Skip to content

Garden Blogs of the Month: June 2010

June 2, 2010

It’s a new month and time for me to highlight some new garden blogs. I have chosen three this month, and each of them was begun within the past few months.

Recreating Eden Landsscape Blog screenshot Recreating Eden Landscape Blog is the oldest of the three. It was begun in March, is the work of experienced landscape designer and garden author Sandra Jonas, and is associated with her landscape design business. She designs and gardens in Georgia, and her blog reflects her southern garden experience. At the same time, though, her knowledge and design ideas often transcend region. I love the design of this blog; it is clean and fresh-looking, with a nice mix of images and text. Ms. Jonas has also used very helpful categories to organize her blog posts. Because I have recently added my first clematis to the garden, for example, I clicked to see all the posts in the “clematis” category; they included both beautiful pictures and useful advice. I particularly liked Sandra Jonas’s design idea of planting clematis to grow up shrubs, and this is something I would like to try in my garden.

My Cottage Garden screenshot My Cottage Garden is the blog of a Canadian perennial gardener. Diane, the blog’s author, gardens in Ontario, and her blog chronicles the development of a new garden (a type of blog I often enjoy). This blog is engagingly written, and as she shares her gardening experience, the author also shares design ideas and information about plants. Although the blog was begun in April of this year, the garden was begun in 2007; so Diane has cleverly used her first few posts to review the garden work done in 2007, 2008, and 2009. Since I think reading this back story first provides a richer experience of the current blog posts, Diane might want to put links to these early posts on her front page.

Garden in the Burrow screenshot Garden in the Burrow is less than one month old and is the work of self-described Massachusetts “gardening diva” Cheryl Monroe. The “burrow” of the title is an active rabbit burrow under the Monroe’s deck, and it is clear that the trials and tribulations of gardening in rabbit country will be an important theme in this blog. Of the three posts published here thus far, two include a focus on rabbit issues. In addition, the blog includes separate pages for “The Rabbit Chronicles” and reviews of rabbit repellants. My favorite aspect of this blog is Cheryl Monroe’s sardonic sense of humor, which often leaves me laughing out loud. In her first post, she introduces herself and her garden with a 26-item ABC list to explain why this is “The Spring of My Discontent.” In her second post, she ponders the label on one rabbit repellant product, wondering why something called “Fox Urine Granules” has as its only active ingredient – coyote urine! I’m looking forward to seeing more of Cheryl’s garden (or what is left of it) and rooting for her success in her battle with the bunnies. In the meantime, I must admit that her rabbit issues have left me feeling less grumpy about my own war with the woodchucks.

Please do check out these blogs. I’m looking forward to reading all three.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 7:37 am

    Jean, thanks for writing these posts. With the new blogs pick down at Blotanical, they really need to be highlighted. I have read both Sandra and Dianes very enjoyable blog. Now I am off to visit Cheryl.
    Deborah

  2. June 2, 2010 8:45 am

    Great choices! I was delighted to find Recreating Eden Landscape blog last night before I read your post. She has great billowing shrubs of Oakleaf and Mophead Hydrangeas and so do I. Hers are just better organized than mine. I expect to learn much by following this blog.

    There are always design ideas to be found on a Canadian blog even though our plants are diverse.

    The only bunny I have is concrete — must be the dog and cat

  3. June 2, 2010 10:59 am

    Thank you for pointing out these blogs Jean. I’ve been a bit remiss catching up with new blogs through Blotanical, but this is a good prod to point me in the right direction.

  4. June 2, 2010 3:56 pm

    BTW Picks from NEW blogs has been back live on Blotanical since 24th May. It just us OLD blogs that are still waiting …

  5. June 3, 2010 9:01 am

    Thanks for sharing these. I wil certainly check them out. They look interesting.

  6. June 3, 2010 1:23 pm

    War with the Woodchucks, Battle with the Rabbits…it all sounds so high minded and serious (esp. since I used capital letters).

    Well let it be known then, that I am involved in a Melee with the Moose and a Confrontation with the Cats, and coming soon, a Scuffle with the Squirrels.

    Christine in Alaska

  7. June 3, 2010 2:12 pm

    Being new to blogging , both reading and writing, wasn’t I pleased to find blotanical and all the great gardening blogs out there. Guess I had been looking in all the wrong places for my gardening fun! Thanks for the posting and kind words Jean, I will be” seeing” you here at your blog

  8. June 3, 2010 5:39 pm

    Jean, I always enjoy your blogs of the month post. Thank you so much for sharing new and different blogs with all of us!

  9. June 4, 2010 9:04 am

    I’ll definitely visit them. Thanks for highlighting.

  10. June 5, 2010 5:59 am

    Jean, thank you very much for including my blog in your post.

    Like your poster, Cheryl, I was very happy to come across Blotanical, as I’d been searching for other gardening blogs and having trouble finding them.

    I will definitely take your advice and put links to my older posts on my front page….I just need play around and figure out how to do that!

    I’ll be back to check out more of your blog and the other new ones after work.

    Cheers from Ontario and Happy Gardening,
    Diane

  11. June 8, 2010 8:57 am

    Hi Jean, I just stumbled on your fabulous blog while reading Diane’s. (I found hers a few weeks ago and love it!) I am also a Massachusetts gardner, so I’m very excited to see that one of the featured blogs is also in MA. I am off to check that out, as well as the Recreating Eden Landscape blog. So glad to have found you on here!

  12. June 12, 2010 3:21 pm

    Jean (Oh Great Garden Shaman!) – ‘Recreating Eden’ is a treasure trove of information; I’m so glad you are featuring Sandra’s blog!

    Can’t wait to visit ‘The Cottage Garden’ and ‘Garden under the Burrow’ (you now how I can relate to the rabbits)! Thanks for your on-going support of the garden community – you ROCK! -Shyrlene

  13. June 13, 2010 7:55 am

    BTW ‘wary of promoting blogs that don’t post often’ I am going to add Slow Blogs for Slow Bloggers to my mix ;-)

  14. September 10, 2010 9:52 am

    I thought I’d share my new blog, it’s called The garden grows the gardener. http://michaelgrow.wordpress.com/feed

    • September 11, 2010 8:57 pm

      Michael, thanks for visiting and for sharing the link to your blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

