woods (“the murmuring pines and the hemlocks” of Longfellow’s poem), I think I just take their scent for granted as part of the background of my life. Thanks for making me take time to smell the conifers!

      • October 30, 2009 7:29 pm

        Oh Jean ~ I’m so glad my post inspired you to go crush some needles to smell. I wish we had some scented pines. I really love the balsam scent. I had some incense cones that I bought at a local flea market years ago, that smelled just like Christmas trees and loved them. Thank you again for your wonderful autumnal post.

        Love and hugs ~ FlowerLady

Leave a Reply

