Skip to content

Honest Scrap Double Whammy

November 7, 2009

Since the Honest Scrap Award has been spreading through the Blotanical blogging community faster than the H1N1 flu has been spreading through Maine, I figured it was just a matter of time before it caught up with me. But I wasn’t prepared for the double whammy of being hammered honored twice in the same day.

image

For any readers who are unfamiliar with it, here are the rules of the Honest Scrap:

    1. Brag about the award.
    2. Include the name of the blogger who bestowed the award on me and link back to the blogger.
    3. Choose a minimum of seven (7) blogs that I find brilliant in content or design.
    4. Show their names and links and leave a comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog.
    5. List at least ten (10) honest things about myself.

I was chosen for this award by both Sarah at Madblooms and GrafixMuse at GrafixMuse’s Garden Spot. These two bloggers represent much of what I love about the Blotanical community. Sarah gardens in a very different climate from mine and her blog often includes wonderful photos of and information about plants that I’ve never heard of before. By contrast, I am very familiar with GrafixMuse’s gardening conditions, since she gardens just a few miles away from me, in the next town over. She is one of several delightful Maine neighbors that I probably would never have “met” if not for Blotanical. In honoring me with this award, both mentioned the warm welcome they got from me when they joined Blotanical, which just goes to show that virtue is rewarded — or that no good deed goes unpunished.

I’ve decided that being doubly honored doesn’t mean that I have to double up on everything else. And, in choosing my honorees, I’ve decided not to worry about who has and has not already been honored with the Honest Scrap:

  • The Galloping Gardener, who has already added so many “must visit” gardens to my list that I’m not sure I can get to all of them in one lifetime.
  • Allan Becker – Garden Guru, who grows plants that I can grow and always goes back to follow up on how well his recommended plants worked out.
  • Wisteria and Cow Parsley, which I love for the photos, for the vivid descriptions of “Tumbledown Farm,” and for the cats with personality (felinality?) and attitude.
  • Green Theatre because I learn so much from Deborah’s design sensibility and because she’s just such an all around nice person.
  • Liz and the Professor, especially the posts that showcase Scott’s talent for comic writing.
  • Elephant’s Eye, for introducing me to a gardening world so different from my own.
  • Baneberry Garden Blog for such useful information about gardening in conditions so like my own.
  • Plant Tips and Guidelines for the Desert Garden, where I learn something new and valuable almost every day.

Okay, now for the “ten honest things” part:

  1. I am much more of a word person than an image person (in case you hadn’t already figured that out!!).
  2. I’ve loved flowers from an early age and can remember spending long hours at age 9 using a protractor to cover many large sheets of paper with meticulously drawn and colored daisy-like flowers.
  3. My spatial reasoning skills are so bad that I have to plan out my flower beds on graph paper.
  4. I’ve not necessarily been known for my intuitive sense of design. In 9th grade, I had the dubious distinction of making a poster for my favorite candidate for student council president that was so ugly the candidate refused to use it.
  5. I did not set out to paint just about every room in my house some shade of yellow and only realized I had done so when I counted 11 partially used cans of yellow paint in different shades and finishes. But who can resist a color that comes in shades like Sunshine, Moonlight, and Butter?
  6. I am obsessive about plant names and labels.
  7. I am an obsessive garden record keeper and have a color-coded spreadsheet that shows what was in bloom in my garden every week during the garden season since 2003.
  8. Since I started this blog, I have become obsessed with blogging. (Are you noticing a theme here?)
  9. I am a sociable person, but I also have very high needs for solitude and love both living and traveling alone (which is good because all that obsessiveness can be hard to live with).
  10. I don’t actually enjoy working in the garden that much; what I love is lounging in the garden on a mild summer day enjoying the results.

Home & Garden Blogs

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 12:12 pm

    Hello Jean,

    I love learning so much about people through their Honest Scrap Awards. Thank you for nominating me :) I have already posted mine ;)

    I also am somewhat obsessive about plant labels and names. I dislike common names as a whole since they are so inaccurate.

    It was nice learning more about you.

  2. elephant's eye permalink
    November 7, 2009 1:51 pm

    I have also been h… for the second time. Thank you! What is in bloom every WEEK, wow. I just sort my photos into months and seasons. Then choose best of. Will respond next week PS How is the Blotanical research going? We wait, with bated breath!

  3. November 7, 2009 11:46 pm

    If you had a Spirograph at age 9 you could have really gone to town! These were fun and interesting facts to read! It’s really funny that the student council person wasn’t interested in using your poster. :)

  4. November 8, 2009 12:09 am

    Jean, thank you! I am especially impressed with number 7! Thanks for your honesty (number 10)!

  5. November 8, 2009 12:40 am

    I got the double whammy too. Such nice garden people out there! I’m still trying to figure out ten things that are remotely interesting about myself. :) I admire your garden record keeping skills. I need to work on that.

  6. November 8, 2009 3:04 pm

    I really enjoyed learning more about you. Your are a phenomenal record-keeper. Impressive. Also impressive is # 10, where you bare all.

  7. November 8, 2009 5:02 pm

    Thanks so much for playing along. I enjoyed learning more about you.

    I too don’t actually enjoy working in the gardens all that much either, but the end results is usually enough to motivate me.

  8. November 9, 2009 12:35 am

    hi, just drop by to visit your garden.

    Really enjoy to note about the Honest Scrap Award.

    Nice to know a little more about yourself.
    Really could relate when you mention about obession – Im been battling that too, keeping mine in prudent level but at times – well nature takes over me.

  9. thevioletfern permalink
    November 9, 2009 10:07 pm

    Truly a pleasure to get to know you. The color-coded spread sheet is really impressive. I cannot imagine. I have heard that the color yellow makes people smart!

  10. November 10, 2009 9:19 am

    I think most gardeners and garden bloggers could cover off a few points with the “obsessive” theme. I know I could. Congratulations on being memed.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 220 other followers

