Skip to content

A New Year in Two Gardens

January 1, 2014
Cover_1This is the fifth year that I have created gift calendars for friends and family, using some of my best Jean’s Garden photos. Because 2014 is the last year I will have my second garden in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, I featured quite a few images of that garden in this year’s calendar. These include the cover and October photos of morning glories (Ipomoea tricolor). I wanted to commemorate these both because they were exceptionally beautiful this year and because I’ll never be able to grow profusely blooming morning glories like these in Maine. The February bleeding hearts (Lamprocapnos spectabilis), March crocus blooms, and April forsythia and daffodils are also from my Gettysburg garden. All other photos are of my Maine garden.

Here are this year’s calendar images (click on any image to enlarge it):

January_3 February_2

January

February

March_2 April_2

March

April

May_2 June_2

May

June

July_3 August_2

July

August

September_2 October_2

September

October

November_2 December_2

November

December

Once again this year, I had my calendars produced by Lulu.com, using their 13” x 19” premium format. Of the three companies whose calendars I have tried, Lulu is the clear winner for quality of color reproduction.

If anyone would like to purchase a Jean’s Garden calendar, they are available for sale directly from Lulu here.

Here’s wishing everyone a happy garden year in 2014.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. CathyT permalink
    January 1, 2014 7:40 am

    What a lovely idea Jean, and superb photographs. Happy New Year to you!

    • January 3, 2014 5:37 pm

      Happy New Year, Cathy. The first year I did these, I wasn’t sure how they would go over; but it turned out they were a big hit. And I find choosing the photos and putting the calendars together a lot of fun.

  2. January 1, 2014 7:58 am

    I think it’s a great idea,I might just copy it.
    Lovely photos. I think you need a lot of sun to grow such great Morning Glory.
    Chloris

    • January 3, 2014 5:39 pm

      Chloris, Feel free to borrow this gift idea; I’ve found that my family and friends really love getting them. You don’t just need sun to grow morning glories, you need a longer growing season than we have in Maine. Once I’m retired and living here full time, I’m going to try starting them inside in March to see if I can get them blooming before frost.

  3. Helen Johnstone permalink
    January 1, 2014 8:04 am

    Happy New Year

  4. January 1, 2014 9:34 am

    Happy New Year Jean and happy gardening 2014!

    • January 3, 2014 5:40 pm

      Happy New Year and happy gardening to you, Sofia.

  5. January 1, 2014 3:56 pm

    Beautiful images and I think the idea is wonderful. I was going to ask who or what you used to publish your calendar but you answered that. I’m working on a book (not about gardening) too so the resource may be useful on 2 counts. Thanks, Jean, and happy new year!

    • January 3, 2014 5:41 pm

      Happy New Year, Kris. I’ve been very happy with Lulu — and their color reproduction is very high quality, which could be important if your book will include images.

  6. January 1, 2014 4:35 pm

    That peony in June is gorgeous. I’m thinking of adding a two tone peony to my garden, something really fantastic about those flowers.

    • January 3, 2014 5:43 pm

      Marguerite, ‘Monsieur Jules Elie’ is not only beautiful to look at; it has a fabulous fragrance. Of the three peony divisions from others’ gardens that I planted, this is the one that has best gotten established and thrived in my garden.

  7. January 2, 2014 7:20 am

    Lovely photos ans idea! May 2014 be a good year for you, Jean!

  8. January 3, 2014 12:57 pm

    Absolutely beautiful images Jean! I love the idea of making a personal garden calender as a gift.

    • January 3, 2014 5:47 pm

      Spurge, Gift calendars were something I thought about for years before I finally got myself together to do it. I was surprised how easy it was and how big a hit they were with the recipients. One tip is to try to allow enough time to have a sample copy made and then make any necessary adjustments. This year, for example, the March image of crocus blooms was a big disappointment in my sample copy; the image was very dark and the flowers looked red instead of purple. Before I had more copies made, I edited that image by toning down the red tones, increasing the blue tones, and increasing the brightness.

  9. January 3, 2014 7:11 pm

    Your photos are lovely. Happy New Year and greetings from Montreal, Canada.

    • January 7, 2014 7:56 pm

      Happy New Year, Linda. I hope you are keeping warm up there in Montreal!

  10. January 3, 2014 7:46 pm

    I love that you create this calendar and that your share your year with us. Wishing a 2014 that’s colorful!

    • January 7, 2014 7:58 pm

      Thanks, Kevin. The calendars are definitely a labor of love, a pleasure to create and to give — and, I hope, to receive.

  11. joenesgarden permalink
    January 4, 2014 1:01 pm

    Jean, your photos are lovely, as always. With this being the last year your gardening efforts will be split between different zones, something tells me we will see wonderful things happening in your Maine garden soon. Happy New Year!

    • January 7, 2014 8:59 pm

      Joene, I’m currently working with a landscape architect to design a whole new front garden to be created after the addition is built on my house next summer. More on this project to come; it’s going to keep me busy for years!

  12. January 7, 2014 6:21 am

    Looking good Jean
    Morning glory in Aberdeen grown as an annual took all its time, I may have a bit more success now that we have moved further south.

    • January 7, 2014 9:11 pm

      Alistair, It will be interesting how much difference being further south makes in growing morning glories. I’m going to try to start them indoors next year and then plant out the seedlings when the soil warms up enough to support them; maybe I can get them blooming a bit earlier in the season that way.

  13. January 7, 2014 1:53 pm

    What a brilliant idea! Judy and I are sitting here (snowed in for a second day, both our workplaces closed) and have agreed we have to do the same thing next year! Gorgeous photos.

    • January 7, 2014 9:13 pm

      Jason, This would be a perfect way to share your gardening skills and Judy’s photography skills. And you’d have the option of including some bird photos, too. One trick I have learned over the years is to create a “calendar” folder in my photo archives where I can copy promising images as I go along through the year. Having this file to work with makes assembling the final calendar much less daunting.

  14. January 12, 2014 9:27 pm

    So beautiful Jean. Your photos capture each month perfectly.

  15. January 19, 2014 7:19 pm

    What a lovely calendar you’ve created, Jean! I do this, too! It’s so fun to relive the gardening year a month at a time with sweet photo reminders. Lovely pix, too. I use Snapfish and Mpix for calendar creation & have been very pleased with both.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

