Skip to content

Sweet Pennsylvania Spring: GBBD, April 2013

April 15, 2013

gburg back garden AprilSpring has finally arrived in my southern Pennsylvania garden, and it is sweet. April is one month of the year that I would much rather be in Gettysburg than in Maine (where there may still be patches of snow in my garden).

Spring was very slow arriving in Gettysburg this year as we had unseasonably cold weather in March and the first week in April. And then, about a week ago, the temperature shot up into the 80s (F) and plants put on a sudden spurt of growth and bloom.

Lots of greenery has appeared in the front flower bed, and the Pulmonaria has begun to bloom.

gburg front flower bed april gburg pulmonaria april
In the back garden, daffodils and hyacinths have burst into bloom in the small circle by the patio. gburg small circle april

And the back flower bed is putting on its April display of yellows and blues.

gburg back bed april

In the stone circle, blue hyacinths bloom with tete-a-tete daffodils, gburg stone circle april
gburg white bleeding heart … and the white bleeding heart is showing its first flowers.
In a few days, the forsythia have gone from new blooms to fading blooms and new leaves. gburg forsythia blooms

The sweetness of April in my Pennsylvania garden is enhanced by borrowed blooms,

gburg borrowed forsythia like these forsythia along a neighbor’s back property line,
… and the charming Muscari (grape hyacinths) that someone planted around the mailboxes. gburg mailbox muscari

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of every month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what’s in bloom this month in gardens around the world.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2013 6:04 am

    So good to see Spring arrive Jean. 80f in April, how good is that. Yesterday finally saw the temperature rise about 10c making it for us a balmy 15c/58f.

    • April 20, 2013 5:48 pm

      Alistair, the 80F temperatures certainly jump-started spring blooms, but I have been happy to see temperatures return to more normal levels of about 65F. One of the joys of spring here is that it unfolds at such a lovely, slow pace. (Also, my students have switches in their brains that flip to “summer” position when the temperatures get above 80; they’re easier to teach when it is a bit cooler :-).)

  2. April 16, 2013 7:30 am

    What a cheerful sight, thanks for sharing and keep enjoying your garden and spring!

    • April 20, 2013 5:49 pm

      Annette, It is a cheerful sight, and I am thoroughly enjoying it. At this time of year, I find myself walking around with a big smile on my face most of the time. Spring makes me feel so happy!

  3. April 16, 2013 7:44 am

    Lovely pictures – spring in Pennsylvania looks very similar to in the UK though I suspect it doesnt last as long with you as you seem to have higher temperatures now than we do,

    • April 20, 2013 5:55 pm

      Maureen, Those very warm temperatures were unusual for this time of year. Southern Pennsylvania seems to have just about a perfect climate for spring because the season usually unfolds slowly here. When something you love blooms, the blooms will last for quite a while, but new favorites also bloom each week. Right now, the forsythias, daffodils, and hyacinths are finishing their bloom and the magnolias are past their peak, but the tulips and flowering fruit trees are looking wonderful, and the flowering dogwoods and redbud trees are just coming into bloom. (And we still have irises and lilacs to look forward to.)

  4. April 16, 2013 7:48 am

    Those northeast winters sure are dreary and gray. Thank heavens for forsythia! And I love the pulmonaria and white bleeding heart. I must find a spot for them somewhere.

    • April 20, 2013 7:13 pm

      Sarah, Northern New England winters are actually characterized by lots of sun and blue skies in between snow storms. My first winter in Gettysburg, I wasn’t prepared at all for how dreary, gray and rainy winter can be in the mid-Atlantic region. The payoff, though, is the gorgeous springs we have here.

      I don’t find the white bleeding heart as vigorous as the pink, but I love its quiet beauty.

  5. Nell Jean permalink
    April 16, 2013 1:22 pm

    Forsythia and Daffodils: Spring doesn’t get any prettier.

    • April 20, 2013 7:15 pm

      Nell, the forsythia and daffodils are just about done here, but we’re now into a spring pink period — with lots of tulips, pink magnolias, cherry trees, flowering dogwoods, azaleas, and redbud trees in bloom. The pink is pretty, too!

  6. April 16, 2013 4:16 pm

    Lovely forsythia, daffs, muscari … I think yellow and blue are very spring-like colors. Of course, I like them in summer and fall, also.

    • April 20, 2013 7:32 pm

      Jason, I am generally very partial to yellow and blue, but my favorite color combination at this time of year is yellow and pink — daffodils and early tulips, forsythia blooming together with cherry trees and pink magnolias.

  7. April 16, 2013 8:06 pm

    Jean I love how the blues and yellows are dominating your spring garden…just getting the same blooms started here.

    • April 20, 2013 7:34 pm

      Donna, Right now it’s mostly yellows, but they will soon give way to pinks and violets as the tulips, viburnum, bleeding hearts, moss phlox and lilacs bloom.

  8. April 17, 2013 2:33 pm

    Sweet! Enjoy your spring. After a low of 21 degrees last night, I’m hoping that we’re back to some milder spring weather as well.

    • April 20, 2013 7:37 pm

      We have a freeze warning for tonight — but just low 30s, not 20s (brrr). I’m not concerned about my garden because I haven’t put out anything tender yet. I’m worrying, though, about how the annuals that my next door neighbor has already put out will fare.

  9. Astrid permalink
    April 17, 2013 5:04 pm

    Lovely forsythia, muscari and daffodils! I used to have Pulmonaria – must buy it again. So pretty…

    • April 20, 2013 7:39 pm

      Astrid, I do love these spring flowers. I don’t have pulmonaria in my Maine garden; but I may divide the one here when I move next year and take a piece with me to plant in Maine.

  10. April 19, 2013 6:42 am

    Spring in Wisconsin is still stalled Jean, so refreshing to see your glorious blooms! You are showing me a preview of my own yard dear and it’s SO difficult to wait!

    • April 20, 2013 7:41 pm

      Sheila, I was feeling the same way through our unusually cold March and early April. It didn’t help that spring came extra early last year, making the contrast with this year all the more vivid. Spring has truly arrived here now, though. Trees are beginning to leaf out, and there are irises and lilacs along my walk to work that look like they may bloom in the next week. I hope spring gets to you in Wisconsin soon.

  11. April 20, 2013 2:37 pm

    You’re so right to appreciate your Pennsylvania garden this time of year. We still have snow in ditches and around trees, some of the ground is still frozen. Bulbs are trying to push through but it’s a slow process.

    • April 20, 2013 7:43 pm

      Marguerite, Southern Pennsylvania seems to be the perfect spring climate. I’m headed up to Maine next weekend and hoping that all the patches of snow will be gone so that I can do spring clean-up in the garden. After I retire, I think I’m going to plan a trip south to spring in the Carolinas and mid-Atlantic states each April. By April, snow really gets old (both literally and figuratively :-)).

  12. April 27, 2013 3:48 pm

    Hello Jean, some lovely flowers in your GBBD, your dicentra is much earlier than ours, which is barely in leaf (still mostly pink stems at this stage); do you have yours in planted in a sunny spot?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

