Skip to content

A Seasonal Transition: GBBD, November 2012

November 15, 2012

gburg november sedumWhen Hurricane Sandy blew through Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, she brought a dramatic transition to a new season featuring unseasonably cool temperatures and frost most nights. For me, this has marked the end of the outdoor garden season. Although Sedum ‘Neon’ still has some color, the Pelargonium on the patio has given up its last bloom and the annuals in the large container at the front of the house have been removed to make way for tulip bulbs and the promise of spring.

gburg frosted pelargonium gburg tulip bulbs

But just as outdoor blooms are dying, indoor blooms are coming to life. The Christmas cactus (Schlumbergera) that I bought in full bloom last December has revealed itself to be a Thanksgiving cactus. Each morning I wake to its extravagantly voluptuous blooms along with those of a potted cyclamen on the window ledge in my bedroom.

bedroom window november christmas cactus bloom

In the living room, two different colors of cyclamen are blooming harmoniously in one pot. I love the way they look together.

two-color cyclamen

I have amaryllis (Hippeastrum) bulbs waking up in their pots, but no signs of flower spikes yet.

I won’t have outdoor blooms again until March (if it’s an early spring) or April. Meanwhile, my indoor blooms will have to carry me through.

Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day is hosted on the 15th of each month by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. Visit her blog to see what is in bloom this month in gardens and on window ledges around the globe.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2012 6:15 am

    Cyclamens are one perfect source of color in fall, as yours are. I brought with me from Brussels one fucsia and is still adapting to the mediterranean, very mild, fall weather, no flowers yet though. I hope it blooms soon!

  2. November 16, 2012 7:39 am

    Before I had real garden of my own I was fanatical about house plants but once the space came I shifted my interest to the outdoors and have neglected any remaining indoor plants. I think I might feel differently if there was no chance of blooms outdoors for months, and your post has really made me think – thank you Jean.

  3. November 16, 2012 1:14 pm

    Jean,
    Your indoor garden is delightful! Thanks for sharing and Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. patientgardener permalink
    November 16, 2012 1:37 pm

    It seems to me many US bloggers rely on indoor gardens for the winter far more than the gardeners in the Uk do but I suppose that is because you have much harsher winters. Looking forward to see more pictures of your indoor flowers over the winter

  5. November 16, 2012 9:09 pm

    So sad to see it all end. My Christmas cactus is a Halloween cactus…Happy Thanksgiving.

  6. November 17, 2012 4:06 am

    Hi Jean, even if we don’t experience the changes in seasons as dramatic as your temperate climes, I am always saddened by the dying plants painstakingly cared for by their owners. Sometimes I already remember how a garden of s friend blogger looks like, and due to my constant visits, i share the freeling, or maybe I even emote more than them.

  7. November 17, 2012 6:16 pm

    I was confused as to why you won’t have any flowers at all until March (why no snowdrops?) but then I looked up what your zone means in terms of climate. I feel cold already just thinking about your winter, Jean!

  8. November 18, 2012 9:26 am

    I, too, discovered that my Christmas cactus is really a Thanksgiving cactus. It’s loaded with buds, some big, some small. I am hoping to avoid the dreaded bud-drop that afflicted it last year, when it was brand new. Any suggestions?

  9. joenesgarden permalink
    November 21, 2012 5:14 pm

    I’m a bit tardy in responding here, Jean, but your cyclamen are wonderful. My Thanksgiving cacti are also in bloom, for which I’m very grateful.

    Hope you have a wonderful, peaceful, restorative Thanksgiving.

  10. November 21, 2012 8:12 pm

    Glad to hear my little cactus isn’t the only one pushing the date. I thought perhaps the conditions were off in my house.

  11. November 21, 2012 10:48 pm

    You need some fall-blooming camellias to hold you through late fall.

  12. November 25, 2012 2:19 pm

    Beautiful cyclamen. I started some from seed this year — and three plants survived. They are in my office, and I am patiently waiting for them to bloom. Not sure if it will happen this year, since they are still young. Enjoy the change in weather!

  13. December 5, 2012 2:41 pm

    I really like the Christmas Cactus, my Mom has an enormous one which never fails to bloom. I’ve also moved my garden indoors for the next few months.

  14. December 10, 2012 4:53 pm

    Hi Jean, guess I’ve wildly missed the November GBBD. I remember writing in the October post that I would be more organised but I’ve missed this one as we went on holiday. I could post back with pictures of Aloes and Bird of Paradise, Plumbagos, dates and Frangipanes but that would be cheating. I don’t think I’ll have anything for December and I know I’m going to miss that too since we’ll be travelling!

  15. December 20, 2012 4:02 pm

    Hi Jean — Just wanted to wish you very happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

